We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value budget hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Welcome Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Welcome Inn
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good value budget hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for one night on 18th June to attend a concert at the Motorpoint Arena, Sheffield. On arrival it was not very encouraging as the hotel is on a main road hidden behind a grubby looking leisure club and car wash. However, once inside the hotel we were pleased with our room which was a good size, twin beds with good quality bedding and a large shower room ensuite. The hotel is about a 20 minute drive to Sheffield but it is only a 20 minute walk downhill into Rotherham, where there are lots of pubs and places to eat. We got a bus to the arena which was £2.50 each and at the end of the night got a taxi back to the hotel for £6.80. On returning to the hotel after midnight the receptionist was kind enough to order us a takeaway which was delivered to our room. In summary this is a nice budget hotel, not luxurious but very clean and the staff were great. Paid about £20 room only. There is a pub next door which does all you can eat breakfasts, but we didn't try it so I cannot comment on the food there.

Room Tip: Didn't use the free leisure club next door or the restaurant so I have scored them as average.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IanandRach25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    44
    26
    10
    13
See reviews for
40
45
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Booked a double and family room for overnight stay on 15th June. Room's were clean and beds comfortable, ok it's not 5 star but for an over nighter it's great! No on site restaurant but use of leisure centre (free) is a bonus! Pub next door serving breakfast and car very at very reasonable prices plus leisure centre has cafe oasis serving breakfast from 7a.m! Got a "continental" breakfast in hotel priced at £4 consisting of cereal yoghurt juice and muffin plus full pint of milk! Ok to feed very hungry toddler!

Clean and comfortable, ideal for over night stay!

Room Tip: We were on top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tooting, London
Level Contributor
132 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Pros :
Clean room, good bed linen; nice to be able to use the swimming pool/gym next door; friendly staff.

Cons :
No fridge
Shower flooded our bathroom floor every time.
Fire doors are noisy - get a room at the end of the corridor, away from closing doors
Breakfast is very basic, brought to your room, with plastic cutlery and polystyrene bowl.
Views (of the car park) are rubbish
Location is a bit iffy. The local lads seem to like playing football next to the car park and at night the Police ended up chasing some joy-riders into the car park. We didn't feel at all comfortable walking from our car to the hotel entrance.
The nearest pub in walking distance is The Drawbridge which really is a dive. You need to drive to find a decent restaurant nearby (try the Oasis dining at Meadow Lane centre, about 10 mins drive)

Very good value but I wouldn't want to stay here again.

Room Tip: Away from fire doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Chutey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

If you are paying 35quid for a double room you can not expect the Hilton. We stay here often to visit family and have no issue with the hotel. Rooms are large clean and airy with good beds, shower, tea coffee facilites and tv although with limited channels.

Only issue the walls are thin they havent pushed the boat out when it comes to soundproofing, i have only heard people in the corridor not in the next room.

Good points are you get FREE use of the gym next door and reduced price bowling which is fab for the kids.

If you want a hotel just to sleep in with no frills this is for you however if you want frills, bells and whistles look elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maziejane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for one night after visiting a friend. This was a cheap hotel, very basic room. At around 8:30am a cleaner walked straight into our room and instead of appologising she just walked back out! Terrible! The cleaners were hoovering and cleaning the rooms from around 9am and having a good old chat and natter, very loudly which meant we got no sleep! We will not be visiting this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

For the money (£35) this place is excellent. Clean and comfortable, plenty big bathroom, large bath sheets and helpful on reception. The extra is that you get free membership of the leisure club right next door which has huge pool (warm!!), 2 x sauna, 2 x jacuzzi and a steam room. All you could need/want. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Have one on the car park side. No view, but no traffic noise either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coffdrop60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed here in July 2012 for 4 nights. Price was excellent, rooms cleaned every morning . Air con kept me nice and cool. The main + of this hotel is the free use of the oasis gym next door. The best facilities huge pool, sauna, jacuzzi perfect for relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ValentinaBansko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rotherham
2.1 mi away
Carlton Park Hotel
Carlton Park Hotel
#8 of 15 in Rotherham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ibis Rotherham East
Ibis Rotherham East
#2 of 15 in Rotherham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Sheffield M1
Days Inn Sheffield M1
#37 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#10 of 15 in Rotherham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rotherham-North
3.1 mi away
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
#1 of 15 in Rotherham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Welcome Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Welcome Inn

Property: The Welcome Inn
Address: Wortley Road | Kimberworth, Rotherham S61 1QN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Welcome Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Welcome Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Welcome Hotel Rotherham
Welcome Hotel Rotherham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing