We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Bacio - CLOSED

Il Bacio
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
rotherham
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

We visited this restaurant on monday using a groupon deal. We were totally impressed. When we arrived the restaurant was empty. There was a very good choice on the menu. The owner and the waitress were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
The meal was prepared quickly despite some tweaking of the dishes. The food was very good and both the starter and the main were excellent. Even when the restaurant became busier the staff were fabulously attentive and we were made to feel very welcome and never rushed.
We have lived in Rotherham for many years and we didn't even know this restaurant was here. We will definitely return probably on special occasions as we are on a budget but definitely one to add to our favourites list. Small boy already asked if we can go for his birthday!!!
Go, enjoy, Buen apetito

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank amanda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    23
    13
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

tbh we would have driven past this place if we hadn't booked in advance.
But once inside it was wonderful, the tables were a little close and the owner apologised as he had overbooked on the night of our visit - blame Groupon.

The food was exceptionally good and the attention of the owner ad staff who were rushed off their feet was good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fatbloke_2000_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Rotherham's own little Italy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

First visit, didn't even know this place was there! Don't be put off by the exterior because once in through the main door, it's clear you are settling into an Italian themed, friendly, and informal restaurant setting. The specials board selections were all explained as soon as we settled at our table, and drinks ordered and with us whilst we finalised our choices. The food was very good, and using a Tuesday night voucher made it even more of a bargain! There is a first floor if wanting to book larger party sizes as the ground floor is a tad tight if wanting parties of 10 or more. There's no outdoor dining however, For a girls night out, looking for great food and an environment where you can LOL and reminisce all night, thoroughly recommended! Fab, will be booking a re visit!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaMaryLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Il Bacio Rocks.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Always a great night. Been there 4 times in the last 6 months and as ever it's been great. The food is lovely. The owner can't do enough for you. I love when he gets the guitar out and sings to his guests. Today he gave our table a bottle of Limoncello to drink, lethal but then again it's how attentive he is. You have to try it out for yourselves.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mickyq0427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Transported to italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic evening! We arrived at 6.30pm and were there til 10..a full evening of amazing food..really the best food I've ever tasted. The owner then entertained us with music. All of us joined in singing to the music. An evening I will always remember. We can't wait to go back. The owner was so lovely. He puts his heart and soul in to his restaurant and was so upset that some have given bad feedback..he couldn't understand it..neither can I...but I suppose you can't please everybody. I recommend 100%.

Helpful?
1 Thank sal705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Bacio also viewed

 
Wickersley, Rotherham
Wickersley, Rotherham
 
Wickersley, Rotherham
Swinton, Rotherham
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing