We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, cheerful and a yes for staying again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fitzwilliam Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Rotherham B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Arrived at the hotel to a friendly welcome from the reception staff, checked in and was escorted to the room by the manageress who was very friendly and helpful. Explaining entry into the hotel after hours as I would not be returning until the early hours of the morning. I was told if I had any problems to call at anytime day or night (a comforting touch considering the small number of staff). Food is delicious and very reasonably priced (recommend the club sandwich).

All staff that I encountered were friendly and helpful, there seemed to be a positive working environment.

All the facilities you would need, would not hesitate to book again, and have recommended the place to several friends and family since. Enjoyable little break.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Al D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Fitzwilliam Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 142 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2012

Under the present management do not book your wedding at this venue,the manageress is rude lazy and incompitant, staff moral is low and confidence in the manageress is none,just been to a wedding at this place and we was served by 2 bar staff with close to 100 guest's we started our meal at 5pm and with the band and dj waiting outside we finished at 7.30 the meal was well cooked but served on cold plates the only salt pot was passed from table to table we had to ask for gravy and veg and the brides mother ate her meal with just a fork,someone asked to see the manageress and was told she was in bed (again),the photographer introduced the bride and groome into the room and the bridesmaids and brides mother had to move the tables and clean the room before the nights entertainment honestly lol JOKE

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KEVIN F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

arrived at 5pm to check in.reception was closed. note to direct us to the bar. bar was packed due function room. waited 25 minutes to check-in... asked to sign a piece of paper by the bar staff. no directions no information on breakfast wifi etc... staff were busy and not interested in hotel guests just serving function room guests. the room was expected for the price. bed small and uncomfortable. walls really thin i.e could here tv in next room very clearly. we wanted to eat when we arrived but was told they wasnt serving food anymore as it was 6:05 and they stopped at 6:00. any good hotel would offer food to their guests im sure 5 minutes wouldn't have made a difference. missed breakfast due to not knowing the times it was served. 1 night was enough, will not return.

Room Tip: not sure if they are upgrades. but if so i would recommend.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaw-j22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

First thing: this place is on the edge of a large industrial area; just why I was there - if you want smouldering sunsets and mountain views look elsewhere. Stayed here on a Thursday night with work; I was going to be a late arrival so rang ahead to find out when food was served until; was told 9pm. I wouldn't be there until just after, but they just said, "No problem we'll keep Chef on for a few minutes and get you sorted." Good Start. Arrived, checked in at bar (bit of a niggle that reception is only 7am-8pm); took a few minutes to get sorted. Had a quick two courses of perfectly acceptable, freshly cooked, food in the bar (cheap, cheerful and filling!). Room excellent; very clean, tea/coffee facilities, nice clean compact shower-room with superb shower and comfy bed with plenty of pillows - slept well. Breakfast, served from 7am, was excellent; standard fare of cereals, fruit juice, cooked breakfast to order (nicely cooked too!), tea and toast. Free wireless (code is 'fitzwilliam' in case you arrive after 8pm - you cannot find it otherwise!). Booked on the day through LateRooms; £39.95 inc. full breakfast. For that price I cannot fault it and if I did I would be being churlish and unnecessarily picky. Just to add: every member of staff I met during the stay was friendly and helpful, especially breakfast chef and manageress. A lot of pricier, stuffier establishments would do well to take note!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new block; this is where I stayed and can vouch for them. Street view makes i...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Incomer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Stayed for one evening and found the staff to be helpful and friendly.

Rooms were comfortable although the beds were a little small. This was advertised however.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Overall the the venue was fantastic but the staff were a joke! They were slow serving at the bar due to been too busy talking to one another. They took it upon themselves to take a tray of the buffet without asking, baring in mind we paid for the food not them! A member of the bar staff told the dj to stop playing what people were asking for and just play chart music, again without asking and upon leaving the same member of staff was extremely rude when asking people to leave telling people to 'get out' is not polite. When this was run by the manager she did not care she just looked at her watch and said 'well we do need to get ready for breakfast'. All of these issues were brought to my attention by guests at the party and I am saddened that this is what they will remember.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

invited to a function stayed overnight to enjoy the evening. function room was clean and modern well stocked bar plenty of staff to serve. Bedroom and facilities clean bed linen spotless no noise from outside or below.
breakfast next morning was filling and not greasy like in a lot of hotels, staff keeping an eye
on availability to ensure everything was topped up
no complaints and will be back there again in october

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baker029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotherham hotels
4.3 mi away
Ibis Rotherham East
Ibis Rotherham East
#4 of 15 in Rotherham
547 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rotherham-North
4.9 mi away
Best Western Consort Hotel
Best Western Consort Hotel
#9 of 15 in Rotherham
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Restover Lodge Hotel
Restover Lodge Hotel
#14 of 15 in Rotherham
109 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Welcome Inn
The Welcome Inn
#10 of 15 in Rotherham
148 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilliam Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilliam Arms Hotel

Address: Taylors Lane | Parkgate, Rotherham S62 6EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Rotherham
Price Range: $49 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fitzwilliam Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fitzwilliam Arms Hotel is situated on the outskirts of Rotherham, close to Parkgate Retail World Shopping Centre and only fifteen minutes away from Meadowhall, Magna and the Don Valley Stadium. The hotel has 42 en-suite rooms - 21 of which were added at the end of 2008. All have tea and coffee making facilities, along with televisions in all rooms. Car parking facilities surround the Public House and Hotel, and secure parking is also available on request.please note the hotel holds regular events throughout (bars are open until 12 during week and 1 am at weekends) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fitzwilliam Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing