We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we were looking for!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Consort Hotel
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My partner and I were visiting friends in Rotherham last weekend, so decided to stay at the Consort as it was well priced and ideally located. The hotel was clean, convenient and worth the money. I have to admit we were out through the day and only stayed one night so not around for long, but we enjoyed a delicious meal in the bistro and had a comfy night's sleep - which was all we were looking for. The staff were friendly and when I asked the young lady on reception for another towel, my request was attended to promptly. The hotel is perfect if you are looking for value for money and close proximity to Rotherham. We will definitely be staying again when visiting the area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissE11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 346 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Had the work Xmas do here last night food was great we all had sutch a good time - stopped over as well as did some off the others in our party room was ok but very clean def great place for a party- I would go back again no problem

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moojs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights whilst working in the area,it was good to have a large room which was great value at 55 pounds incl. Breakfast. The standard of the room was what would be expected of a 3 star hotel. Breakfast was very good and a decent choice in the evening.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RognNog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Didn't expect too much from a single night here, but still disappointed. The good points: the rooms are large, clean, and generally well maintained. Staff friendly and helpful. Parking easy. The problems: Although our room (209) seemed to be in a new section, the plumbing in both our and the bathroom next door was horribly noisy. Squeaks, squeals, banging etc. No fun when your neighbours come in late, or with early risers. Noise proofing not good: could hear everything in next door bathroom - voices, and everything. There was also no hot water first thing in the morning - had to call reception who switched something on to remedy this critical situation. Breakfast was okay, but lack of fresh coffee not good. Not the best stay we've ever had.

Room Tip: Avoid room 209 or 210.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobBBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWConsort, General Manager at Best Western Consort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We have addressed your points raised with our Maintenance and the noisy plumbing is being looked into with our plumbers. I am sincerely sorry that you had a disturbed nights sleep I hope you will stay again with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I went there only for a family funeral, but for what we paid we did expect a three star hotel. The decor was quite outadated but the beds were very comfy, the room was clean, but things like bottles of water we were promised we didnt get niether the biscuits with the coffee and tea in our bedrooms. The staff were very friendly. I was mostly dissapointed with the lock down that seemed to happen about half eleven, where we rang the door bell 7 times and no one responded till we caught someone at the window. That was the first time I've ever had to be in a hotel at a certain time before I got locked out. rediculous. The breakfast, however, was very good considering what we paid. It was nicely cooked and there was a good spread. In the evenings at the bar though, it was very expensive. More than what I pay in one of the most expensive parts of the country. For a beer and double bicardi diet coke, we were charged a few pennies under £10. Now that was our real dissapointment, especially when we just wanted to relax a bit. All in all, it was ok for the money just expect to pay a few more than 'more' pounds if you want to stay at the hotel for a wholeday to relax.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awareof_that
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here,15th sept 2012 ,booked two rooms ,one double and family,family was upgraded to suite because of change in nights wanted for no extra cost,rooms where large,and clean,staff very good,the decor in places is in need of upgrade,but still ok.The breakfast was excellent , good choices,cooked to order,plenty of cereals and hot drinks available.Both the check in and leaving where very fast.

Room Tip: just ask the staff when booking,very accomodating
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan8878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

we stayed here for function on site - the evening food was ok and the band the bootleggers were very entertaining but the hotel itself was below the standard expected under the best western franchise. We had to ask for glasses as there were none in the room and there wasn't even any plastic cups for cleaning teeth, the bathroom bin was broken and the biscuits were not in the tin but on the floor. When we got to breakfast - well within the allotted time, there were no tables set up for us and we had to ask for the bread, butter and juice to be replenished before we could have any.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlf7609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotherham hotels
1.7 mi away
Ibis Rotherham East
Ibis Rotherham East
#4 of 15 in Rotherham
560 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hellaby Hall Hotel
Hellaby Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hellaby
904 reviews
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rotherham-North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Restover Lodge Hotel
Restover Lodge Hotel
#14 of 15 in Rotherham
112 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
#1 of 15 in Rotherham
889 reviews
3.7 mi away
Carlton Park Hotel
Carlton Park Hotel
#8 of 15 in Rotherham
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Consort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Consort Hotel

Address: Brampton Road | Thurcroft, Rotherham S66 9JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Price Range: $51 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Consort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently just 5 minutes from Junction 1 off the M18 and a stone’s throw from the M1 and A1, this hotel is ideal for exploring South Yorkshire and includes free Wi-Fi and parking. It’s their keen eye for quality that really makes this modern hotel stand out from the competition. Committed to providing matchless hospitality with a friendly yet professional service, even the smallest of details is dutifully attended to. What’s more, it’s both convenient and easily accessible making it a perfect home-from-home for those seeking to explore the surrounding area.Individually decorated and furnished, each of the 27 en-suite guestrooms are both comfortable and well-appointed. Every room also comes fully-equipped with all the luxuries that the modern traveller would expect, including free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV, 24-hour room service and tea and coffee making facilities. Whether staying for business or leisure there are accommodation options to meet all needs, including Classic Double or Twin rooms, spacious Superior Rooms or family-friendly Suites.Specialising in a selection of tasty British favourites, the restaurant offers a range of dining options with something to suit all tastes and dietary requirements. Taking great pride in the quality of their food, they endeavour to use locally sourced produce and ingredients wherever possible.With its accessible location, great service and excellent facilities the Hotel is an ideal meeting and conference venue. It offers a variety of well-equipped and flexible meeting rooms all of which benefit from natural daylight and the attention of the Hotel’s professional and dedicated conference staff.The Hotel is located in the town of Rotherham, just a 5 minute drive from Junction 1 off the M18, and within easy reach of the M1 and A1. What’s more it also provides plenty of free on-site parking. The city of Sheffield is just over 20 minutes away as is Doncaster and both offer excellent transport links to the rest of the country. There is also a local train station at Rotherham, just a 10 minute taxi ride from the Hotel. For those flying in, it’s a 50 minute drive to East Midlands International Airport.With a central location in the heart of South Yorkshire, the Best Western Consort Hotel is ideally placed for trips to Rotherham, Sheffield and Doncaster. There are plenty of great attractions to be found in the surrounding area and visitors will never be short of something to do. Engage in a spot of retail therapy at Meadowhall indoor shopping centre, enjoy world-class music, comedy and more at Sheffield’s Motorcross Arena or try your luck at Doncaster Racecourse. For family fun there’s the MAGNA Science Adventure Centre, thrilling watersports at Rother Valley Country Park and ice-skating and swimming at Doncaster Dome leisure centre. The scenic beauty of the Peak District National Park is also within easy reach and offers unparalleled opportunities for those wishing to experience the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Consort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rotherham
Rotherham Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing