We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
GreenLeadersBronze level
Settle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great weekend”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We have just returned from a stay at the Aston and like the previous review chose it as we went to the Lionel Ritchie concert on Saturday night. We could not fault the location, it was easy to find, just off the M1. On arrival the efficient receptionist offered to book a taxi to take us to the Motorpoint Arena. Our room was lovely and we changed and went down to the restaurant where the staff were very pleasant and the food was tasty. The Lionel Ritchie concert was fantastic and on arriving back at the hotel I think everyone had the same idea - to just chill and chat about the concert in bar area, with lovely sofas. I think everyone's adrenalin was high and we just wanted to relive the concert.

Breakfast was served from 8 a.m. and again the staff were very courteous and there was a big selection both cooked and continental style.

We would certainly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting the Motorpoint Area and we look forward to our next concert and visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetRath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDeighan, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am delighted that you had such a good stay. It was also great to see that so many of our guests had had such a great time at the concert!
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    252
    79
    22
    21
See reviews for
106
391
40
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northwich
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just arrived back from a one night stay at the Aston Hotel. We chose the hotel due to its location near to the Motorpoint Arena and were not disappointed. We went to the Lionel Richie concert and wanted a hotel away from the centre of Sheffield with free parking. This ticked all the boxes. We decided to walk to the venue as it was a fine evening. Its exactly 2.5 miles one way along well lit paved roads (mainly through the Business Park). No problem but if you choose to drive there are 2 parking areas next to the Arena which charge £5 - don't know how long it would take to get off the carparks after the show. Alternatively, reception will book a taxi for you or you can use the park and ride at the Meadowhall Shopping Complex. So the location is ideal for visiting Motorpoint.

The hotel itself is marvellous. We booked a Standard Double and it was spotlessly clean, huge kingsize comfortable bed, flat screen tv, tea/coffee facilities, lovely furnishings and a wonderful bathroom with a fantastic shower. Room service is offered (menu in room). Really can't fault the rooms at all.

We enjoyed a lovely dinner in the Bistro - they offer specials (2 courses for £15 or 2 main meals and a drink for £19). Breakfast is also served in the Bistro. We paid £10 each for a full English which was very good or you could pay £6.50 for a continental.

The hotel also has a lovely bar where you can gather in the evening or have a drink after the concert.

The staff were spendid - so polite. From the Reception staff to the Bistro. First class.

We paid £53 for the room. Unbelievable value and a different standard to Travel Lodge/Premier Inn hotels. We will certainly stay here again if visiting Sheffield and would definitely recommend this hotel for leisure or business.

Room Tip: The Standard rooms are fabulous. I think the Executive rooms are bigger with a sofa. All rooms see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneCheshire27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDeighan, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review following your recent stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked the meal offers we had during your stay.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope that we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Two warm ,clean ,quiet rooms in a stylish new hotel just off the Parkway .Good breakfast . It made the family trek up to the Grandmas for a couple of nights a lot less difficult . Cheery staff , half the price of the Accor lot and much better value. Eat fish at the Whitby nearby or go to The Sidings in deepest Rotherham for a mammoth and cask ale. It deserves to be a success.

Room Tip: Top floor is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDeighan, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for the great review, I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay and I hope we will see you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed at this hotel for 1 night on Saturday 3rd November as all the other hotels near Sheffield stadium were fully booked and we were pleasantly surprised by how nice the hotel was. We paid £69 for a room with breakfast and didn't really expect much for the low price but we were amazed at how nice the room was. The bed was lovely and comfy the shower was big enough for two the bathroom was nicely tiled there were plenty of tea coffee milk in the room. The breakfast was buffet style and basic but nice staff all very helpful and friendly. It was very quiet throughout the night being in a business park and the hotel is only a short drive into Sheffield city centre. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of staying in or near Sheffield.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K8lovesaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDeighan, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and especially glad that it felt like such good value for money. We work very hard to maintain that standard and remain exceptional value for money and it is very reassuring to receive such great feedback.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope that we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel on several occasions whne visiting the Sheffield area on business.

It is modern, clean and very comfortable.

Staff friendly and food excellent value.

Comfort of four star hotel (without spa , pool etc) but at prices usually found from budget hotels.

Close to M1 but quiet and relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wattsy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDeighan, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for the great review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Agree with recent reviews. We were really impressed with the hotel. We stayed last weekend on the 'Chatsworth' deal which proved excellent value for money. The room was great, clean and new, bed was really comfortable and we had 2 great nights sleep. The food portions and quality were great. Staff were great - very professional, efficient and friendly. There was a big party on, but it didn't impact on the rest of the hotel at all. Breakfast is good quality, lots of choice of fresh fruit and cooked foods too.
Plenty of seating in the reception/bar area.
I recommend you visit Chatsworth if you're in the area. The grounds and house are fab and you can easily spend the whole day there. Bakewell is nearby and is also a lovely place to visit. You have to get a fresh 'tart' while you're there of course, it would be rude not to!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BellaBlott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDeighan, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for the lovely review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and pleased that your experience reflected the other reviews you had read.
We work very hard at maintaining that standard and it is always very encouraging to see such positive feedback.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Went to see John bishop at the arena last night and booked this hotel because it was nearby, very modern and clean and the comfiest bed, buffet breakfast best I have had and to top it all the staff we dealt with were friendly and helpful. Will definitely revisit. Top marks

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kaycopley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDeighan, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
.Thank you for the review. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, we had many guests who were also seeing John Bishop and everyone seemed to have really enjoyed the show!
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I do hope that we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rotherham
4.0 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33
2.0 mi away
Carlton Park Hotel
Carlton Park Hotel
#9 of 15 in Rotherham
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#27 of 53 in Sheffield
1,608 reviews
5.3 mi away
Ibis Rotherham East
Ibis Rotherham East
#2 of 15 in Rotherham
540 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sheffield Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sheffield Parkway

Property: Mercure Sheffield Parkway
Address: Catcliffe Rotherham Britannia Way, Rotherham S60 5BD, England (Formerly Aston Hotel Sheffield Rotherham)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sheffield Parkway 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a few minutes away from Junction 33 of the M1, this hotel in Sheffield is a modern and striking building offers "state of the art" meeting and events facilities. The Mercure Sheffield Parkway, opened in 2008 and is on the Sheffield Parkway. Not only does our luxury hotel in Sheffield come complete with luxury accommodation, our Foundry Restaurant and Bar provides exceptional food and drink to help make your stay at the Mercure Sheffield Parkway, as comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Sheffield Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotherham Aston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing