We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Carvery”
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Skegness
Ingoldmells
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sunday Carvery”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Sunday carvery started today and it was excellent value. Food great and staff very friendly. Also enjoyed a couple of bar meals last week and they vary the menu daily which gives an excellent choice during the week.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rs2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William H, General Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed our carvery on Sunday. This is available every Sunday between 12noon and 2.30pm so we hope you will visit us again soon
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    65
    53
    14
    18
See reviews for
73
102
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birstall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We have just returned from a weekend visit to this hotel .We have stayed there for the past few years. The new owners offer very friendly and excellent service , there was a superbe choice of breakfasts and the value of the evening meals 2 for £10 were also excellent. All the staff were very helpful and friendly would recommend this hotel to anyone. Gill M. Birstall.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William H, General Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

We booked this last minute as we were visiting family, when we arrived we were told that the kitchen is having an emergency refit therefore no food will be served, but was told there was plenty of restaurants close by. We did state we wish we were told this on booking as there are also plenty of hotels close by that could cater for our needs. As we also have a toddler we were looking for somewhere to eat and sleep. On the 3Rd night we actually found out that food was being served just limited food, which would have suited us. Throughout our 5 day stay the only house keeping that was done was a new supply of uht milk, no change of bed sheets, no toilet roll, no clean towels. In the end I had to go to reception to ask for clean bedding, towels and for the bathroom floor to be cleaned. There was also no wifi in our room. The tv kept loosing signal every few minutes for a couple of hours. The beds squeezed Everytime you moved. The hotel is getting a refit and this is badly needed. Wallpaper was coming away from the walls, pink bath suite, the bathroom Window would not open and it didn't have an extractor fan in either. Due to an unforeseeable event we did have to extend our stay for one night and maybe in hindsight it would have been better idea to have slept on a relatives floor for the night. Though it is in a nice area close to amenities but far enough not to be in the middle of it all. Sadly we won't be returning.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank emz801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William H, General Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased that you brought the items of concern to our attention as these were then dealt with quickly and efficiently. As mentioned, our hotel is currently updating our services and facilities and as new owners, since last October, we are keen to complete the refurbishment. We were pleased to be able to accommodate you for the extra night, at short notice, and I understand that a you accepted our offer of compensation for the inconvenience caused. We sincerely hope you will reconsider staying with us again in the future.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

basic, old fashioned bedroom furniture, but clean and comfortable, no hi tech TV in room but only stayed for one night so wasn't an issue for us. would stay again, good parking although a fair walk to town centre.

Room Tip: our room was 114 which was a good size with a large window with a view over a flat roof with the gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeb15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William H, General Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us and hope you will return again soon. We are continually upgrading our service and facilities so your comments are very helpful to us. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hetton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Lucky enough to have found a real gem in this hotel. Comfortable rooms that ok, need a lick of paint and a few touches here and there but these new owners are really creating something special here. Breakfast was amazing and evening meals at 2 for £10 were superb. Special mention to the staff, particularly Kev who made that bar area feel like your own home - lovely warm ambience. If you're in the area, make sure to stay here. It's in a lovely quiet location with easy access to the beach and a short walk to the town centre.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William H, General Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for you review, your comments are appreciated and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Nice location with extremely pleasant staff, excellent value for money, bed and bedding new, lovely shower over the bath, bedroom needed lick of paint but I am sure that will be done soon. Bar area very pleasant with good value for money food offering.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William H, General Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for your recent review, your comments have been passed onto the team. We are continually upgrading our rooms and facilities and hopefully you will return soon to see the changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stayed last night at the Crown Hotel there was 4 of us traveling and we were booked into rooms 102 & 103 both rooms were twin rooms my wife and I were in 102 the inlaws were next door in room 103 they slept very well we however had the worst night ever spent in a hotel room 101 was a family room and we had to put up with kids screaming and crying for most of the night the rest of the night was disturbed by the single bed the wife was in, it didn't matter how carefully she moved in bed the bed squeaked and rattled so loud there was no chance of any sleep, if anyone is planning to stay for the night refuse room 102 and sleep in the car park instead

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank picko1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William H, General Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for your recent review. We have noted your comments and passed them on to the relevant departments. We apologise for your uncomfortable nights sleep but hope that you may stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skegness hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Vine Hotel
Best Western Vine Hotel
#6 of 26 in Skegness
501 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#8 of 26 in Skegness
273 reviews
1.8 mi away
North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Eastleigh
The Eastleigh
#3 of 26 in Skegness
459 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#10 of 26 in Skegness
569 reviews
2.2 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Property: The Crown Hotel
Address: Drummond Road, Skegness PE25 3AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crown Hotel Skegness which has recently undergone a change of ownership. With our friendly staff and of course a great hotel, you'll always find a welcome at the Crown!At the Crown Hotel guests comfort and well-being is assured by the friendly team and hand picked staff who run the hotel with a discreet efficiency that is seldom seen these days.We have 20 comfortably furnished rooms each with en-suite appointments, tea and coffee making facilities,telephone & WI-FI throughout. Fax facilities are available for business guests. There is a lift to all floors & disabled persons are catered for with ramps at all main entrances as well as to the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Skegness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing