We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, very pleasent, great service.”

Bay Tree Cafe - Bistro
Ranked #10 of 310 Restaurants in Rotherham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food, very pleasent, great service.”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Had a mezze night last night our first time, what a great night food great, the music was fantastic, very friendly. We have booked to return in december. Worth five stairs. The ward family.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kmidnight36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    54
    17
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Fantastic birthday night!!”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Well this little cute bistro is simply perfect.. I came with my family for my fathers birthday in September and we were treated like family by the friendly staff.. So we booked then the mezze night for my birthday and again it was amazing!! The food was gorgeous and the ambiance with the live music really made it special.. The owners really are like family and could not do enough for us..a little happy birthday sign, and cake were a few of the special touches. Thank you all for making my birthday special.. We will be back again.. Sarah and family :-)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shazza1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south yorks
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pleasant restaurant”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

A friend told us about this bistro,she said was a Greek chef so after from returning from Greece we thought we see if there was any beef stifardo or lamb kleftico on the menu,there wasn't .i had bruschetta started which was nice n steak when it was eventually cooked how a liked it,not chefs fault,it was lovely,the herby n salt chips were lovely,the service of the oldest waitress was very very attentive,made sure we were ok with our meals,asking if we needed anything!!! You have take your own alcohol,which they are kind enough to keep cool for you,the oldest waitress nothing is too much trouble for her!be really nice if they ad more Greek meals on the menu,food lovely,service attentive,will be returning

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angSouthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good food you must try it”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

The bay tree is hidden on a side street so you wouldn't find it by chance, but because were from the area we knew where it was, firstly the bistro isn't licensed so you need to take a drink along if your wanting one with your meal, the staff will keep it cool for you if required.we ordered our starters and main together, the starters came out in good time and were well presented and quite tasty too. The mains again came out in good time my meal (lamb) was very good and the rosemary and rock salt chips were a pleasant change.my partner ordered a sirloin steak cooked medium no blood, unfortunately the steak came served rare with blood we put this down to a mis understanding between waitress and chef, after returning it back to the kitchen it then came back cooked perfectly and my partner really enjoyed her meal.We had coffee and left having enjoyed our visit.
The service here is pleasant, the staff are helpful and provide service with a smile, the more mature of the waitresses is on the ball she is looking out for anything that isnt quite right (not that there is anything wrong) and is quick to act on the customers requirements.
If i can nit pick any points it would be a nudge to the chef to get the coating on the calamaris crispy, and the waitress to make sure the chef gets the correct requirements on how a steak is required.
We will be visiting again because we feel over all it is a nice pleasant place to eat and you are made welcome.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yorkswheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fabulous little bistro offering delicious Greek dishes”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We have eaten here several times in the evening. Most recently we ate on a Saturday evening as a family group celebrating special news. The atmosphere is pleasant and relaxed with friendly service and time to linger without ever feeling rushed.The bistro offers a choice of tasty dishes cooked by the Greek chef with an emphasis on Greek style however also offering delicious alternatives to the Greek theme depending what you fancy. The mezze, a selection of Greek dishes is delicious as are the burgers, pork kebabs and tuna steak - I haven't got round to trying anything else from the menu yet!
Bring your own wine suits us well - we take a tried and tested firm favorite and know we'll definitely enjoy it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AFC23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bay Tree Cafe - Bistro also viewed

Wickersley, Rotherham
 
Wickersley, Rotherham
 
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Bay Tree Cafe - Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing