We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upset stomach”
Review of Modern China

Modern China
Ranked #223 of 311 Restaurants in Rotherham
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Upset stomach”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

If you like an upset stomach go here. The food was bland with no flavour. They didn't seem to understand us. The place was empty,we know why now.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ejcarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    35
    17
    16
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great value all you can eat”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

There were six of us went for the all you can eat.
It was early on a Sunday evening and there was only a couple of other tales occupied.
The food is cooked to order and you can order two things each, once eaten you can then order again.
We tried a variety of dishes and they were all really tasty.
Value for money was excellent.
Will definitely go back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mamacoupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Disappointing”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Walking in to the Restaurant we wondered why it was empty, well now we know why. The service was poor; no one seemed to listen to us. But the main reason for the terrible experience was the disgusting quality of food. As well as all the meat having a plastic texture, half of it was well undercooked! The chicken in the black bean dish was completely raw inside and the pork dish we had was visually undercooked. In the end we had to walk out paying half the price for the half a meal we ate. Would not recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Modern china experience”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Went to the modern china on Saturday 30 march, in a group of five couples.The meal was booked for 9-30 pm but we did not sit at the table until 10-15pm.That said the meals we had and the service were very good.We settled for set meals and extras and were not disappointed .With lots of drinks and special coffee's ,the bill came to £53 per couple.Excellent value for money.We did not depart till 12-30am and were not rushed by the staff at any time .Recently I dined in a Chinese restaurant in china town London.It was a very poor second to the modern china.I would definitely go back again and would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eric h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great night with friends if you have the set menu!”
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Went in a group of 4 on a Saturday night in march. We all ordered the same set menu as it worked out better value than ordering separately.
We had soup, assorted starters which were great, a while duck and they brought us more pancakes. Then as there were 4 of us we got more dishes on the set menu than if just 2. We had loads of food!! And it was all really well cooked and lovely. Thoroughly enjoyed it.
Having such a variety was great in a group also and helped make for a very good night :)
The place is nicely decorated with a modern feel - hence the name I suppose.
Would go again and would recommend !
Thanks

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Modern China also viewed

Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Dinnington, Rotherham
 

Been to Modern China? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing