We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (452)
Filter reviews
452 results
Traveler rating
176
171
66
21
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
171
66
21
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews aldi supermarket beans stayed here free wifi marstons pub hot items housing estate pub next door hot food rooms are large sofa bed good size on arrival air conditioning excellent value yogurt modern hotel
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 452 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2017

Was staying here for business and for an area which boasts very little of anything, it was a surprise to see such a large hotel in the middle of nearly nowhere.

The stay was comfortable but the rooms were decoratively pretty tired - especially the bathroom which was in need of modernisation. Bed was ok though, with a comfortable mattress. Watch out if you don't like noise because the walls are thin and there seemed to be an awful lot of running around in the corridors late at night - but this was the other guests fault, not the management.

There's nowhere else to stay nearby, so this is about as good as it gets unfortunately.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled on business
Thank Isujosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rotherham-North, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2017

Hi Isujosh,

Thanks for staying and leaving an honest feedback. I understand that the location and the condition of the hotel facility fell short. Also, the bathroom's setup fell below your expectations. Keep in mind that we are always trying our best to give a great assistance to our guest. I am taking your feedback seriously and shared this with the management of the hotel so we can further improve our amenities.

On a lighter note, I'm pleased that you enjoyed our comfortable mattress which is actually one of our trademarks. I've also shared your compliments with the team and have been acknowledged by the hotel management.

Let us know how we can make your next stay with us more comfortable.

Take care and Happy Holidays!

Peter J
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2017

Spacious room, with a contemporary en-suite bath room. Adequate hospitality at the reception, enjoyable relaxing breakfast lounge which had a lovely frsh selection of ot and cold meals.
Lovely service in the morning in the breakfast lounge, worth staying fir a meal.

Room Tip: First floor room at the back of the hotel.
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2017 via mobile

Room smelt of drain

Phone not working

Even after acknowledging there is smell , no action taken . Windows also could not be opened also so it was really difficult room

Ashamed to be gold member of IHG room

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank RArora21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rotherham-North, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2017

Hi RArora21,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with our hotel. I would like to apologize for the issues you had with the smell in your room, the in room phones, and the windows. We always aim to provide an exceptional stay for all of our guests that is why I regret to see that you did not have a great experience. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience these issues may have caused you during your stay. Rest assured, your comments will be shared with our management team to properly address your concerns. I would also like to follow up on this situation that is why I have sent you a private message to obtain more information. I hope that you can respond at your soonest available time.

Thank you for staying and best regards,

Mike F.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2017 via mobile

Whilst the room facilities met my expectations, comfy bed etc, however the tea making samples didn't. 2 coffee & 2 sealed teabags both from Nairobi flavours. To get a decent cuppa you had to use both tea or coffee samples because the brew was bitter & lacked in flavour. So in essence you got 2 brews. When I rang for decaffeinated options, the staff replied,as a disabled customer that they recommended I pop across to Aldi & buy them myself. I did however at breakfast take 2 decaf mint flavour tea bags to my room because none was left in my room. Breakfast was like feeding monkey's at the zoo. No organisation, customers pushing past each other carrying hot food & liquid, narrow avenues around the food tables, no good for pple in wheelchairs. Health and safety would have a field day. I also had broken lights that were reported but not initially actioned on, when I chased on the resolution, I had to report it again because nothing had been recorded, so i put my complaint on a card & in writing by email, so again twice, before I got a reply with not even an apology or recompense for the effort taken to bring the faults to management's attention. During 1 night's sleep the tv switched on by itself twice during the night fixed to a Xxx channel. No,before you comment, it wasn't the last channel watched. It's a good job I didn't have any young children with me. Again this was included in my complaint but again, zero acknowledgment in apologising.
If you want basic, stag /hen do it's ideal, 15 minutes from Swinton town.
But anything else, you would be better inclined to seek alternative hotel groups because staff & management don't care about your lack of enjoyment during your stay, just ship customers out & move on.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
1  Thank 1Salsalicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rotherham-North, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2017

Hi 1Salsalicious,

Thanks for choosing us for your lodging needs, we're glad to have hosted your stay. Although it's nice to know that you found our room facilities and location to your liking, I'm sorry to hear that our service level did not meet your expectations. It's also sad to learn about the inconvenience caused by the in-room TV and that you have yet to receive a response to the emails you sent. Your feedback is important and shared with the team to help pinpoint areas that need improvement.

I appreciate you bringing these to attention and do know that I've reached out to you privately to obtain additional information.

Regards,

Jillian I
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2017

Nice hotel, lovely and modern. Clean and with comfortable surroundings, Sadly i missed breakfast as it finished early at 10.30am. All the staff were friendly and helpful.

I would definitely stay again at this hotel.

Room Tip: high up floor
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews