We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for overnight stop”
Review of The Welcome Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Welcome Inn
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Rotonda West, Florida
Level Contributor
132 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Ideal for overnight stop”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for one night only but a great room, clean and comfortable and friendly staff who were very welcoming.

Ideal stop over for the night and reasonably priced too.

Hotel does not have a bar or restaurant but breakfast can be obtained next door at The Oasis I believe.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andbeegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    48
    28
    10
    13
See reviews for
44
49
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Just stayed at this place for 2weeks beginning of October , everything you could want at a reasonable price , we were working in the Meadowhall Center which was 3mins away by car , not much in the way of food on offer but a very well known express store 2mins up the hill , very clean and comfortable beds wifi in all rooms , overall would gladly not hesitate to stay again and probably will . oh yes and the all important secure parking .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barto440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed at the Welcome Inn for 1 Night just last week.

I have read some of the reviews on this hotel and if I'm honest some of them are very uncomplimentary I was booked into this hotel by an employer so I had no choice in the initial instance. Before arriving and checking in I took a quick peek at trip adviser and feared the worse.

Well I thought its only 1 night for now see how it goes.

The room was good big comfy double bed, En-Suite shower & Toilet all was clean and tidy no problem Nice TV and Tea & Coffee as well.. Free WI-FI (However my HTC Phone and Compaq Laptop could not get a signal from my room) I could get one in reception so I would guess that the hotel needs to get the distribution of WI-FI sorted out.

I can agree with one criticism I read there is an Odour in the hallways I can’t put my finger on it like an old Lavender smell mixed with something, okay its not totally unpleasant but I don’t think it sets the right starting impression on your way to your room

If your working in Rotherham then its a short trip Overall it was okay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I booked this hotel for two nights with Booking.com, for me and the wife, the 23rd and 24th Sepember 2012 and paid £70. Having inspected the room and because of the smell in that adjacent areas we decided not to stay in this hotel!. We spoke to the manager who was very unresponsive to our plight and refused us any refund, We then had to find alternative accommodation.
The reviews and photos shown for this hotel cannot be correct because the hotel is appauling and the surrounding area needs a lot to be desired.
The reviews from trip adviser are normally very good and i use it before any trip.
Trip advisor should remove this hotel from there website as the reviews are misleading.

Room Tip: Do not go to this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muckysailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rotherham hotels

Suffolk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The room was basic but adequate - if sleep is all you intend to do then this is fine and great value. Small TV, coffee maker, hairdryer, twin beds. Good shower. There are a couple of vending machines in the lobby. If you arrive from central Sheffield and use a Satnav, it takes you through a maze of small residential streets which is somewhat disorienting on a late, dark night. There is a neighbouring bowling alley and a health club of some sort, but otherwise it is surrounded by houses and flats. Staff were friendly. The continental breakfast comprises a choice of cereal, carton of orange juice, pint of milk, yoghurt and a cold croissant. On my way out I noticed that they offer a full English, brought in from the nearby health club's cafe.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkZafira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morwenstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We have stayed here numerous times when visiting Rotherham and it really is good value for money,centrally located and friendly staff. The one gripe I did have was that they had just introduced a cooked breakfast option which we ordered at 9.00am and took whilst 10.20am to turn up. Good idea but need to sharpen up on the service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandymouth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

stayed for one night as going to a friend's party close by. hotel was fine for what i wanted. big room, clean and tidy, shower, reasonable price, and 2 mile taxi ride from the party. car was even still there when we woke up in the morning.

as others have said the area isn't the most salubrious and there is a great big grey wall right outside the hotel which looks like it was designed so that people can go and collect their giro without being fired upon by snipers (or daily mail readers).

All in all the hotel is perfect for what it is and the surrounding area is nothing that a few weapons of mass destruction couldn't sort out (if you can find any - they are notoriously difficult to locate when you need them). just to point out that the swimming pool and gym mentioned by another reviewer are actually in the leisure centre nextdoor!!

hotel good, location not great. stay there if scenery unimportant to you and you need to visit rotherham.





.

Room Tip: should think all rooms would be okay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edwardbeaum0nt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotherham hotels
5.7 mi away
Ibis Rotherham East
Ibis Rotherham East
#2 of 15 in Rotherham
531 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rotherham-North
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Carlton Park Hotel
Carlton Park Hotel
#8 of 15 in Rotherham
734 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#10 of 15 in Rotherham
267 reviews
5.9 mi away
Restover Lodge Hotel
Restover Lodge Hotel
#14 of 15 in Rotherham
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Welcome Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Welcome Inn

Property: The Welcome Inn
Address: Wortley Road | Kimberworth, Rotherham S61 1QN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Welcome Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Welcome Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Welcome Hotel Rotherham
Welcome Hotel Rotherham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing