We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what it says on the tin!”
Review of Fairways

Fairways
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairways
Ranked #5 of 5 Rotherham B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed here for one night and paid £39 from late rooms.

We stayed in room 4 which was clean, modern and comfortable. There is a lovely outside seating area which overlooks the golf course. Unfortunately the weather was awful during our stay so we were not able to use this.

The hotel is ideally located for Meadowhall shopping centre. We chose to eat there rather than in The Fairways restaurant.

We returned around 9pm and had several drinks in the very nice bar area. It was also quiz night, which was good fun!

Breakfast is provided in the room which is fine - cereal, alpen bars, tea/coffee/juice and fresh fruit. however the one thing I really think they should change is providing fresh milk instead of sterilised.

All in all a very satisfactory stay and would definitely consider staying there again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stereomary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairways B, Manager at Fairways, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear you had a great stay with us and enjoyed our quiz.


I have taken on board your comments about the fresh milk being provided. I am currently looking into changing this.

Thank you very much for your response. We do hope you will come and stay again with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 89 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just had our wedding reception here at the fairways and decided we would stay over, the room was really good value it was clean and looked lovely. Absolutely no complaints would highly recommend. Very comfortable. Tea and coffee making facilities and fruit juice in the rooms along with cereal bars and cereal available to eat in the comfort of your room

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I travel for a living and have spent the last 2 nights here and I must say this is a outstanding place to stay.
The food, staff, owner, rooms are the best.... Would I stay here again, YES and I would recommend to everyone I know.
Fab place, thank you very much

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Numpty2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Visited this place whilst visiting sheffield arena, got to say best room for the money i have ever had, very comfy, nice people, loved it. Didn't do cooked breakfast but lovely in room pastries, cereal and fruit. Highly recommend.
Ideal for Arena.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank owlsfan58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Food and service have deteriorated since last visit. Cannot recommend.
Staff are not friendly and food is poor quality.
Prices seem reasonable but the standard of food seems to be lower than previous visits.




Limited kids menu.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank _r_divercon89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My partner and I visited the Fairways on a Thursday and stayed for one night.
We arrived at 2pm and went in to the bar area and asked where to check in (it was just at the end of the bar). A lady came and took our details and we payed for the room there and then and were shown upstairs straight away (we stayed in room 2 which was lovely).
Our room was at the front of the hotel and looked out onto the car park and main road. It had a lovely, big, comfortable bed which faced the window, a large en-suite bathroom with power shower and a sky TV. It was fairly basic with one wardrobe and a couple of cupboards/drawers but really modern/nicely decorated and very clean.
We left our bags in the room and went out into Sheffield for the afternoon.
When we got back to the hotel we changed and went downstairs to the restaurant for a meal. They offer a varied menu as well as great 2 for £10 deals! My partner and I both had burgers with home-made chips, which was lovely! We also got a side order, 2 deserts and 3/4 rounds of drinks and it all came to just less than £40 which was great! Considering the room was only £40 too it was a fairly cheap night away compared to some places.
We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend/visit again.

Room Tip: book in advance as there are only 7 rooms in hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alouisec2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Booked in here for a weekend/concert break. On arrival we were made to feel very welcome. Breakfast was explained to us straight away so cannot understand why people complain. Ok no cooked breakfast but there was more than enough available with the cereals and bars etc. The rooms were outstanding and very stylish. The power shower was amazing. The meals in the bar were excellent and the staff couldn't do enough for you. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. What a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Creg-my-baa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rotherham
1.0 mi away
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
#1 of 15 in Rotherham
889 reviews
1.6 mi away
Carlton Park Hotel
Carlton Park Hotel
#8 of 15 in Rotherham
779 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#11 of 15 in Rotherham
280 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Sheffield Meadowhall Hotel
1.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairways

Address: Bawtry Road, Rotherham S60 5NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Rotherham
Price Range: $63 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairways is a contemporary style Pub, Restaurant and Hotel,that has recently undergone a £350,000 re-ferbishment. It is located between Junction 34 M1 Meadowhall and Rotherham town centre. Idealy located for Sheffield Area, Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Magna and Don Valley Stadium. We offer a wide range of food ranging from £5.95 or choose from our two for £10 menu. On your stay in our Hotel we offer a complimentary in room breakfast, consisting of Cereal,Orange Juice,Ceareal Bar, Tea, Coffee and Biscuits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fairways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing