We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic facilitys, friendly staff, really nice place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Reviewed April 14, 2009

Oh no the lifts did not work and we were on the 3rd floor which was a pain. The room was lovely with plenty of space the only problem was we were near a generator which hummed quiet loudly all night and if i had stayed longer i would have asked to move rooms. This hotel was otherwise everything it said it would be. We were mainly interested in the swimming pool and we were not dissappointed it was great, open for hours and a really nice place to be in. The staff were all friendly and nice to be around. The breakfast had everything anyone could wish for. All in all probably the best hotel i have ever stayed in, a really good relaxed time and i would go back again. To top it all my children saw some member of Sclub 7 who were happy to have a photo even though they were on the way out.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valueseekerkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (618)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

602 - 608 of 618 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2008

We made an Advance Purchase booking on 31 May 2008 with the intention of staying overnight following the Coldplay concert at Sheffield Arena which was planned for 7 December 2008. We were charged £72.00 to our Credit Card at that time.

On 3 October we were advised that Coldplay had rescheduled their concert for 29 November 2008 and so I phoned the hotel to explain that we required to move the date of our booking. We were advised this was not possible due to the type of booking made and in any case the hotel was fully booked for the revised date. There was no manager on duty to which we could refer matters. It was suggested that we call back the following day to speak to the Reservations Manager if we wished, however the member of staff did not give the impression that we would have much luck in re-arranging our booking! How right they were. The Reservations Manager repeated the Corporate policy.

I suggested a switch to another Holiday Inn on the same date or an alternative date on payment of a administration fee - the Corporate policy did not allow for that. I was directed to log my comments to the Company which I did on 14 October 08. I indicated that we had paid 4 months in advance, were giving them 46 days notice of amendment during which time the room could easily be re-sold and that since the hotel was in excess of 4 hours travel each way from our home and the concert date was moved we had little incentive to utilise the booking made. Could we pay an administration charge and make an alternative booking ? (not a cancellation) - guess what…the Corporate policy did not permit that. A picture of the Holiday Inn’s “Guest Relations” Department sprung to mind, in the style of Little Britain …….”Computer says “No!”.

The reply on 25 October 08 actually said:-

“When making a reservation the guest can choose from different rates offered by the hotel. One of these rates is always the ‘best flexible’ rate, where no deposit is taken but the first night is charged if you do not cancel by 4pm local time on the day of arrival.

The rate you booked with the hotel was the Advanced Purchase rate, this rate represents a saving on the Best Flexible rate but does not allow refunds if the reservation is cancelled or changed. Information regarding the chosen rate is always advised to the guest during the making of a reservation.” - Holiday Inn Guest Relations

The Advance Payment “saving” to us was £8 when compared to the price of best flexible rate around 14 October 08. I’ve subsequently discovered online that there are many complaints about Holiday Inn regarding this policy. I’m not surprised. We will not be using their hotels again and of course did not use the room on the 29 November either. No doubt it was used by another guest, effectively doubling Holiday Inn's income for the unit. On a positive note we stayed elsewhere on the 29 November and Coldplay were worth the trip (despite the cost of our wasted Holiday Inn booking).

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
Thank Rantin rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2008

We chose this hotel for its location as we had a 90 year old in our party and wanted easy access to Rotherham and Bradford. We were also restricted to mid-week which meant that we had to pay 'rack' rates for the rooms. (One suite, number 38, described on check-in as the 'bridal' suite, one 'corporate' room and one twin room.) They were not cheap by any means and considering we were paying over £160 for our room, albeit on a dinner, bed and breakfast rate, our expectations based on what we were paying were certainly not met.

The twin room (number 35) was fine, at the back of the hotel but slightly lacking in natural light. The 'corporate' room (number 12) was spacious with two double beds, armchairs and a large table and chairs. Our room had a good sized living area and separate, sizeable bedroom. However, the cleanliness was dreadful. I won't go into detail as my complaints about this were well handled by the staff who are the saving grace of this hotel. They tried very hard to make up for the failures in standards and were courteous and polite.

When I pointed out what can only be described as grime in our 'bridal' bathroom, the duty manager explained that the housekeeping was contracted out to another company, hence the lack of care.

The meals were good quality for hotel food and my mother-in-law, who was the reason we were making the trip, was delighted with everything; so in that sense it was a successful stay. Although I probably would not return unless I could be assured that the hygeine standards had improved.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank EmemBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2008

Checked in with no trouble but found our room to be on 3rd floor on the side facing the dual carriageway with 2 velux windows. Even with windows shut it was noisy.

However, immediately went back to reception and asked for a room on the opposite side of the corridor. This room had a proper window and was fine.

Good size swimming pool.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manmedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2008

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank junethespoon58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2008

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grotbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2008

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hotholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rotherham
1.2 mi away
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
#2 of 15 in Rotherham
889 reviews
0.9 mi away
Carlton Park Hotel
Carlton Park Hotel
#8 of 15 in Rotherham
779 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ibis Rotherham East
Ibis Rotherham East
#1 of 15 in Rotherham
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rotherham-North
4.8 mi away
Hellaby Hall Hotel
Hellaby Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hellaby
904 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Sheffield
Holiday Inn Sheffield
#22 of 53 in Sheffield
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33

Address: West Bawtry Road, Rotherham S60 4NA, England (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Rotherham)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Price Range: $76 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct.33 Is a modern hotel just off the M1 motorway conveniently located for Sheffield city centre Rotherham and Meadowhall Shopping Centre. As our guest, you'll be met with outstanding service, a spacious bedroom with ergonomic workspace, cotton linen and high-speed internet access. For breakfast or dinner the restaurant in the Holiday Inn tempts with international cuisine or choose the lounge where light meals are served throughout the day where wireless internet access is available. The hotel also boasts a superb refurbished leisure club, with large 17.5 Metre indoor pool, spa, steam, sauna and gym . For Rotherham conferences the Holiday Inn Rotherham Sheffield M1, Jct.33 Offers 11 well-designed, air-conditioned Meeting rooms filled with natural daylight, accommodating up to 250 delegates with a large car park for up to 260 cars. Near to attractions such as the Peak District National Park, Chatsworth House, Ponds Forge, Hallam FM Arena, Don Valley Stadium, Magna Science Adventure Centre and near to the many business parks in the Sheffield region, the Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct.33 Is the perfect choice for business or leisure. Planning a wedding or special event in Rotherham? Call now for information about our amazing packages. Want to get fit? Join our leisure club now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield m1, Jct. 33 Hotel Rotherham
Rotherham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing