We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Sidings - CLOSED

The Sidings
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Dining options: Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Went last Sunday, food, staff and value all excellent. I notice the previous reviewer gave Frankie & Bennys five stars so I think we can ignore her review!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    20
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Fantastic dining experience.”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Went for a meal on Friday. The food was yet again fantastic. Would recommend to anyone. Very good quality high class pub food!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaana-Alex-Dennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A little gem!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Good cask ales with a reasonable selection and varying offering. Generally they also have some local brewed beer on the menu as well.

Food is home cooked, and always a generous portion. If there's something not on the menu they will also endeavour to prepare it for you - Bacon and Chip buttie a friend of mines favourite.

Fish, meat, poultry and game all provided by local suppliers no big chains here.

Don't let the location put you off - this is one lovely pub! I imagine it gets busy of an evening.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trudi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROTHERHAM
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Home cooking”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Recently had lunch here and it was very good.
All the food had been prepared from scratch including sauces which was brilliant.
The portions were good and very good value for money,the staff friendly a very nice experience well worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phonicsfella17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
97 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Check out the pies - and more”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Had quite a few visits and we're always tempted and never disappointed with the pies -- or anything else. Have tried game pie, pork and black pudding, chicken and ham. A generous slice from a big pie with real chips is always a winner for me.But also had heart of rump on butter mash, fish and chips etc all great. Oh and good selection of beers.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wrinklyrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Food_Lovers70, Owner at The Sidings, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you very much for this, and all other positive reviews we keep receiving.

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sidings also viewed

Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 
Wath-upon-Dearne, Rotherham
Wickersley, Rotherham
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing