We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Brentwood Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$63
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rockingham Arms(Rotherham)
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
$73
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Welcome Inn(Rotherham)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Rotherham East(Rotherham)(Great Value!)
$40
$39
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Consort Hotel(Rotherham)
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveler rating
92
96
58
29
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
92
96
58
29
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflaming grillthe pubfamily mealiron and ironing boardplenty of hot waterpleasant staydouble roomcooked to perfectionfamily roomplenty of parkingwould definitely stay here againsaturday nightcomfy bedthe ground floorexcellent valuefood was lovelyfull english
Filter
Updating list...
293 - 298 of 314 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Spent one night at the Brentwood Hotel. Although they had no record of the booking (made on behalf of my company) - which I suspect was the hotel's fault - this was fairly easily resolved. My room was in the main part of the hotel. Although it's an old building, I was pleasantly surprised by the standard of the room which was comfortable and pleasant. The bathroom wasn't perfect but it was acceptable and the shower - given a couple of minutes to warm up - was nice and hot. Bed was comfortable and the hotel was quiet (perhaps because it was a Monday night). I had dinner in the adjoining pub which was fine, usual pub grub. All the staff were welcoming.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidr4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

stayed in the annexe not the main building arrived late-10.20pm to find the room was a double not a twin as booked, no one on reception when i went to complain waited 10 minutes despite ringing the bell and eventually had to go into the bar to find someone, they did rectify the problem however the annexe has a miserable corridor that was overheated and smelt of smoke, the room was below average, mildew on bathroom ceiling, scuffed bathroom panel, dirty grout, no soap-dispenser was on side in bathroom, bathroom mirror light didnt work and sheets stained, when checking out in morning receptionist was busy texting and had to wait for her to finish-all in all, not a particular pleasant stay and wouldnt stay here again when there are a lot nicer hotels in the area

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank admiralfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Bored with the 2 days a week in Premmy Inns etc I've decided to book "others" if they are the same price or cheaper and as close

Hence ... my arrival at The Brentwood

Now to be fair they had on the evening of my visit been let down by 2 x members of staff ... so things from the off were obviously "fraught"

Standing at reception for 10 mins pressing the bell before wandering through to the bar were warning signs

Having the same perso I spoke to in the bar ... appear at reception and ask if I minded waiting ... and then disappearing was another.

The arrival of Billy the manager was surreal ... read on ... but at least he gave me a key to a room ... room 2

My room was ok ... on the face of it ... but prompted by the mouldy bath and broken soap dispenser lying on the edge... I simply had to look closer.

Under the bed = riffy. On top of the wardrobe = years of dust.

I have photos ... but my Blackberry went under the wheels of a car yesterday so I cannot share.

The room was warm and the bed comfy

The Tv is so small that only RAF fighter pilots with 20/20 vision could see it from the bed

Getting up for a wee in the night was traumatic as the bathroom proved to be the coldest place on the planet that night

In the bar / restaurant things looked grim

The staff blamed the lack of staff

Everybody else waiting to order drinks or food ... or pay for food said there was always a lack of staff

The Manager is a consumate professional manager of his staff (or lack of) ... but utterly useless infront of the punters.

I have never heard so many rude / blunt / cutting comments passed to people trying to order, pay or enquire in any establishment in my 50 year life as Billy threw out that night.

"If you want to pay ... stand over there ... not here"

"What do you want? If you don't know ... go away and decide while I serve somebody else"

He was efficient ... but if the service is (according to locals) seldom better ... there is no excuse.

A couple of foreign visitors politely complained that the TVs in half the place were not showing the same football as the TVs in the rest of the place ... and that their main courses had been shoved and left in among all their dirty starter plates and glasses to the point they couldn't move. Blank look from staff ... and unapologetic "we are really busy"

On the up-side breakfast was very good and the lady (thanks blonde lady whoever you are) was polite attentive and professional

Will I stay again? Not on your nelly.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foxache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We recently stayed at the Brecon Hotel but due to refurbishment ended up eating out. We used the Brentwood a few hundred yards away, We used the Flamming Grill for our evening meal, the staff were friendly and helpful, especially Becky, The food prices were reasonable and the quality of food was no better than average. We asked about breakfast in the morning and Becky got permission for us to use the Hotel restaurant from the manager. We met Julie the receptionist in the mornng, she was very bubbly and helpful, she directed us through where we found an empty room full of dirty tables. We cleared a table for our selves and waited for the waitress, who also turned out to be Julie, she appologised and took our order, again the food was fine but no better than average. We ate our fill, paid and left. We felt a little sorry for Julie, who was not only trying too look after a busy reception desk but was also trying to look after the guests and their breakfast. Well done to both staff.

Room Tip: We didn't stay at the hotel only ate there
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LairdBLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Positive Points:
Full freeview tv
Spacious bedroom
Free parking
Iron and Ironing board (Although these weren't use, they are very handy)
Loads of storage space
Bath with shower
Beautiful building (exterior)
Very powerful shower!

Negative Points:
There was an awful smell coming from the bathroom when we arrived, like something had died but, sprayed a bit of perfume, it disappeared and never returned
No lifts (Or if there was, we weren't informed/it wasn't obvious)
The entrance to the hotel isnt obvious from the main road so, keep your eyes open
The pillows were uncomfortable

The pub/restaurant was being renovated when we stayed so, i can't give an opinion about this

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsielb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews