We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Carlton Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carlton Park Hotel
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I've stayed here on a few occasions,always been a real pleasure .The service general cleanliness have always been good.Ideal for short and weekend breaks.The staff seem very helpfull.The hotel as a large car park so parking is never a problem.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jabbawooky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason G, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

I'm delighted that you enjoy the hotel so much and thank you for taking the time to write on Trip Advisor. We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (767)
There are newer reviews for Carlton Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

611 - 617 of 767 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel is very close to the Rotherham Hospital. Although the room rates are suspiciously reasonable the quality eclipses some hotels that charge twice the price. The local Rotary club use the hotel for their meetings. These people are local so know the market and expect good standards. The bar meals are well presented as are the evening meals.
Breakfast is self service and reasonable with no limit to the amount you eat. The hotel staff are polite without being over friendly. The rooms are a bit on the small side as are the beds when compared with say Premier Inn but you do get an ironing board/trouser press as standard and the bath room is equipped with face cloths which is unusual. There was a wedding party going on during my stay but this could not be heard from my room.
There was no air conditioning in the room which I assume is the case for the whole hotel so there may be a problem in hot weather. Thoroughly recommend for a budget stay.

Room Tip: The rooms facing North overlook a park so may be the best bet.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason G, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us at the Carlton Park. There are indeed some great offers available, especially during quieter times. I'm pleased that you managed to find one! We hope that you will stay with us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Fantastic night was had by all, school prom night was made very special by great staff. Food served to staff and students was tasty and enough. I have visited this hotel many times usually on special themed entertainment evenings and always had a great night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tizzy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason G, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you so much for your review of the hotel. We are indeed a very popular venue for proms with many schools visiting us year after year. We hope that you will choose the Carlton Park Hotel again next year and for years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

It was with some trepidation that we booked into this hotel for 2 nights B&B for two of us for a total of only £87. Surely, the advertised comfort and facilitates were never going to live up to any decent standard given the price! Well, to be fair, it was everything as advertised, the staff were brilliant and cheery, the place was spotless and the facilities were really good. We even found time to go down to the small pool and Jacuzzi for a splash about. Interestingly, there was a School Prom event starting when we arrived and had attracted many young people celebrating what we could only presume was their end of School career. Once we got to out room, we didn't hear a thing, incredible given the number of folk in attendance. Over all, a brilliant stay, comfy and warm. Slept really well and breakfast was good enough to set you up for the day ahead. If there was anything I could suggest, it would be to move the smokers place from the front door to elsewhere. Walking through a cloud of smoke to gain entry to the hotel wasn't very nice, nor was the growing garden of fag ends we had to walk over to get indoors. Other than that, Brilliant hotel for an incredible 2 night price. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel1234_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason G, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Carlton Park Hotel. I'm delighted that you found so many positives and that you found such a bargain price! Why not try one of our party nights for your next visit? Details can be found on our website. Additionally, we offer a wide range of attraction packages on our website including Chatsworth House, Wentworth Woodhouse and Magna Science Adventure Centre Packages. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Room was smallish but functional and clean. Heard some sounds i would rather not hear from the room next door, so i would say walls a little on the thin side for a hotel! Internet worked on 2 days out of 4. Breakfast not the best to be honest (saw the menu on the last day and could have been ordering vegetarian sausages from the kitchen but no menu on my table until the last day). Nice to have a pool and a gym but i think thats the smallest pool i have ever seen, even the garden on the pics looks big but its tiny - very clever photograpghy so wasnt what i expected. On the plus side bed was comfortable and the bathroom had a bath and shower, which is very helpful and not that common nowadays. Did feel a little too corporate whilst not being one of the big chains, it did feel more like a chain hotel than independent place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunbeamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason G, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Many thanks for your constructive comments relating to your recent stay with us. Your comments will be shared with the management team here at the hotel. Thank you for bringing the issues you experienced with wifi and breakfast menus to our attention. The Carlton Park Spa isn't a massive complex; however, we do get lots of comments on how beautiful it is. We look forward hopefully to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I put the following on the comments form at the hotel:

I came across the hotel as it came up on as list of available hotels, however i booked directly through the hotel as this was the cheapest rate i found.

My partner and i stayed 1 night for pleasure - we stayed to break up our journey.

The receptionists gave us all the relevant information we needed however there wasn't anything special about the service we received.

The room was clean and there was everything in it that you would expect and it was comfortable. There wasn't any way of controlling the heat in the room apart from opening and closing the window. I felt the decor of the public areas of the hotel were good however i think the decor needs updating in the bedroom in which we stayed.

The hotel provides combined shampoo and shower gel, i personally prefer separate shower gel and shampoo but just a personal preference. Also there is not a full sized bath.

There are automatic lights in the corridors, that i think need to come on sooner than when you're half was down the hall.

Breakfast was OK, there was a good selection and the quality was OK, staff again were nothing special.

The leisure facilities are nice, the swimming pool is cramped if there is more than 3 people in it, the same with the jacuzzi.

There were wedding receptions being held at the hotel and some of the guests were milling around outside in front of the main reception and wouldn't move if they saw someone trying to set in or out of the hotel. My partner couldn't sleep due to the music and inconsiderate guests, he did not ask to be moved as i had taken a sleeping tablet and he didn't want to disturb me however his night was still disturbed. I know the hotel cannot choose its guests however the guests were loud and inconsiderate when we stayed. The guests didn't stay in the function rooms therefore it felt like they were taking over the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hwatson1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason G, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you for your recent review. I'm sorry that the hotel failed to provide that 'wow factor' to make your stay with us that extra special. We do try hard to set ourselves apart from the competition by providing a friendly yet efficient service in a luxurious environment but I'm sorry that on this occasion we didn't live up to your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed for one night only as we had travelled up to Sheffield to see Rod Stewart at Motorpoint Arena. Hotel is very nice, has eclectic décor and is really comfortable. We had a double room with en-suite, TV, coffee and tea making facilities. Use of the pool, spa, steam room and sauna were included, although we were a bit disappointed to find the pool a lot smaller than the photographs had lead us to believe. The steam room was out of action, but was due to be repaired the day we left. We found the bar food to be expensive, both having a Ploughman's (£11.95 each) before we set off for the Arena on Sunday 23 June. The meals were substantial, including 3 chunks of cheese, 2 chutneys, chunk of duck pate, 2 toast triangles and salad, but too much for one meal - we saved a lot for when we came back from the concert. ** see below. We got back to the hotel just after 23.00, only to find the bar was shut, but we then found the night porter can serve late drinks. Breakfast was lovely, taken in a beautiful conservatory where you can help yourself to cereals, fruit etc, tea was brought to table, along with toast. Full English was again help yourself onto a hot plate from a buffet including fried eggs, sausages, bacon, mushrooms, hash browns, tomatoes and beans. WORD OF WARNING!!! Breakfast is stated as being SERVED from 7.00 until 10.00am - in fact everything was taken away at 10.00 prompt so don't turn up late. All in all a lovely place to stay and we would definitely return.

** We were told by the lovely receptionist when we checked out that there is a special offer through Motorpoint Arena for a stay at CPH which includes a bottle of wine and two sandwiches inc in the room price. Not too sure how to source this as the Arena closed for a major refurbishment and roof replacement after we left - not due to us - honestly!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Short31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason G, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review. I hope that you enjoyed the concert at Sheffield Arena and the package for Sheffield Arena guests available via our website. I hope that you stay with us when next visiting Sheffield Arena; hopefully after the refurbishment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rotherham
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33
4.5 mi away
Hellaby Hall Hotel
Hellaby Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hellaby
889 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
#2 of 15 in Rotherham
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#11 of 15 in Rotherham
278 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ibis Rotherham East
Ibis Rotherham East
#4 of 15 in Rotherham
547 reviews
7.5 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Park Hotel

Address: 102-104 Moorgate Road, Rotherham S60 2BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Rotherham
Price Range: $74 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Park Rotherham
Carlton Park Rotherham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing