We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Rotherham

“Best meal ever!”

Marquis, Greene King Pub & Carvery
Ranked #3 of 37 Quick Bites in Rotherham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $11
Description: The Marquis is a Greene King Pub & Carvery which offers great quality food and drink in a pub atmosphere that caters for all. We’re all about those everyday excuses to relax and unwind with friends and family. Our mouth-watering Carvery is served fresh every day and includes a choice of 3 succulent hand-carved roast meats, slow cooked for up to 14 hours. Alternatively choose from a selection of British pub food favourites. Our drinks range has been selected by experts to ensure the bar is well stocked with all of your favourite tipples. Make your selection from a wide range of wines, beers, national and local cask ales, craft beers, cocktails, spirits, and soft drinks. Our Wacky Warehouse is well equipped to keep the little ones entertained while you relax with a coffee. We look forward to welcoming you soon!
Restaurant details
Description: The Marquis is a Greene King Pub & Carvery which offers great quality food and drink in a pub atmosphere that caters for all. We’re all about those everyday excuses to relax and unwind with friends and family. Our mouth-watering Carvery is served fresh every day and includes a choice of 3 succulent hand-carved roast meats, slow cooked for up to 14 hours. Alternatively choose from a selection of British pub food favourites. Our drinks range has been selected by experts to ensure the bar is well stocked with all of your favourite tipples. Make your selection from a wide range of wines, beers, national and local cask ales, craft beers, cocktails, spirits, and soft drinks. Our Wacky Warehouse is well equipped to keep the little ones entertained while you relax with a coffee. We look forward to welcoming you soon!
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I would like to thank the team they given us an amazing service, particularly Sue! Was amazing and the food was great thank you

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank M5278LQpauld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, General Manager at Marquis, Greene King Pub & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for leaving us such a nice review about our team and food :)

Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 283 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2020 via mobile

Friendly staff, huge choice of Gin and draught drinks & delicious carvery. Would highly recommend

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank StephLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, General Manager at Marquis, Greene King Pub & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2020

Thank you for our 5* review. We are glad you enjoyed the carvery with a couple of Gins :)

Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2020

Just been for a carvery with family and it was lovely, meat cooked perfectly and veg not hard. Will definately visit again.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank gillibob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, General Manager at Marquis, Greene King Pub & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2020

Thank you for our 5* review and the lovely comments about our carvery :)

Hope to see you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020

Dessert didn't appear after 30 mins so I chased it. No apology for the delay, we were just advised that it would be with us in 10 mins. Which it was...but a 40 minute wait for a cold dessert? Then only one of the two appeared. We were told "I'll ask about it" (still no apology) only to be still waiting 40 mins later. By now we had a fractious 3 year old on our hands, had finished our drinks and after having to ask twice I really didn't feel like asking again for the missing dessert so we left without it. Very poor customer service meant a disappointing end to a birthday day out.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, General Manager at Marquis, Greene King Pub & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2020

Thanks for your four star review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020

Third visit and was very busy so they're doing something right, food was all hot this time.

Negatives would be; less meat than the Toby Carvery and the roast potatoes and gravy aren't as nice either.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Archie898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, General Manager at Marquis, Greene King Pub & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2020

Thanks for taking the time to let us know how we did. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marquis, Greene King Pub & Carvery also viewed

 
Wath-upon-Dearne, Rotherham
 
Mexborough, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Marquis, Greene King Pub & Carvery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing