We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very educational to our local heritage and free.”

Clifton Park and Museum
Ranked #1 of 5 Museums in Rotherham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Clifton Park was originally the private ground of Clifton House, and opened as a public park in 1891 with house opening as a museum in 1893. The park is now the home to one of the region's biggest and best play areas, with the Water Splash, toddler zone, sand play, and plenty for more adventurous kids including a giant tower slide and BMX/Skate plaza. The Museum offers a flavour of how the Walkers used to live as well as allowing you to discover the fascinating history of the Rotherham Borough. The park and museum are both free to visit. You can also participate in a wide range of activities throughout the year, some of which are chargeable. Whilst visiting make time to visit the Granary Cafe for a light lunch or a slice of cake and a refreshing drink. There is also a gift shop to buy your souvenirs.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very educational to our local heritage and free.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Great free Local museum attraction with a lovely coffee shop and visitors centre.. This is a lovely insight to our local heritage set within the grounds of Clifton park... A lovely day out for all the family and with very little cost...x

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank L0veatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    51
    17
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
167 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
“Great hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Visited with family whilst walking through the Park. I had not visited for a while but the refurbishment and the addition of the little cafe is a great addition to the museum. Whilst there's plenty to see and do the cafe is a welcomed rest spot. Worth a visit :)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lizzy_lu123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Updated and modern with great information.
Loved that the park was nearby so could stroll along there soon afterwards great pleasurable experience.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Clifton Park museum's still got it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Visited here (06/02/14) as Clifton Park Museum became Rotherham's wedding venue for civil marriages in December 2013 and this is where I want to get married. I used to visit the museum quite regularly as a child and absolutely loved the different exhibitions and artefacts it has to offer. As local people will probably know, Nelson the lion always stood out in the memory after a trip here...He's still here (turn to your left as you go in!). I was thrilled knowing the museum would be a wedding venue so went to have a look round to see how they've set the place up. Weddings will be taking place on the ground floor in a lovely room which has paintings of the founders(the Walker family) of the museum decorating the walls. I was satisfied with the room so decided to look round the rest of the museum for old times' sake. It's still interesting and has many interactive elements if you were to go on a trip there with children, I'm sure it'd keep them involved for a while. Free entry to the museum, you can make donations whilst you're there in order to support the upkeep of the place. Parking on site, a council run pay and display. After visiting there today, I definitely want to go ahead and get married there...I just need to speak to my fiancé about when!

Helpful?
2 Thank TheJazzyPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

I visited here mainly for the cafe to takes my parents out in the Winter- what a hidden gem the museum is- very interesting with the history of south Yorkshire and the drinks were fab as well - planning to return soon with my eight-year-old son .

Helpful?
1 Thank Cathagree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clifton Park and Museum also viewed

Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Clifton Park and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing