We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Use for Business”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
UK
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Use for Business”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Hotel is on the outskirts of Rotherham on the busy dual carriageway onto the M1. The initial impressions are ok, bit tired and car parking is a bit difficult unless you want to park away from the entrance. Check in was efficient, as a platinum member my details we already in the system and received a goody bag of water, Kit-Kat and an Apple! but no room upgrade. Hotel is quite old and the furnishings and general decor reflect that. Room was ok, large bed but curtain was stuck onto window with double sided tape as the window was a weird shape, like being in a room below the stairs. Bathroom sink was cracked but shower was powerful, though no hot water in the morning, remnants of past guests still in bathroom as well. Sampled the bar which was ok, typical hotel prices for drink (£5 for large glass of wine) Did not eat in the restaurant but had bar food which arrived in good time, chips were soggy and not exactly hot, single veg burger with a few leaves and a pot of coleslaw, not exactly good value at over £10. Tried out the gym, there is a large swimming pool which looked ok but the gym itself was like a back room, dark and hot crammed full of kit and no windows, also if you want to work out get there early as it fills up in the evening and gets very hot! Slept ok but bed was showing its age as I could feel the springs. All in all not a bad hotel for the price and ok if your on business, would avoid if your a leisure traveller.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grindlehop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    223
    110
    49
    34
See reviews for
118
139
23
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My Husband and I stayed here over the weekend as we were attending a wedding in the hotel. Our room was very clean and spacious. The bar food was nice and quite reasonably priced. I tried out the swimming pool which I had more or less to myself. The pool was quite warm and well maintained.

The wedding we attended was lovely. We had a buffet at night time which was unusual in that we had pie, mash and peas or chilli and rice! Very enjoyable and tasty.

I would most certainly stay at this modern, well maintained hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I usually stay at the Holiday in the centre of Sheffield but it was fully booked so I had a one night midweek on business on a corporate rate at this hotel. I was allocated an Executive Room on the 3rd floor which was very spacious and included 2 double beds and a dining table with 4 chairs. Bathroom was well appointed and clean.
Very restful and quiet night. I did not use the spa or pool facilities.
Breakfast was plentiful and varied. I particularly like that they appear to provide fried eggs to order rather than just providing a tray of them under a heat light.

Location is convenient for M1 but nothing else much in the way of restaurants etc nearby without driving or taxi.

Will use again when I am in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calvados13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
341 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

I stay at many holiday inn's in the UK and this is one of the most friendliest.

Good location just off the M1, gym and swimming pool are adequate, the food is of a better selection than others I stay at!

One downside is if you wish to nip out to eat elsewhere you are bit isolated, so it's a drive or taxi.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in one of the slightly larger bedrooms. Good move! Plenty of room. Our room at the back of the hotel on the top floor was nice and quiet and the big bed was very, very comfortable.
We ate in the restaurant for one night -- the portions were generous and well cooked. Buffet breakfast was fine, varied and filling.
All the staff I met were very friendly and helpful.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank atrebatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel has a wide range of facilities and offers package deals for the business traveller. Unlike other Holiday Inns, this does advertise rates that include wifi & movies that are included in the room rate.
They operate an open plan restaurant that is well staffed and responsive to its guests. Times to be seated, served and pleasantly processed are all above average. Food is good standard and usually has a wide range of choices.
The spa, massage and gym are all impressive, with an attractive pool with a bit of character. Nice jacuzzi and steam rooms too. Really good for families with children.
Excellent location for Sheffield and Meadowhall, which has a wide range of shops, restaurants and entertainment venues.
Recommended.
Be careful not to put the postcode into your satnav, else you will be sent the wrong way. Remember, heading north on M1, take right at roundabout back over the motorway, then take the first exit at next roundabout - hotel on opposite side of dual carriageway. ( Satnav takes you right/2nd exit which is wrong.)

Room Tip: Get an exec package - best value by far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRROTH, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for writing a review about our Hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and were impressed with us. Our executive pacakage do include extra value items, which we vary from time to time but often include wifi and movies etc. I was pleased to hear you enjoyed our restaurant and leisure facilities. You are right to point out that some Sat Navs do take you to the opposite side of the roundabout as the postcode on both sides is the same. For SatNavs use S602XL which will get you to the correct side of the roundabout to locate the hotel. This is not our postcode but seems to work!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Arrives as a day conference delegate and it just looks shabby and tired. The chairs are stained and dirty and even the cups look old and need to be renewed. Staff are friendly but the whole hotel just doesn't feel very clean. Needs a re-fit ASAP.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank DJLJinnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGRROTH, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your review of the hotel. I was disappointed and slightly suprised by your review and wondered if you would mind contacting me to discuss your findings, so i can investigate further. It would help us to correct things if you would let us know what room you were in and when you visited for your conference, so we can get to the bottom of your findings. The chairs in the conference department have all been cleaned by an external contractor twice in the past 12 months, we buy new conference cups on a regular basis, including 100 in September and we maintain the condition of all our cups with special maintainance processes. One of the things we get the most positive feedback about is the cleanliness of the hotel. Obviously this was not what you experienced, so thanks for bringing this to my attention, I hope to hear from you soon so we can understand it better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotherham hotels
1.2 mi away
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
#1 of 15 in Rotherham
871 reviews
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rotherham-North
0.9 mi away
Carlton Park Hotel
Carlton Park Hotel
#8 of 15 in Rotherham
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Ibis Rotherham East
Ibis Rotherham East
#2 of 15 in Rotherham
535 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hellaby Hall Hotel
Hellaby Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hellaby
854 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#10 of 15 in Rotherham
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33

Property: Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33
Address: West Bawtry Road, Rotherham S60 4NA, England (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Rotherham)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct.33 Is a modern hotel just off the M1 motorway conveniently located for Sheffield city centre Rotherham and Meadowhall Shopping Centre. As our guest, you'll be met with outstanding service, a spacious bedroom with ergonomic workspace, cotton linen and high-speed internet access. For breakfast or dinner the restaurant in the Holiday Inn tempts with international cuisine or choose the lounge where light meals are served throughout the day where wireless internet access is available. The hotel also boasts a superb refurbished leisure club, with large 17.5 Metre indoor pool, spa, steam, sauna and gym . For Rotherham conferences the Holiday Inn Rotherham Sheffield M1, Jct.33 Offers 11 well-designed, air-conditioned Meeting rooms filled with natural daylight, accommodating up to 250 delegates with a large car park for up to 260 cars. Near to attractions such as the Peak District National Park, Chatsworth House, Ponds Forge, Hallam FM Arena, Don Valley Stadium, Magna Science Adventure Centre and near to the many business parks in the Sheffield region, the Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct.33 Is the perfect choice for business or leisure. Planning a wedding or special event in Rotherham? Call now for information about our amazing packages. Want to get fit? Join our leisure club now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield m1, Jct. 33 Hotel Rotherham
Rotherham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing