We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value business hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Consort Hotel
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on business for three nights / was allocated a nice double room with bath and shower - all services worked fine. Good breakfast from 0700 with good choice. Location is fine for business but not a tourist place or the place for that romantic weekend!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Satisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWConsort, General Manager at Best Western Consort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 346 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

On Saturday night, we arrived at 9:15pm and were told that the restaurant stop serving food at 8:45pm. This seemed a little early, but in itself was not an issue as the lovely receptionist Donna told us that there were a few good takeaways nearby and we were more than welcome to go and get some food and she would get us some plates that we could use, sit in the bar area, have a drink and eat our dinner.
When we got back from getting our food Donna informed us that we were not in fact allowed to eat in the bar (even though it was totally empty) as her manager had told her that this was not allowed. She said that we would have to eat in the reception area rather than the bar. Although this was a little embarrassing, there were not too many people coming through reception so not a massive problem. A father and his young sons had also been told the same thing.

After we had started to eat, the manager came from his office and told us that ordinarily people are not permitted to eat in the reception; 'they have to eat in their rooms'. We explained that Donna had allowed us to do this and he said that 'as we had already started our food we may continue'! Now, I am a paying customer and I will not tolerate being spoken to like some sort of naughty school child - there had clearly been some break down in communications between Donna and the manager regarding what is acceptable and it should have stayed between them as well. Donna clearly should not have allowed us to eat our dinner where we were, but this conversation should have been had between her and the manager, we should not have been bought into it at all. A Best Western member of staff had told us that we could eat our food in reception so for another member of staff to come and tell us off is completely unacceptable. Ever.
Donna was going the extra mile to provide us with exceptional customer care and your manager completely ruined that - as a paying customer I should never be made to feel uncomfortable, but I was.

In addition to our food-based incident with the manager, the room that my wife and I shared was was sub-standard as well. The window did not close fully (and given that we were facing the main road became rather noisy during the night), the blind in the shower was mouldy and when we got up on Sunday morning we discovered that there was no hot water!

The Consort Hotel is very tired, in need of some modernisation and an episode of Undercover Boss probably wouldn't go a miss either. There were no bar staff on Saturday evening, we had to hunt for a waitress to serve us breakfast on Sunday morning and the only person we came in to contact with, who was worth the time of day, had been told off for trying to make our stay more comfortable.

I would advise you to have serious words with the manager we came in to contact with (I think he is called Tony?), his ego seems to be a little more important to him than his guests. Donna should be promoted and given a badge of honour for putting up with this guy. Excellent customer care should be rewarded not rejected. I would have thought that would be Page 1 of the good hotel managers hand book - maybe Tony has not got his copy yet!? I am developing a number of properties in South Yorkshire in the next few months so I was planning on putting people up at The Consort most weekends while they are working on the units, but after this experience I will be going elsewhere.

Room Tip: As a place to put your head down for the night this place should ordinarily be fine... just don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 555JamesB555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWConsort, General Manager at Best Western Consort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry you were disappointed by your experience during your stay. Your points raised will be addressed in our Management Meeting and measures to improve will be implemented.
Our front of house service is given high focus to ensure an enjoyable guest experience, once again my apologies this was not the case on this occassion.
I hope you may return to our normal warm welcome and find our constant improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Very nice hotel in the outskirts of Sheffield.

Quite big Executive room with both bath and shower. Bed was so comfortable that it took me quite a while to wake up next morning!

All the staff I met during my stay (Front Desk, F&B and Housekeeping) should be praised for their good attitude, with smiling faces all around and a desire to go the extra mile so as to make my stay perfect.

I understand extra customer service is a "must" nowadays so as to improve guest experience and satisfaction, and for sure both things were more than fulfilled during my stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Javipena82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Another overnight and what a great find.The staff were friendly and the room was a good size and very comfortable.The restaurant- bar was very quiet (only three other people )and while the menu was basic it was good home cooked food and good value .It is a shame when a good hotel is under used especially when such good value.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186459And123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWConsort, General Manager at Best Western Consort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Booked via a well known online site at the last minute. I have done this with other hotels and been allocated a small room on the top floor despite the hotel being empty. Not the case here, my room would nearly has counted as a suite, loads of room with quality furnishing, and to top it off both a shower and a whirlpool bath. Heaven at the end of a long day. Arrived to late for evening meal, but breakfast was good.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWConsort, General Manager at Best Western Consort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for staying with us, look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

A warm welcome on a very cold night was much appreciated. A speedy check-in and then i went to my room. I had a lovely room with a very comfy bed.
The restaurant was bland and very quiet, (possibly as it was mid week & snowing!) but the staff were pleasant. Dinner - was as expected and not much choice on the menu.
I chose the porridge for breakfast, it wasnt the best!
I would consider staying there again when im working in the area as the price was very good and the room/bed was so comfy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimeTravellersWife00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWConsort, General Manager at Best Western Consort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Was greeted with a smile staff on reception were friendly and efficient. After over 4hr drive most of which was sat in a traffic jam it was appreciated. My room was lovely and clean and had a skylight in the bathroom so natural light in the morning.
Breakfast in the week is 7am -9.30 Sunday its 7.30-9.30...may I suggest it be until 10am...was a bit early for a Sunday.
I sat for breakfast...you just grab a table so don't wait to be seated. I helped myself to fruit and yoghurt and waited...waited and waited some more. When a guest who had come in some time after me received their full breakfast and I was still waiting for a cup of tea perhaps because I was on my own it was easy to forget I was there. I attracted a waitress and asked if I could order my breakfast.she took my order but something to do with the look on her face made me feel like I was disturbing her. The food itself was lovely and hot.
I returned to my room to have a shower before I left...the shower screen is a foldable one but when opened it it did not stay in place also there was no shower gel in the dispenser.
In all fairness the stay was good but just needs a tweak here and there

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LRobW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWConsort, General Manager at Best Western Consort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, we are always striving to improve our service and guest feedback is important to assist us in maintaining our high standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rotherham
1.7 mi away
Ibis Rotherham East
Ibis Rotherham East
#1 of 15 in Rotherham
560 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hellaby Hall Hotel
Hellaby Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hellaby
904 reviews
2.0 mi away
Restover Lodge Hotel
Restover Lodge Hotel
#14 of 15 in Rotherham
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rotherham-North
4.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
#2 of 15 in Rotherham
889 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Consort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Consort Hotel

Address: Brampton Road | Thurcroft, Rotherham S66 9JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Price Range: $51 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Consort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently just 5 minutes from Junction 1 off the M18 and a stone’s throw from the M1 and A1, this hotel is ideal for exploring South Yorkshire and includes free Wi-Fi and parking. It’s their keen eye for quality that really makes this modern hotel stand out from the competition. Committed to providing matchless hospitality with a friendly yet professional service, even the smallest of details is dutifully attended to. What’s more, it’s both convenient and easily accessible making it a perfect home-from-home for those seeking to explore the surrounding area.Individually decorated and furnished, each of the 27 en-suite guestrooms are both comfortable and well-appointed. Every room also comes fully-equipped with all the luxuries that the modern traveller would expect, including free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV, 24-hour room service and tea and coffee making facilities. Whether staying for business or leisure there are accommodation options to meet all needs, including Classic Double or Twin rooms, spacious Superior Rooms or family-friendly Suites.Specialising in a selection of tasty British favourites, the restaurant offers a range of dining options with something to suit all tastes and dietary requirements. Taking great pride in the quality of their food, they endeavour to use locally sourced produce and ingredients wherever possible.With its accessible location, great service and excellent facilities the Hotel is an ideal meeting and conference venue. It offers a variety of well-equipped and flexible meeting rooms all of which benefit from natural daylight and the attention of the Hotel’s professional and dedicated conference staff.The Hotel is located in the town of Rotherham, just a 5 minute drive from Junction 1 off the M18, and within easy reach of the M1 and A1. What’s more it also provides plenty of free on-site parking. The city of Sheffield is just over 20 minutes away as is Doncaster and both offer excellent transport links to the rest of the country. There is also a local train station at Rotherham, just a 10 minute taxi ride from the Hotel. For those flying in, it’s a 50 minute drive to East Midlands International Airport.With a central location in the heart of South Yorkshire, the Best Western Consort Hotel is ideally placed for trips to Rotherham, Sheffield and Doncaster. There are plenty of great attractions to be found in the surrounding area and visitors will never be short of something to do. Engage in a spot of retail therapy at Meadowhall indoor shopping centre, enjoy world-class music, comedy and more at Sheffield’s Motorcross Arena or try your luck at Doncaster Racecourse. For family fun there’s the MAGNA Science Adventure Centre, thrilling watersports at Rother Valley Country Park and ice-skating and swimming at Doncaster Dome leisure centre. The scenic beauty of the Peak District National Park is also within easy reach and offers unparalleled opportunities for those wishing to experience the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Consort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rotherham
Rotherham Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing