We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend "Chatsworth break"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great weekend "Chatsworth break"”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This hotel was part of a weekend break for a visit to Chatsworth. Well, we could not fault it. Young lady on reception when we arrived was "bubbly" and very helpful, room was great, huge King size bed, lovely clean en suite bathroom with power shower , room was spotlessly clean with cofee and tea making facilities. Dinner and breakfast both days were great, plenty of variety, have as much as you like for breakfast. Staff were all very good and everyone of them said to us "have a nice day." Car parking was easy with a large car park and very convenient for the M.1.
I would certainly stay here again and would recommend this hotel to anyone who is staying near Sheffield/ Rotherham

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIKEY58_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDeighan, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for the lovely review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff to be so friendly.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I do hope that we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    252
    79
    22
    21
See reviews for
106
391
40
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We must say how pleased we were that we took the plunge through Travelzoo and booked the Chatsworth weekend.
The room was clean, spacious and well appointed, far better than we expected. The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful and the restaurant food was superb. So much so, that we went back to eat there on the second night.
Can't believe how little we paid and the tickets for the house and gardens at Chatsworth were included as well!
Our nights were exceptionally quiet with very little noise despite the hotel being full.
We would have no hesitation recommending this hotel to others and would definately be using this hotel if we're in this area again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaginvestor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDeighan, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for the lovely review. I am very pleased that you had such a good stay. The value for money we offer is something we are very proud and work very hard to maintain.
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and I hope that we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed as part of the Chatsworth 2 night deal and was very happy with the value for money. This hotel is not your standard Premier Inn /Holiday Inn, it is a cut above as demonstrated by the quality of fixtures and fittings in the public areas and bedrooms from the chrome electric sockets to the quilted, scented toilet paper. The bedroom was spacious and well designed , with a curved wall to the bathroom which made a pleasant change from the bog standard square room layout. The bathroom has a large shower cubicle with sealed pvc type lining which was sealed from floor to ceiling so no joints and no ugly discoloured grouting. The shower was hot and powerful The Hotel was spotlessly clean throughout, how many times have you been to a "posh" hotel or restaurant only to walk into the toilets and find toilet paper and fag ends all over the floor ??? Not here !
There was excellent Wi-Fi in the bedrooms as well as the public areas, the staff, without exception were friendly and efficient. We ate both nights and have no complaints about the food or service, even the bar prices were not over the top.
There is a seating area outside the front of the hotel ,next to the car park but it's good for catching the late afternoon sun, unfortunately it's also great for catching secondary lung cancer from the smokers who monopolize the area so non smokers just enjoy the air conditioned lounge which is also double glazed so you can't hear the non stop coughing.
If I am ever in that part of the country again this will be where I will be staying.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scorcheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDeighan, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you very much for the wonderful review. I am very pleased that you liked what we offer and enjoyed your stay so much.
The high standard is only maintained by listening to our guests so it is always brilliant to know that we have delivered what we hoped.
Thank you very much for staying with us and I hope that we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Stayed on business, clean, basic hotel, food is awful, canteen standard. Staff are hopeless and on leaving my bill was wrong. When I questioned this the lady on reception said there was nothing she could do about it, took my receipt from me, threw it on the desk and walked off. Won't be going back!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDeighan, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Having read the comment card that you left at the time I am slightly disappointed that your view of us whole seems to have deteriorated so significantly in the month since you stayed and I feel it is important to add some detail to your comments.

Your comment card also states that you did not like the food, this is of course regrettable and had you mentioned it during your meal I know that we would have offered you an alternative immediately, we get generally positive feedback for the food we serve (the reviews on this website plus all of the others are testament to that) so I am sorry that the dishes you selected were not to your liking.

With regards to our hopeless staff, the reviews on this website and all of the others would suggest that hopeless is not a particularly fair description.

I acknowledge that there was a situation with your bill at checkout, however the way you have chosen to describe it is unfair in the extreme.
In hindsight the member of staff who checked you out would certainly have dealt with the situation differently and the positive thing for me is that she was keen to learn from it and will be well equipped to deal with such situations in the future. It is also important to point out that the error you describe had been checked and signed for at least twice by yourself prior to checkout.

I am sorry that you will not return but thank you for choosing to stay with us in the first instance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
939 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 411 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

A great value break that included two nights B&B, evening meal for one night, discount for wine the following night, and free admission for two people to Chatsworth House.
The bedroom was large, comfortable, spotlessly clean with good air conditioning.
Good insulation against outside noise.
Reception staff friendly, helpful and welcoming.
Evening meal was very good: wide choice of food on table d'hote menu, with additional choices available from the a la carte at reasonable prices. Good service from friendly local staff.
Good selection of well priced wines served at the right temperature.
Breakfast couldn't have been more of a contrast: lukewarm food, incorrect food delivered on special order, difficulty getting coffee, lack of cutlery and NO MARMALADE!!!
Staff were again very friendly but rather slow-we tried to help ourselvesw to drinks from the buffet bar but this was discouraged.
The trip to Chatsworth House was amazing and was the highlight of the days away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendyanddavid536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDeighan, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for posting a review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay.
It is clearly disappointing that you did not experience the same standard at breakfast that you had found elsewhere. The comments you made at check out had already been passed to our F&B team and some coaching given to those concerned so that any mistakes made are not repeated.
I apologise that this happened but thank you for letting us know as we can only hope to maintain our high standard be listening to our guests and ensuring that we constantly improve what we do.
Thank you again for the review and I hope that we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Booked on Chatsworth weekend, lovely surprise, hotel lovely, clean with superb staff, nothing too much trouble for them. Room large with good bathroom. Restaurant good, clean and modern with good menu. Food well cooked and imaginative menu. Hard to find fault with this place, superb value for money.

Room Tip: Stayed on second floor overlooking back of hotel - very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozfane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDeighan, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for the great review. I am so very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, hard to fault is exactly our aim and I am delighted you found that!
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We have just returned from a short two night stay at the Aston Hotel. Our room was lovely with a huge bed, crisp, clean bedding, spotless bathroom with shower and bath, fluffy towels and complimentary toiletries. We had breakfast and evening meals on both days we were there and the food was plentiful, varied and delicious. All the staff we came in contact with were exceptionally friendly, helpful and polite. The Aston was an excellent base as there was so much to see and do apart from our super visit to Chatsworth. Try it and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JUDITHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDeighan, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for the great review. I am delighted you had such a great time and enjoyed the hotel. We make every effort to ensure that we maintain a very high standard and are always delighted when we can see that being achieved.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rotherham
4.0 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33
2.0 mi away
Carlton Park Hotel
Carlton Park Hotel
#9 of 15 in Rotherham
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Ibis Rotherham East
Ibis Rotherham East
#3 of 15 in Rotherham
540 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#27 of 53 in Sheffield
1,608 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sheffield Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sheffield Parkway

Property: Mercure Sheffield Parkway
Address: Catcliffe Rotherham Britannia Way, Rotherham S60 5BD, England (Formerly Aston Hotel Sheffield Rotherham)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sheffield Parkway 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a few minutes away from Junction 33 of the M1, this hotel in Sheffield is a modern and striking building offers "state of the art" meeting and events facilities. The Mercure Sheffield Parkway, opened in 2008 and is on the Sheffield Parkway. Not only does our luxury hotel in Sheffield come complete with luxury accommodation, our Foundry Restaurant and Bar provides exceptional food and drink to help make your stay at the Mercure Sheffield Parkway, as comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Sheffield Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotherham Aston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing