We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Facilities dreadful but staff tried to help”

The Brentwood Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Brentwood Hotel
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Loma Linda, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Facilities dreadful but staff tried to help”
Reviewed May 10, 2011

My partner and I stayed here for one night (6-7 May 2011) to break up a long drive, having booked on lastminute.com. FInding it was straghtforward with a satnav (M18 then about five miles on local roads) but would probably be difficult without, and there was no problem parking. Then the fun began. We were waiting at reception for a good 7-8 minutes to check in, ringing the bell at regular intervals and asking every staff member who walked past (there weren't many) for help checking in.

Eventually we got our keys. The first room we were given reeked of tobacco smoke and my partner, who is asthmatic, couldn't stand it. So we rang reception for help ... and the phone just rang and rang. Eventually I had to get dressed again and walk to reception, and once again there was a ten-minute search of the building to find anyone. The lady was very apologetic: the hotel is all non-smoking, she explained, and so the previous occupant of our room must have been naughty. Still, I wasn't impressed that the cleaner missed it, of which more later. She moved us to another room. This one smelt a lot better, but the drain was completely blocked and the bath had filled up to knee level from the shower within seconds and wouldn't drain. Furthermore, there were no light bulbs in any of the wall lamps: presumably someone had nicked them, and again the cleaner who'd serviced the room had not noticed. Once again I phoned for help, got no reply and had to go down myself. Finally it was a case of third room lucky, but even then a noisy air conditioning split unit right outside the window kept me up for most of the night.

Finally, on the way to check out, the smoke mystery was solved. There, in the ground floor corridor, was the cleaner's cart, complete with an ashtray and a smouldering fag on top!

Unless you're on a VERY tight budget or want an authentic taste of Fawlty Towers, this is definitely a place to avoid. In fairness, the staff did do their best to try to solve the problems we encountered, once I'd managed to get hold of them, which was only with extreme difficulty. I also don't like the health and safety implications of the reception phone being unmanned, especially if a guest is trying to phone for help following an accident or medical emergency.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bedbugged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    80
    49
    27
    32
See reviews for
82
83
17
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

After checking in at 3.30pm, we were given our key and went to the room to find that it had not been cleaned, with the last occupants messed up bed and piles of wet dirty towels on the floor! A bit taken aback we went back to reception to report that the room wasn't cleaned to which we were told by the receptionist "yes i know just leave your bags in there and the chambermaid will get round to it in about 10 minutes". Not even an apology! Stunned, we said we would wait in the car where we phoned and booked another hotel! We didn't return to see if the room had eventually been cleaned! Other than that jaw dropping experience, our impressions were of a shabby, run down and depressing place. The dirty room we saw bore no resemblance whatsoever to the photos on the website. The glass panels in the front door were smashed and it seemed more like a doss house than a hotel! We lost our money as we had made a credit card reservation but worth it not to have to stay there!

Room Tip: Stay away unless you want to clean your own room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deltablues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rotherham hotels

England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2011

I dont know how this happened but I stayed one night and ending up paying for three nights accommodation. I have requested a common sence responce from the hotel manager but his " computer says no" mentality and "company policy" means that I have paid three times. Beware of the rigid cancellation rules that appear to apply when it suits the hotel. There are other hotels in the locality that dont have this attitude. I wont be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_the_plumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Level Contributor
113 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

Only stayed here 1 night but was pleasantly surprised. Booked a great deal on line for a Friday night @ £29.00 and expected very little for that. The Hotel is quite stunning to look at. Good parking and easy access. Reception was a little slow but very friendly. The pub is a bit like Wetherspoons but with a better menu.
Our room was again a pleasant surprise. With a comfotable bed, enough room and a full bathroom , the shower was superb! Flat screen TV on the wall with numerous channels was a bonus.
Breakfast was adequate but at less than £7.00 for the full english as well as everything else was good enough. Check out was quick and courteous.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank bigles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights, 28th and 29th December 2010 for £29.50 per room per night. The room was ample, we just wanted a base as we were visiting family. You could have breakfast at an additional cost of £6.95 per person, and you had a choice of juices, cereals, continental and cooked. We both opted for the cooked and it was lovely, just enough. Fresh coffee you could help yourself to. The service was excellent in this hotel and I was rather surprised considering the age of the staff, quite young and they could not do enough for you and that includes the bar staff. We all decided to come to the Brentwood on Wednesday night for a meal. Fantastic value, a large mixed grill for £7.50 each, and a varied choice of mains with a 2 for £10 deal. The steak was delicious and having been to TGI Fridays in the Meadowhall earlier that day, the Brentwood knocked spots of them. Great value and we will return.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dollyducati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
97 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2009

I'd like to say how rubbich this hotel is to put people off so I could always get a room, but I've stayed twice and both times the rooms were very clean, well equiped and absolutely fantastic value for money.

The food in the restaurant is excellent value for money, very filling and lots of choice.

This really is an excellent place to stay and I don't know what it was like prior to the refurbishment but it matches up to some of the hotels I have stayed in that charge twice as much.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrenCBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2008

I have read the other review for the Brentwood and all that I can say is that I must be staying at a different hotel! I think that the place was refurbished at the back end of last year. I have been staying there regularly since January of this year and I can't give it enough praise!

I am used to working and living away from home and I usually judge the places that I stay based on 4 things: The cleanliness of the hotel and comfort of the bed (it's no fun having a rubbish bed when you are away from home), the friendliness of the staff (I like friendly staff who make me feel welcome but don't forget that I'm a paying guest), the shower (it's no fun having cold or powerless showers when you are away from home) and finally the food! The food is good, honest pub food - they'll never get a Michellin Star but then again I'm always full on 3 courses that are well prepared and tasty for less than £20 with a drink (shame I stay here alone as they also have a permanent 2 for 1 deal)!

It's a good all round (budget) hotel that I am now resident in until I move to my next contract (probably) in September 2008.

  • Liked — The staff are great, the place is clean and the food is filling and tasty
  • Disliked — No pool or Gym but it is a "budget" hotel after all
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BigSteveHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotherham hotels
0.2 mi away
Carlton Park Hotel
Carlton Park Hotel
#8 of 15 in Rotherham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
#1 of 15 in Rotherham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ibis Rotherham East
Ibis Rotherham East
#3 of 15 in Rotherham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Rotherham East (M18/M1) Hotel
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rotherham-North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brentwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brentwood Hotel

Property: The Brentwood Hotel
Address: 114 Moorgate Road, Rotherham S60 2TY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brentwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, LateRooms, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your The Brentwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brentwood Hotel Rotherham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing