We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most welcome find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Needed a hotel in Sheffield in a hurry after a horrendous day which included getting wet through and muddy in a swamp, dealing with a difficult family situation and culminating in having someone run into the back of my car. Really needed somewhere to just chill out and get a decent night's sleep. Reception staff had excellent professional but friendly manner - room was clean, comfortable and well appointed - more importantly the bed afforded the best night's sleep I've had in months. Breakfast buffet was plentiful and well cooked. Restaurant staff good. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDeighan, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you very much for the review, I am delighted that we were able to offer you respite after what sounds like a thoroughly rotten day.
Thanks for staying with us and I hope we will see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (901)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

654 - 660 of 901 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had two nights here for less than £100 inc. breakfast, and for the excellent standard of the room this was value for money at its best.

The quality and size of the room is on par with the best 4 star hotels, and the food and attention to detail in the restaurant are also commendable.

The staff are all very friendly and helpful, the only downside can be the 'business type' location of this hotel and the distance into Sheffield centre.

One novelty during our stay was the prenence of Amir Khan, his entourage, and numerous other boxers who were all appearing at the Arena on Saturday night. This did cause a bit of 'noise' at around 2 am when the party returned, but understandable due to their success!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Sheffield, and one with a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HumberMart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDeighan, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for the lovely review and thank you very much for the excellent description of our bedrooms - I am very pleased you liked them.
I am very sorry if you were disturbed by other guests returning, I hope that it did not cause any inconvenience.
Thank you again for the review and for staying with us. I hope we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed one Saturday night recently. Very smartly presented modern clean hotel. We paid £20 extra for the upgraded room with sofa and it was as good as the pictures online. Would have been ideal for a longer stay. Well priced and ideal for us. Although it was a bit out of the City it wasn't far with the car. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KennethGHenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDeighan, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you very much for the review. I am very pleased that you had such a good stay and delighted to read that you will stay with us again!
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and I hope that we see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

The Aston is a good value hotel on the outskirts of Rotherham.....it's impossible to get to without a car, but was by far the best option in the local area. Staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfasts and evening meals were good value and plentiful. The rooms were standard hotel chain fare-a comfortable bed and clean bathroom but nothing to get excited about.....

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDeighan, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I hope we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed at the Aston Hotel for one Saturday night. It is a great location for a hotel right next to the M1 and main roads to Sheffield, Rotherham etc., about 5 minutes from Meadowhall and the Arena. You really do need a car as there is not alot in the immediate vicinity. There is ample free parking at the hotel. We booked a twin room, however on arrival the room was made up as a double instead. The receptionist was very appologetic and said the room would be made up as a twin immediately and offered us a complimentary tea/coffee in the bar, which we gladly accepted. The bar area and lounge are nice and comfy.

On arrival in the room it was very clean and had an immaculate, beautifully tiled bathroom. The beds were comfy and there was a hairdryer, iron, ironing board and plenty of tea/coffee and biscuits in the room. There is also an air conditioning system.

During the night we heard a strange tapping noise every 30 seconds or so which was constant all night.This made our night very restless and had very little sleep. We really should have contacted reception to complain and move rooms but as it was late we put up with it.

The breakfast at the hotel is fantastic with a self service buffet of cooked breakfast items and also fruit, cereals etc.

On checking out we told the same receptionist about the strange tapping noise and she apologised again profusely and said that she would report it to housekeeping and offered us our breakfast free of charge which was appreciated.

A sign of a good hotel is when staff are empowered to make decisions quickly and effectively and deal with customers in a friendly and efficient manner. We would have no hesitation in using the hotel again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill6_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDeighan, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you very much for the review. I am sorry that there were a couple of errors during your stay. The reception error regarding your room should not have happened at all but I am pleased that it was resolved quickly. We are still investigating the tapping noise as it would seem the source of it is not obvious. I apologise for any disturbance that this might have caused.
I am pleased that you enjoyed the remainder of your stay. It is always regrettable when there are any errors during a guests stay but I am very pleased that you felt that these were dealt with quickly and to your satisfaction.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope that we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We used the hotel as a base for a concert at the Sheffield Arena and for shopping in Sheffield and at Meadowhall. All the reception staff were friendly and very helpful . We had a second floor room at the rear of the property with a view over the railway and dual carriageway. Despite having the window open there was no disturbance. The room was very spacious with a large comfortable bed and a well equipped bathroom. The hotel is new and everywhere is spotless and looks in great condition. There isn't a lot to do in the immediate vicinity but it is only a short taxi ride (£7 each way) from the arena which has plenty of the usual restaurant suspects. At £44 for a double room this hotel was exceptional value.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morleyterrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDeighan, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you for the review. I am very pleased that you had a good stay, it is always encouraging to read such fulsome praise. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope that we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Aston hotel in sheffield/rotherham is situated close to meadowhall, only 10-15 minutes down the road.
Room was immaculately clean, spacious, huge bed, lovely decor. The bathroom was beautifully tiled, with a fantastic shower. Room was fully equipped with kettle, coffee/tea/biscuits, iron and board, tv, hairdryer, toiletries, extra pillows, etc. Everything you could need.
The staff were so welcoming and pleasant.
The restaurant was very nice, once again beautifully decorated.
Food was of a high standard however myself and my partner had the chicken korma, which was ridiculously hot/spicy. I personally could not eat it. We did not bother complaining as it was tasty and well presented, plus all staff were so lovely. But i thought korma was supposed to be a very mild curry?
The breakfast was fantastic value for money, we pre-booked this when booking the room, it worked out to be £4.50 each for an 'all-you-can-eat' breakfast... brilliant fry up, fruit salad, cereal, fresh coffee and fruit juices, perfect.
There is a morrisons supermarket round the corner from the hotel (access by car) which is useful, as well as a boundry mills store.
Aston hotel, met all our needs, exceeded our expectations. Very beautiful hotel. We payed just over £50 for a night; double room with breakfast included... worth every penny.
Thank you Aston for a pleasant stay, we wouldn't hesistate to visit again if we were in the area!!

Room Tip: Lift to all floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tash B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDeighan, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you very much for a lovely review, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry that the curry was not to your liking but Ive passed your comments onto the kitchen. We can only maintain a high standard by ensuring that we pay close attention to what our guests tell us so all feedback and comment is gratefully received.
I am very pleased that you would use us again and I do hope we will see you in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rotherham
4.0 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
5.3 mi away
Ibis Rotherham East
Ibis Rotherham East
#3 of 15 in Rotherham
570 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hellaby Hall Hotel
Hellaby Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hellaby
919 reviews
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rotherham-North
2.0 mi away
Carlton Park Hotel
Carlton Park Hotel
#8 of 15 in Rotherham
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sheffield Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sheffield Parkway

Address: Catcliffe Rotherham Britannia Way, Rotherham S60 5BD, England (Formerly Aston Hotel Sheffield Rotherham)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Price Range: $62 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sheffield Parkway 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a few minutes away from Junction 33 of the M1, this hotel in Sheffield is a modern and striking building offers "state of the art" meeting and events facilities. The Mercure Sheffield Parkway, opened in 2008 and is on the Sheffield Parkway. Not only does our luxury hotel in Sheffield come complete with luxury accommodation, our Foundry Restaurant and Bar provides exceptional food and drink to help make your stay at the Mercure Sheffield Parkway, as comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mercure Sheffield Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotherham Aston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing