We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was so good, we stayed a second time.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in September. We had booked the deal which involved 2 nights plus Chatsworth tickets as mentioned by other reviewers, and found it to be excellent value.
The location near exit 33 of the M1 is not very glamorous, but it's convenient and parking right outside was very welcome. The friendly receptionist was efficient. Our room was tastefully decorated and functional. The huge bed was comfortable and everything in the room and bathroom worked properly. Dinner in the restaurant was good for the price and service was pleasant and polite. The staff knew what deal we were on straight away, and we didn't have to keep explaining ourselves. Breakfast was similarly good and the packed lunch which came with the deal was a welcome touch.
We enjoyed the whole experience so much, we stayed again last week. This time it was just for one night. My partner had fantasised about the home-made steak pie since the last trip, so we both had that. Very good it was too, but not for those with delicate appetites! We were glad it was still on the menu, and also glad the menu offered some varied choices from last time as well. The white wine we ordered was brought to our table unopened, in a wine bucket, so we had to fish out the dripping bottle and open it ourselves, which seemed a bit odd, especially as there were hardly any other customers. Perhaps it was just an oversight? Otherwise everything was just as good as before and we'd definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The rooms are all nice. Make sure you get one of the special offers.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hillywilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDeighan, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2011

Thank you very much for the great review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your first visit with us and delighted that you came back. Our steak pie is gaining quite a reputation and I’m glad you enjoyed it. I am sorry about the wine service, I have passed the comments to our Restaurant Manager who will address the issue with the relevant staff.
Thanks again for taking the time to write a review and thank you very much for choosing to stay with us when you have been in the area. We very much look forward to seeing you for a third time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (884)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Sheffield Parkway
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

792 - 798 of 884 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2011

I have stayed here twice whilst on business in the area and have found the hotel provides everything I need.
It is a modern hotel, easy to find with great access to the motorway, Sheffield, Rotherham and other local areas. Parking is first class, and access to reception is good. The staff are very friendly and professional. The rooms are large with comfortable king size beds. They are quiet so you can get a good nights sleep, and they have really good bathrooms with big shower enclosures that you can sit in on built in seats if you wish.
I would say that the only area needing some thought is the restaurant. Whilst very smart, with friendly staff, it is the food has not really lived up to expectation, and the choice of beers is very limited. Overall though, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinbum1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDeighan, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2011

Thank you very much for the review. I am really pleased that you have enjoyed so many aspects of the hotel on more than one occasion, we work hard at maintaining a high standard and it is great to hear that you have seen a consistently high standard.
I was sorry to read that you were not so impressed with our restaurant food, we endeavour to offer an excellent choice of Brasserie food freshly made on the premises each day. We have an a la carte that changes regularly and a specials menu that changes daily. We would also be happy to make something off menu for you if we have the ingredients, perhaps the next time you stay if you let us know we can make you something more to your liking.
Thank you again for the review and thank you for choosing to stay with us. On behalf of the team we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Stayed here for two nights in October, had a lovely time nice clean hotel friendly staff good
food, free dinner and a glass of wine on the first night, free breakfast on both mornings free tickets to Chatsworth House which we really enjoyed, we also got free walking maps.Couldn't fault it would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Campanellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDeighan, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2011

Thank you for writing such a great review. I am really pleased that you had a good time and found the package to be good value. Many of the recent reviews have followed a stay on that package which has proved to be very popular.
Thanks again for the review and thank you very much for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

This is a really nice hotel and in a good position. It's waseas y to get to and find. Nice and quiet as there is nothing around only a car lot next door. A short drive to the retail park where you can park up all day for free and get the tram into Sheffield. Staff were really nice and always eager to help. Rooms were clean and very nice and modern. Food was nice and plentiful. Nothin bad to say about this hotel at all, we had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coathanger81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDeighan, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2011

Thanks for the wonderful review. I am delighted that you found us easy to find and a good base to get around from. We do work very hard to ensure that we consistently deliver great service and value and it is always great to hear that guests have enjoyed their time with us.
Thank you again for the review and thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

I have been staying at the Aston hotel a few times now when attending events in and around the Rotherham and Sheffield area......this hotel is great......clean, new, fresh and the food and service is excellent. I will stay in no other hotel when in that region !!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Texangirl5811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDeighan, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a great review. I am really very pleased that you enjoy your time with us - it is always a pleasure to have you here! Thank you very much for choosing us in the first instance and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Stayed here on a travel zoo weekend , what a super value deal. On arrival Sam on reception was helpful and so friendly making us feel so welcome. the room was spotless modern with plenty of room.Our first night meal was included in deal our waitress Becky was lovely and so pleaseant food was very good so we booked second night at a super price.The whole team was a credit to the hotel Nicole , Craig, Lloyd ,Kirstyand bar man.Lisa needs to be a little more proffesional as pulling facesand talking about guests was a little off putting.
Tickets into Chatswotrh House were also included then a packed lunch (which was lovely) and walking maps.
The whole weekend was super and excellent value i would reccommend this hotel to any one visiting that area.We will sure to be back thankyou.

Room Tip: only three floors , we were on 3rd floor think all rooms good
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank normskidabble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDeighan, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2011

Thank you very much for the great review, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your break and that so many staff made such a good impression. I am very grateful that you chose to stay with us and on behalf of the entire staff here I do hope that we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

On arrival the greeting is friendly and service is quick. The hotel is very clean and immaculate as you would expect in a fairly new hotel and there ar very comfortable lounge seats you can sink into and enjoy a little tipple or two.
The rooms are very well designed with modern furniture, spacious, and a fairly unique step in shower cubicle. The bed was extremely comfortable and I had a very good nights sleep. The decor is excellent and the bathrooms beautifully fitted out.
Although there are no amenities close by; the hotel is ideal for the business traveller - especially as there is free Wi-Fi in the hotel (handy for Face Time). For other travellers it is very reasonable place for getting around assuming you have a car as the connection to the motorway is only minutes away - but note this varies with the time of day. Home time does mean a few queues so some planning is required. Note: the car park is free and in the main very well lit.
As there is a large business park only a minute's drive away this hotel is clearly ideal for visitors; even if only for a conference or a meal. The food and service is good, although I would have preferred an individual pot of tea rather the the vacuum flask container, The tea was okay. albeit I was not offered a top-up but to be fair I didn't ask either. Eveing meals are wholesome if not very cordon bleu but I much prefer that to some fancy plate with little on and some silly lines of sauce purporting to be a meal but of little substance. If you've ever had the misfortune to be presented with the 6 chip tower elsewhere you know what I mean! Pretty and handcut they may be; filling they most certainly are not.
This, by some distance, has to be my favourite hotel, there is some nice countryside views particularly if you are assigned a room at the front of the hotel. At the back was obviously an old railway cutting though it is all grassed over now you can still see some remnants of the track and siding gear.
It can be a little windswept if you are a smoker but they seem to be a hardy breed out in all weathers - but the air is clean and fresh (obviously standing away from the smokers!) and I can thoroughly recommend a visit to the Aston Hotel. Cost was £79.00 for Bed & Breakfast, evening meal was a further £20.00 on top.

Room Tip: Try a get a room at the front for a pleasant view over the countryside.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iain001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDeighan, General Manager at Mercure Sheffield Parkway, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2011

Thank you very much for the excellent review, it is really very encouraging to get such thorough feedback. Maintaining a high standard consistently only happens through the hard work of the team at the hotel and I am sure it will be a source of great motivation to them when they read your comments.
Thank you again for the review, thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope that we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rotherham
4.0 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33
5.3 mi away
Ibis Rotherham East
Ibis Rotherham East
#4 of 15 in Rotherham
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Carlton Park Hotel
Carlton Park Hotel
#7 of 15 in Rotherham
766 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hellaby Hall Hotel
Hellaby Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hellaby
888 reviews
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rotherham-North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sheffield Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sheffield Parkway

Address: Catcliffe Rotherham Britannia Way, Rotherham S60 5BD, England (Formerly Aston Hotel Sheffield Rotherham)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Price Range: $64 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sheffield Parkway 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a few minutes away from Junction 33 of the M1, this hotel in Sheffield is a modern and striking building offers "state of the art" meeting and events facilities. The Mercure Sheffield Parkway, opened in 2008 and is on the Sheffield Parkway. Not only does our luxury hotel in Sheffield come complete with luxury accommodation, our Foundry Restaurant and Bar provides exceptional food and drink to help make your stay at the Mercure Sheffield Parkway, as comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Sheffield Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotherham Aston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing