We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (345)
Filter reviews
345 results
Traveler rating
144
91
68
22
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
144
91
68
22
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews executive suite golf club family suite night porter sunday carvery large bathroom bar meals lick of paint stayed here for one night bit dated lovely room quiet location couple of nights would stay again friendly hotel weekend break sea front
Filter
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 345 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2017 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel around 2.30pm and was welcomed by a very polite young lady who gave us plenty of information.
We was placed in room 208 2nd floor so proceeded to the lift and got stuck between floors lol they was very quick to release us from our captive box and we took the stairs from then on...
On the way to our room we noticed that the carpets on the stairs are very threadbare and the 2nd landing carpet was stained
We got to our room and notice the carpet was very stained in places but the overall condition of the room was lovey but a bit dated.
The bathroom and toilet looks like it had recently been overhauled and was very nice but the window had black mould along the bottom and there was mould just starting to come through on the 2 corners above the shower.
the shower curtain was a brilliant white but the bottom was discolored very yellow.
We had breakfast the next morning which was superb.
We also had a meal later that night which was fantastic.
The Staff was the best I have had the pleasure to meet, even though they had a lot to do between the bar and the restaurant they always had a smile for us.
My overall opinion is with time this could be a beautiful place to stay once it's been updated.
I cwish I could have left 5 stars but if it wasn't for the staff it would have been 2 stars.
So thank you to the staff who made us feel very welcome you are fantastic

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2017

Could do with a bit of a face lift inside and out, but the staff, food, cleanliness and comfort cannot be faulted. Breakfast in the restaurant and the bar food were both extremely edible! Location great for what we wanted, would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our view was over the front of the hotel car park, but not unpleasant by any means. No excessive noise from other guests or from outside.
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tisbags25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robandamy30, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2017

Hi thank you for your kind review, wow 5/5 !!!!!!!
I am so pleased you enjoyed you stay with us and the team are delighted with your comments. Thank you for choosing the crown and we welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Booked through the company I work for
Stayed in the same room as last year. Same hole in the wall, roughly filled with filler. No change there.
This hotel has probably been very good in the distant past.
Now it is very run down. Stuck with seventies decor.
Bathroom furniture very old fashioned. In room 102 where I was it was green with a white toilet seat and lid.
Bar area was ok. Food looked nice. Barman doubles up as receptionist so if he's booking someone in at reception then you wait a while to get served in bar.
Personally I wouldn't recommend to anyone. I'll be asking my employer for a change of hotel next year.

Stayed: May 2017, traveled on business
1  Thank HullPmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robandamy30, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2017

Hi thank you for your review, feedback means everything to us and only helps us to improve. We are constantly refurbishing our rooms and room 102 is on the to-do list. I am sorry we have not met your expectations on this occasion but would love for you to give us chance to wow you. Thank you for choosing the crown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2017 via mobile

Booked on line late afternoon rather than travel home from 'car viewings' the Crown was great value. Lots of car parking was a must as did not want to leave car 'on street' and although quite busy parking was always available. First thoughts on approach, reception and central area were 'decoration a little tired' and found to be a bit cold. Staff were pleasant in all areas, bar food was good, breakfast also. Service in both was good. Gem though was the bedroom which was spotlessly clean, with a 'shiny' bathroom and fully worth the price. Definitely worth considering.

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Yalem55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robandamy30, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2017

Hi thank you for your kind review.
I am so pleased you enjoyed you stay with us and the team are delighted with your comments. Thank you for choosing the crown and we welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2017 via mobile

Worth the money we paid."

Hotel looks a little bit scruffy from the outside, could do with a lick of paint , when you go in reception it looks a little dated but we were pleasantly surprised when we got to our room , bathroom looked brand new, like it had just been done it was lovely, bedroom was clean with nice furniture, TV , kettle etc
We didn't have breakfast here as most cafes were cheaper than hotel.
It is quite a walk to the centre but we just took the car and parked nearer so it wasn't a problem.

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank elsie22Newcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robandamy30, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2017

Hi thank you for your kind review.
I am so pleased you enjoyed you stay with us and the team are delighted with your comments. Thank you for choosing the crown and we welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews