We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Consort Hotel
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Reviewed March 24, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank kohn57
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BWConsort, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Consort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 404 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

It's 2 years since we last stayed at the Consort and I'm very impressed with the refurbishment throughout the hotel. As before the service and food were 1st class and this time the room was also top quality.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank RognNog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWConsort, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Consort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We are very proud of our recent refurbishment and all the positive feedback we are receiving.
We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

We had our wedding here last year and it was not without its problems

As soon as the deposit was paid the level of service went down hill from there.

We had many meetings booked with the wedding planners but on every occasion these were changed as we're not suitable for the planners there selves this happened on a number of occasions and eventually we put our foot down as we were having to miss work etc this was just really poor communication between the various staff and maybe 2 copies of the same diary would come in handy .

The price itself was reasonable for the full day sit down Meal etc we had fab food during the day and the food was lovely no complaints there at all however the buffet at night was a nightmare with raw chicken and very bland food there was tons left and it was all taken away very early .

We had no knife waiting to cut the cake for photos.

We had another wedding using the room to walk through as if they owned the place which was finally sorted after complaining 3 times. However for months we checked there was no other wedding on the same day as ours then told the week before there was ? We were told they would not do this but told a week before that this was never said and practically called liars we would never have booked if we would have known this was a possibility however I never saw the other bride as the room was very private and they spent most there time on wall outside obviously also didn't rate it

The tables were mixed up so with full make up & hair I was downstairs on edge making sure everything was OK this should have been done for us we didn't need the extra stress and there was no planner in sight

On the day Sharon was great and really tried her very best just feel that she was very stressed most of the time and deserves a bloody good holiday for all the running around she did

The day went pretty much to plan however we made the hotel aware that we would be having a large amount of guests at night but even with numbers (we didn't end up having as many) they managed to run out of beer this was a nightmare they had staff running to buy cans from local shops and a couple of runs to Morrissons

We were apologised to on the night and told that they had run out this was ok we accepted the apology and got on with it however a friend wrote a review just after stating this and THIS WAS THEN BLAMED ON A FAULTY PUMP ????? THIS WAS NOT TRUE NOT ONLY WERE WE TOLD THIS BY THE HOTEL I HAVE ALSO SPOKEN TO HOTEL STAFF SINCE WHO HAVE MADE ME FULLY AWARE THAT THEY RUN OUT OF NEARLY EVERYTHING BY THE END OF THE NIGHT THIS FELT LIKE A REAL SLAP IN THE FACE AND MAYBE STICKING TO YOUR ORIGINAL STORY AND NOT LYING ON TRIP ADVISOR AND MAKING A GUEST FEEL STUPID WOULD DO THE COMPANY MORE FAVOURS.

We were bugged to leave the room the next morning even though there was no one in after us and then no one offered to help get everthing from the room or even to the car which make things difficult

Overall we had an amazing day but we made it that way Sharon does deserve credit as even at 11pm at night she came back with the beer crisis but it was as if no one else was bothered if I could re do my day I would change nothing other than the venue





Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank hall1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWConsort, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Consort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you for your comprehensive review which we were surprised to have 9 months after your wedding.

We are delighted that you enjoyed parts of your day and Sharon as your wedding co coordinator on the day was her usual helpful self.

We do have 2 weddings at the hotel both in separate rooms I am sorry that you feel that you weren’t told that we had another wedding. All weddings have the option of the booking the hotel exclusively should they wish to be the only bride but of course this comes at premium and that way you would have been given exclusive use of the hotel.

Our team were astonished & upset that you have said that they didn’t help with the set up on the day or the following day

We did have technical issues and measures were put in place and at no stage did we run out, we were always able to continue serving drinks.

Our team helped you with your heavy candy cart and would have willingly helped you with anything else.

Once again we are sorry that you have felt this way, we pride ourselves on our weddings and we receive lots of positive fabulous feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

as it will save you the cost of new locks in the morning .theres no cameras on the car park .un if like me .you will return to your vehicle in the morning to find that the doors av been done .the rooms are ok but you suffer from noise in the corridors.or if theres an event on as there was when I was there you might aswell go to it as theres no chance of sleeping while its on. un if you wish to leave early theres no hot water for a shower

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russell e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWConsort, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Consort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Thank you for your feedback & we are very sorry for your experience during your stay at our hotel. Guest security and satisfaction is of great importance to us. Our security cameras we were awaiting a part due to a fault which unfortunately was out of our control. This was an isolated incident, we had many vehicles in the car park on that evening and sadly yours was the only vehicle was targeted. We have staff at the hotel 24 hours and they do conduct regular patrols. We have liaised with the local police who confirmed that there was a wave of incidents on that evening within the area and they are being extra vigilant.

I do hope this incident will not affect your decision to stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

I have just organised a 3 day event for secondary school children at this hotel and every step of the way the service and support I received were excellent.

On organising the event all my emails were replied to promptly and everything was clear. When I called Sharon and Louise were very helpful and polite.

On arriving at the hotel on the first day the tables were set up as requested. The caretaker was on hand for any other requests and nothing was too much trouble for him.

The kitchen staff were excellent - providing a fab lunch buffet every day, accomodating any specific requests and providing refreshments throughout the day. The housekeeping staff ensured everything was clean and tidy for our arrival each day as well as throughout the 3 days.

Reception staff were extremely friendly, helpful and efficient. They helped me with anything I needed, always with a smile.

The rooms were bright, well lit, spacious and a nice temperature. There was plenty of space for our event which took place in 4 rooms. 3 projector screens and 1 projector were provided. Reception staff were happy to store my projectors behind reception for safe keeping overnight. The caretaker happily fetched us extension cords as needed.

I really can't thank ALL staff enough - the service was impeccable and ensured our event was a success. We will definitely book this venue for our conference again next year.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank jen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWConsort, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Consort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear Jen,
We were delighted that yourselves, colleagues & students enjoyed your three day conference with us. It's always great for myself and team to receive such feedback as it adds to the enjoyment of our jobs knowing that we once again have satisfied customers.
We hpe to welcome you all back to our hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Lovely clean hotel, friendly staff. Very comfortable rooms and well equipped. Great that this is a dog friendly hotel too :) Very efficient service at a fair price. Couldn't ask for more. Would definitely recommend and would stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jodes777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My wife and I stayed just one night.Very friendly staff,really clean well heated room.Very good food in the restaurant,at very reasonable prices.Breakfast gave an excellent choice,again staff very friendly.We had a special price for Bed and Breakfast which was very reasonable.
I would reccommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWConsort, General Manager at Best Western Consort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Thank you for your feedback, We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. During our recent refurbishment programme guest comfort was of great imporatance to us and we are glad that you were very comfortable. Many of the team have worked at the hotel for a number of years and their friendliness is often commented on, they will be pleased once again to have positve feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rotherham
1.7 mi away
Ibis Rotherham East
Ibis Rotherham East
#3 of 15 in Rotherham
576 reviews
2 mi away
Hellaby Hall Hotel
Hellaby Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hellaby
929 reviews
2 mi away
Restover Lodge Hotel
Restover Lodge Hotel
#14 of 15 in Rotherham
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Days Inn Sheffield M1
Days Inn Sheffield M1
#30 of 53 in Sheffield
271 reviews
3.7 mi away
Carlton Park Hotel
Carlton Park Hotel
#9 of 15 in Rotherham
808 reviews
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rotherham-North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Consort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Consort Hotel

Address: 8 Brampton Road | Thurcroft, Rotherham S66 9JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Price Range: $43 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Consort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently just 5 minutes from Junction 1 off the M18 and a stone’s throw from the M1 and A1, this hotel is ideal for exploring South Yorkshire and includes free Wi-Fi and parking. It’s their keen eye for quality that really makes this modern hotel stand out from the competition. Committed to providing matchless hospitality with a friendly yet professional service, even the smallest of details is dutifully attended to. What’s more, it’s both convenient and easily accessible making it a perfect home-from-home for those seeking to explore the surrounding area.Individually decorated and furnished, each of the 27 en-suite guestrooms are both comfortable and well-appointed. Every room also comes fully-equipped with all the luxuries that the modern traveller would expect, including free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV, 24-hour room service and tea and coffee making facilities. Whether staying for business or leisure there are accommodation options to meet all needs, including Classic Double or Twin rooms, spacious Superior Rooms or family-friendly Suites.Specialising in a selection of tasty British favourites, the restaurant offers a range of dining options with something to suit all tastes and dietary requirements. Taking great pride in the quality of their food, they endeavour to use locally sourced produce and ingredients wherever possible.With its accessible location, great service and excellent facilities the Hotel is an ideal meeting and conference venue. It offers a variety of well-equipped and flexible meeting rooms all of which benefit from natural daylight and the attention of the Hotel’s professional and dedicated conference staff.The Hotel is located in the town of Rotherham, just a 5 minute drive from Junction 1 off the M18, and within easy reach of the M1 and A1. What’s more it also provides plenty of free on-site parking. The city of Sheffield is just over 20 minutes away as is Doncaster and both offer excellent transport links to the rest of the country. There is also a local train station at Rotherham, just a 10 minute taxi ride from the Hotel. For those flying in, it’s a 50 minute drive to East Midlands International Airport.With a central location in the heart of South Yorkshire, the Best Western Consort Hotel is ideally placed for trips to Rotherham, Sheffield and Doncaster. There are plenty of great attractions to be found in the surrounding area and visitors will never be short of something to do. Engage in a spot of retail therapy at Meadowhall indoor shopping centre, enjoy world-class music, comedy and more at Sheffield’s Motorcross Arena or try your luck at Doncaster Racecourse. For family fun there’s the MAGNA Science Adventure Centre, thrilling watersports at Rother Valley Country Park and ice-skating and swimming at Doncaster Dome leisure centre. The scenic beauty of the Peak District National Park is also within easy reach and offers unparalleled opportunities for those wishing to experience the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Consort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rotherham
Rotherham Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing