We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fairways

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairways
Ranked #3 of 5 Rotherham B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

The Geordie van driver strikes again. Easiest review to write.
Super friendly, super comfy bed, super clean ( I felt out of place after 12 hours on the road ) . Free wifi. Excellent grub. Apparently Saturday night gets a bit loud but hey, I was here Monday. It's a pub/small hotel type thing, and yes, as the name suggests, there is a golf course out back. Paid 40 for staying one night, I'm happy in a travelodge as a rule but here I did not get all that yes sir no sir crap! It's genuinely friendly just like the business I run. I hate paid for have a nice day crap! It's spotless inside and as a single traveller ( good for couples too ) I cannot find fault with the place and one of the barmaids has a nice bum! Can you tell I say it as it is! Seriously, if you are in the area, drop by, look in the pub area at the tidiness, the rooms are the same. Well worth considering if you are fed up of the usual blue and purple!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLCmovez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    14
    11
    7
    10
See reviews for
9
38
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

I can happily sat that this is one of the best hotels I've stayed in. We had a meal at the hotel restaurant before they booked our taxi to see a concert at the arena. The meal was beautiful, it was 2 dine for £10 so we weren't expecting it to be great, however it was one of the nicest meals I have ever had. Everything was home cooked, hot and tasted fantastic. The room was large and clean, and the staff were friendly and did everything they could to help us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmaa28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We booked this hotel to get a good night's sleep on a Saturday night. If this is your objective
DON 'T book!!!!!
It is a small hotel so there would have been no relief from the music,DJ & scraping of chairs even if we had been able to move rooms. When I spoke to the manager she was polite& understanding but unable to do anything. We endured the music etc until after 11.30. There was the smell of cigarette smoke wafting around from the smoking area which was unpleasant. We were offered no other compensation.
The room was small but had comfortable beds and a tiny but good shower.
If you want a quiet spacious room in this area go to the Travel Lodge at Meadowhall, we will not be booking anywhere else when we visit Sheffield

Room Tip: Don' t book a Saturday night if you want to sleep before midnight- go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Visited the fairways on a Friday afternoon with my family. Lovely pub, very clean and tidy, modern and very well presented.

We all had our tea here and the food was gorgeous, as it was Friday it seemed only right to have the fish Friday. Gorgeous battered cod served with homemade chips such a delight. Lovely atmosphere, with a drinking area separate to the bar area. Would recommended! We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

I went to the fairways for a meal with a friend on Saturday night. The pub was pack in both sides but the waitress found us a table quickly. We ordered our food and was served in a reasonable time, the food was excellent and the service was of a high standard. Much better then experiences I have had at the fairways on previous visits. Keep up the good work!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigad83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed one night as we were attending anniversary party close by, it is a pub which serves food & has just 7 bedrooms. The bedrooms were compact but clean & newly renovated with a comfy mattress & fluffy duvet & pillows. We had a room at the back overlooking the golf course but other did say it was noisy at the front until the pub closed. The bathroom was small (only a shower no bath) but it all looked new & lovely huge towels. The only let-down is the breakfast, cereal & cereal bar in your room with a fridge with milk & orange juce in the corridor. A good nights sleep let down by the poor breakfast. They serve food downstairs so a breakfast would have been lovely.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkslass3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Pleasantly surprised by this one - such a good nights sleep, in spite of room over looking the road. Clean, stylish, high quality sheets, pillows, thick big towels, honestly I've paid a lot more for considerably less. The continental breakfast lets it down, small juice box, cereal bar, Kellogg's cornflakes and uht milk from a fridge in the corridor - but they do tell you when you book.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaronPalmsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rotherham
1.0 mi away
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
Mercure Sheffield Parkway
#1 of 15 in Rotherham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
1.5 mi away
Carlton Park Hotel
Carlton Park Hotel
#8 of 15 in Rotherham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield Meadowhall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33
1.6 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#10 of 15 in Rotherham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Rotherham East (M18/M1) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairways

Property: Fairways
Address: Bawtry Road, Rotherham S60 5NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Rotherham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairways is a contemporary style Pub, Restaurant and Hotel,that has recently undergone a £350,000 re-ferbishment. It is located between Junction 34 M1 Meadowhall and Rotherham town centre. Idealy located for Sheffield Area, Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Magna and Don Valley Stadium. We offer a wide range of food ranging from £5.95 or choose from our two for £10 menu. On your stay in our Hotel we offer a complimentary in room breakfast, consisting of Cereal,Orange Juice,Ceareal Bar, Tea, Coffee and Biscuits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Fairways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing