We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great curry”

Bollywood Restaurant
Ranked #29 of 311 Restaurants in Rotherham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Rotherham
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Had a great curry”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We went midweek, nice and quiet and had a great meal,good service ,nice pace and great food. 3 of us had onion bahjis 2 different veggie curries and a meat one with three rice along with two nan a bottle of wine and a large glass all for under £60. Excellent meal. Been occassionally over the last few years and always enjoyed it - perhaps it time to go a little more often !

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AndyinRotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    40
    16
    11
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Slow service”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We went here with friends on a quiet sat night.. We had heard mixed reviews but felt we had to try ourselves..the food was lovely but we had to wait along time for it to come and the portions aren't massive for the price we paid, we even had to go to the bar ourselves as no one was around for us to order drinks with our food..we found the bar bill high(2 bottles of wine + 6 cobras £63) it was ok but won't rush back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gazmo1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Style over substance”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stylish atmosphere but service was rather slow and this was on a half empty Saturday evening! Both biryiani dishes were a mountain of (nicely flavoured) rice but a bit of play 'find the meat'. The accompanying vegetable curry were in very small square dishes (the same as used for the pickles etc with the popodoms). The chicken shashlick was ok but a bit lacking in flavour. The food was somewhat overpriced, as if you were still paying for the redecoration.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jazzmavericksir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Indian food I have ever eaten, also local.”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I had a take away from here recently, and it was amazing. The Tikka masala that I ordered was very tender and tasted delicious, also I ordered their garlic naan bread, which was absolutely exquisite. It is also just down the road from me so I don't have to walk far.

Would definitely recommend this to others.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
96 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We came here when they first opened around 2011 & were not impressed. However, on a recommendation we decided to give it another go.
It could be made wonderful if they looked to the finer details - the menus looked old & were grubby, the table settings tired & uninspiring. More cafe than restaurant style.
That said, the service was first class, the food was really good & the prices weren't over the top.
Will return but would choose elsewhere if we wanted a "Special" evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TheHappening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bollywood Restaurant also viewed

Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Bollywood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing