We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!!!”
Review of The Barley Mow

The Barley Mow
Ranked #1 of 218 Restaurants in Skegness
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $38
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are a country pub, located 14 miles from Boston, 8 miles from Skegness, we boast a large car park, beautiful garden with patio and heated smoking hut.Inside we offer a large conservatory overlooking the garden, which leads into the public bar, with 2 drinking areas and a separate dining room on the side overlooking the countryside. We close all day Monday and serve evening meals from Tuesday to Saturday evening and lunches from Friday to Sunday. We get very busy in the evenings and on a Sunday Lunch, so we do recommend to book!! We offer fresh prepared food using reputable suppliers and make majority of the dishes here on sight, we pride ourselves on Proper Food in a clean comfortable cosy yet modern village pub with restaurant.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious!!!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We were staying at Butlins in Skegness and fancied getting away from that for a decent bit of Sunday lunch. The Barley Mow is a cracking, traditional looking English pub with a great little beer garden. I had roasted pork belly and it was one of the tastiest things i've ever eaten (better than the pork belly i had at the michelin starred Kitchin) and my wife had the biggest pie i've ever seen... totally scrumptious chicken and bacon.Our 3 kids all had sausage and chips which were gobbled up pretty quickly. Would highly recommend and wish i had a local that served up sunday lunch of this quality.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevowallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarleyMowSkegness, Owner at The Barley Mow, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for you wonderful review and I'm so pleased to read you enjoyed your visit to our pub, The Belly Pork indeed is a favourite and one of our biggest sellers, once tried, people make return visits to have it again and again. We pride ourselves on good quilty food prepared well and are fortunate to be surrounded by fabolous growers and great producers and of course great chefs and efficient staff!
We hope you enjoyed your break in Skegness and look forward to seeing you agin when in the area.
Jayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    51
    10
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Robbo in Salford”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

What a find. Great meal cooked really well, and great service. I have paid more here in
Salford for far less quality. All home cooked food, and plenty of it. We will be back. Just pray
it does not become part of a chain, as here in Manchester/Salford, thats when everything goes
down the pan.
We went at 12.00 on Sunday - no waiting whatsoever.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really lovely, nice garden, yummy food, fan and very friendly service. Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We have been meaning to visit years, and so was really looking forward to our family lunch.

Very nice menu, the only criticism I could make is that a few more veggie options would be nice. The food was delicious, and the service was excellent.

I'm looking forward to our next visit already!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hayleyjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“150 Miles from Home, well worth it.”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We live in Benfleet Essex, but visit my Daughter who lives in Boston, Lincs quite often. We always ask to go to the Barley Mow for the Saturday evening meal although its a good 25 minute drive. We have been many times and it always lives up to expectation. The food and service are top rate and have never had a bad meal, in fact it could not be better. There are always specials on and the menu is quite comprehensive. You sit out in a lovely conservatory area and it has great ambience. My son-in-law had asked after his last visit if they could put on a Melbac wine and duly have put on an Argentinian one, which at £19.95 was excellent value. This is without doubt the best restaurant I have ever been to and look forward to my next visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
87 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely food and friendly service, but be prepared to wait.”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We visited twice this week with family. On both occasions, but particularly Sunday lunchtime, the food was delicious but it took a long time to come. It took over 2 hours for us to have a 2 course Sunday lunch, with a 30 minute wait for our main courses after being taken to our table. Luckily our 1 year old grandson was on best behaviour! Everything else was great though. I recommend the roast beef, fish and chips, creme brûlée, cheesecake, and crumble, all enjoyed by us on our visits here. The staff work hard and are very helpful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jonkersCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barley Mow also viewed

Skegness, Lincolnshire
Skegness, Lincolnshire
 
Skegness, Lincolnshire
Skegness, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Barley Mow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing