We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent as usual”
Review of Whitby's

Whitby's
Ranked #8 of 311 Restaurants in Rotherham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: AT WHITBY'S ITS OUR AIM TO MAKE YOUR VISIT THOROUGHLY ENJOYABLE. WHETHER YOU CHOOSE OUR TOP QUALITY FISH AND CHIPS, A TASTY PIE OR SALAD EVERYTHING IS FRESHLY PREPARED IN OUR KITCHEN JUST FOR YOU. WHITBY'S HIGHLY VALUE ALL OUR CUSTOMERS AND WE INTEND THAT YOU LOVE THE EXPERIENCE AND LEAVE WITH A BIG WIDE SMILE. WE LOOK FORWARD TO SEEING YOU AGAIN AND AGAIN. 5 Star rating for food and value Experienced, friendly staff Family sized tables Party bookings welcome (private/society/coach/birthdays) Fully licensed Full disabled access Major credit cards accepted Free car parking Gluten free options available
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent as usual”
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

We've been coming here for a while now and the fish and chips are fantastic- I'm tempted to try the pie but always go back to the usual as there gorgeous- deserts are delicious too- took my dad for a day out and nothing was too much trouble for the staff- coming again on Saturday- look out for us !!

Helpful?
Thank Cathagree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    406
    221
    102
    58
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great fish and chips”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Really good fish and chips. Good choice on menu. Good sized portions.Takeaway availble if you do not want to eat in.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mal3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“1st visit, will go again”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Visited yesterday (saturday) 12noon and soon the resturant was full so very popular. Had small fish & chips (as you do in a fish and chip resturant) great portion and excellent value. Very fresh and perfect fish. Service good. Nicely decorated, glad we were sat near window as can appear a bit too open plan/canteenish, would have been great if we could have sat in a booth but they were full already. Cant wait to go again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jessrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just fish & chips??”
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

It's renowned for its fish & chips. Rightly so. Excellent friendly staff, no pressure with food served piping hot fresh & really tasty. It's really worth a trip put of your way
To top it all it also offers glutton free batter - not cooked in same fryer as normal batter so no problems there then!

Helpful?
Thank Denzil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice new clean fish n chip place.”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Funny place, spotlessly clean, friendly but you staff. The fish n chips we had (2 adults, 1 nine year old) was decent, but nothing special. I would recommend if passing, but don't make a special trip. Go to Whitby or Cleethorpes instead.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whitby's also viewed

Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Whitby's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing