We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent nothing special”
Review of The Welcome Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Welcome Inn
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“decent nothing special”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

stayed here on the Saturday night it was a decent location for Sheffield Arena about 3 miles away(could not get anywhere nearer) on arrival the Receptionist was very polite and ordered us a taxi for later, the double room was of a good size and was clean and nicely decorated,there was a public house literally 200 yards away so we thought we would sample a few beers and a bite to eat, it is advertised as a Carvery with a separate dining area so gave it a bash, the Carvery was vile and represented something looking like slop, i would recommend not eating at the Pub and finding somewhere else if you are peckish although the beer was cheap enough, anyway back to the Hotel,the room we stayed in as i said was decent but the Mattress was another story, it was certainly very worn as every time you moved the springs or what is left of them would creak and the mattress on the whole definitely is in need of replacing resulting in a disturbed nights sleep and both of us with aching backs the following morning.The Bathroom was good with a very powerful shower and a real plus was no noise from the cleaners banging about early morning.Would i stay here again? Probably not as we will try and get an hotel closer to the Arena in future to save on taxi fares which incidentally was £6.50 each way although we had to pay an extra £1.50 each on the tram back to Meadowhall as the taxi would not pick us up from the Arena ( very strange).

Room Tip: check the condition of the mattress before you settle in for the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtfc1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    46
    27
    10
    13
See reviews for
40
48
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This is a good place to stay if visiting friends and relatives in the area; the rooms are clean, warm and spacious but nothing more. It's very basic accommodation, but the price is low and if you're not in need of room service, a bar, meals or anything fancy it's a real bargain, especially if you get to use the pool and gym in the adjoining building. The beds are not the most comfortable, and the build quality is poor so floors creak and doors bang, so it's not the best place if you're a poor sleeper. Staff are friendly and will help you out with taxis, etc., but they are not the smartly uniformed, multi-lingual assistants to be found in five star hotels, so don't expect too much!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Reception, not on the ground floor as the car park gets busy late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smferguson678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

This hotel has friendly helpful staff, the room was for my son & grandson & myself for 2 nights, we just needed somewhere to sleep over a couple of nights while my son done 2 days training nearby.
the hotel room was average, tv kettle etc, the kettle leaked every time we used it, towels were clean but worn. The kettle needs to be changed soon as possible. I forgot to mention it so I am hoping they will see my review and change the kettles, we stayed in room 306, it faces the road and some houses. not a nice view but my grandson and i had fun watching cars go by.
you really can't complain for the price & with free accesses to the spa that has a gym and pool it made it a nice little stay.
No cooked breakfast only a continental breakfast is available, but a stones throw away is The Draw Bridge Pub & Carvery that offer a affordable cooked breakfast.
we were given extra tea milk etc with a smile nice staff.
This Hotel is great for stop of a base to put your things down, we slept well the shower is a nice size.
we found it sufficient and enjoyed the stay.
If you stay here, don't expect the Ritz it is a Inn, & take advantage of the spa!
there is a Castle is nearby the nearby town is nice with a lovely big church.

Room Tip: Review based on Room 306
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyTambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We booked the Welcome Inn for one night away with our 2 young children what a waste of money! We were allocated the room next to reception on the ground floor, the curtains do not close properly so when the taxis were coming and going all night and they decided to park in the disabled space right outside our room, this meaning the head lights shone in across the room! People coming and going all night singing screaming banging doors not a great location for a family room. The hotel has not even had the decency to acknowledge my complaint. This was a birthday weekend away ruined by lack of sleep and inconsiderate people. Not sure why security were not asking people to be quiet! The main light didn't work just flickered constantly and the carpet had not been hoovered also a strong smell of paint and facial hair in the sink! The bowling alley next door was a dump and the bowls kept jamming. We didn't use the pool didn't think it was wise. Ok if your off drinking on a night out but certainly not great for family's!

Room Tip: A room away from the car park and not on ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pinkpanther82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This hotel is only a street away from my home And I chose to stay here the weekend of my 21st birthday. I thought the price was very good for a four star hotel. It was a big, clean room with lots of plugs and good tea And coffee making facilities. I was very impressed and had a comfortable and warm bed and a good night's sleep. The only negative was the view of the carpark but the hotel is not in a particularly attractive area but a convenient one on a main road next to a bowling alley and a co-op. We did not utilise the pool but thought it was a great added extra and the staff were very friendly and upbeat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ysabelvira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed here for one night after a wedding in Sheffield. There was my partner and I and our 20 month old. We booked a family room. The beds were very uncomfortable, metal bits sticking out of one and the other was so creaky that everyone woke up when my partner moved. The air conditioning was broken and the only way to ventilate the room was to open the window, allowing tobacco smoke into the room from adjoining guests who had chosen to smoke from their windows. There was a large patch of dust on the carpet. There was only one chair (in a room meant to accomdate 4 people). Most of the freeview channels were absent from the tv menu. Drunken guests made lots of noise. The "Continental" breakfast consisted of a small box of cornflakes served in a polystyrene bowl. The "Cream Cheese Bagel" came in a sandwich bag and a small helping of Laughing Cow cheese spread came seperately. You had to assemble the rest yourself. On the plus side, there was plenty of milk. Now I have eaten breakfast on the Continent (i presume they mean Europe) and it has never been left on a tray outside a hotel room, let alone consisted of a small handfull of cornflakes. Bagels are not the traditional breakfast of Europeans either. There were more than enough towels for everyone though. No bath, only a shower - not ideal for small babies. Also no changing facilities, which is again odd in a room that puports to be for families. There is no place within the hotel to eat. You all have to make your own breakfast and eat it, in shifts, on the single chair provided. Unless you want to go to the carvery next door, which we didn't because my partner is a vegetarian.

We didn't make use of the spa thing next door or indeed the bowling alley. We did find the Co-op down the road useful to buy all the things that may have been available in the hotel's cafe, had they thought to provide one.

When we mentioned these things to the receptionist, who stunk of fags (as did the whole reception area), she blithely waved a compalaints form at me and siad the manager would be in tomorrow. I emailed the hotel 3 times via the contact form on their website but they haven't had the decency to even respond.

Overall, very poor. We will not be returning and would advise anyone else, families with young children especially, to avoid it also.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulworthington53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed here on a Saturday night, we were given a groundfloor room ,looking over the carpark. The room was basic but had all of the facilities you would need. It was clean but the bed was quite hard and squeaky. We were at the back of the hotel so it was quite quiet with no noise from the road. The receptionist was friendly. I wouldn't give it the four star that it says it is rated as the décor is plain and as I said the rooms are basic.
The price was fairly cheap, however I have stayed in places cheaper that had slightly more character. Although, it was enough for what we needed and would probably return if we needed somewhere to stay in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penny2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rotherham
2.2 mi away
Carlton Park Hotel
Carlton Park Hotel
#8 of 15 in Rotherham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ibis Rotherham East
Ibis Rotherham East
#3 of 15 in Rotherham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
9.6 mi away
Days Inn Sheffield M1
Days Inn Sheffield M1
#37 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#10 of 15 in Rotherham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rotherham-North
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Welcome Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Welcome Inn

Property: The Welcome Inn
Address: Wortley Road | Kimberworth, Rotherham S61 1QN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Welcome Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Welcome Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Welcome Hotel Rotherham
Welcome Hotel Rotherham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing