We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended - 'home from home'”
Review of Kildare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kildare Hotel
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Skegness
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Highly recommended - 'home from home'”
Reviewed August 12, 2009

As soon as we arrived at the Kildare Hotel and greeted by Joyce, we knew that we were going to enjoy our stay. She made us feel so welcome and told us to take a seat in the lounge and to relax, as we were now on holiday. We were made to feel completely at home immediately and she sat chatting to us about meal times, choice of menus etc. Although we were quite early arriving, Joyce explained that as our room was ready, that was not a problem and we were taken to our room soon after our arrival. Our room was a double en-suite, which was very clean and comfortable.
The Kildare Hotel is ideally situated in a quiet avenue, whilst only being about five minutes walk away from all the amenities. We stayed for one week and had booked for bed, breakfast and evening meal. Every day, we enjoyed tasty, piping hot, wholesome food. There was not one meal which we could find fault with (thanks Ray).
Both Joyce and Ray had a very good sense of humour, which added to the enjoyment of our stay. We would have no hesitation whatsoever in returning in the future, and will most certainly recommend the Kildare Hotel to all our friends and family.
Everyone who stays in this hotel is guaranteed to feel like part of the family by the time they leave, and apparently guests return year after year because of their hospitality.
Thank you Joyce and Ray for a most enjoyable week.

Carol & Bill (Nottingham)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heathfieldNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    17
    0
    3
    3
See reviews for
44
203
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2009

From the warm greeting from Ray when we arrived to the day to the day we left everything was just perfect. Joyce and Ray know how to welcome people into their family home and help them feel at home, making their stay in Skegness all that more enjoyable. The food was delicious and the room was spotless. We could not ask for more. We feel that Joyce and Ray are not just hoteliers to us but friend's. We will certainly recommend The Kildare to people in the future. And we will certainly be making this our Skegness holiday home.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sarandsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2009

reccomended, fantastic couple who run it, lovely rooms, and if you like good breakfast especially extra tomatoes which i do, then here is the place to be..

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soulguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2009

hi joyce and ray really enjoyed hower stay with you both your hotel is like home to home very clean and tidy and good homemade food and nothing to much trouble for you both ( only me) will see u both again soon. well recommend to anyone staying at skegness .love kath / joan x

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reannadebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2009

Stayed at the Kildare in June with my wife who is pregnant. The owners were really thoughtful and had saved us a choice of two rooms to make sure we were comfortable. Really hot and lovely breakfast, cooked fresh and was able to choose what we wanted. Did not use it but the hotel has a lovely patio area for people to relax in. The hotel is close enough, but far enough away from the front to be peaceful and ideally located. We both had a great time and thanks for all the help. Steve & Jo

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppy1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2009

Just had a weeks stay with Ray and Joyce at the Kildare. Guest accomodation at its BEST
Clean to a fault. Lovely outdoor patio area. Rays quality homely style cooking not to be missed. Quiet cheerful relaxed atmosphere. A real home from home treat for us both. Will give them the first call when we go again and hope there is a vacancy.
TERRY AND JEAN LINCOLN

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eltelLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2009

Thanks to the Information Centre at Skegness we found this accommodation. It was in a quiet location; easy walking distance to shops & beach; owners Joyce & Ray very hospitable; enjoyable home cooked food - including evening meals if required; some off street parking. (Bill & Heather - Brisbane, Australia)

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrizQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skegness hotels
0.4 mi away
The Eastleigh
The Eastleigh
#3 of 26 in Skegness
459 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Vine Hotel
Best Western Vine Hotel
#6 of 26 in Skegness
502 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#7 of 26 in Skegness
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Quorn Hotel
The Quorn Hotel
#2 of 26 in Skegness
229 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 26 in Skegness
250 reviews
0.5 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#4 of 26 in Skegness
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kildare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kildare Hotel

Property: Kildare Hotel
Address: 80 Sandbeck Avenue, Skegness PE25 3JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Skegness
#2 Best Value Hotel in Skegness
#3 Family Hotel in Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kildare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kildare is a 10 bedrooms hotel situated in a quiet part of Skegness yet only minutes away from the hustle and bustle of the resort. We are a 3 star hotel and also awarded a 3 star excellent for food hygiene. We put a lot of emphasis on service, cleanliness, hospitality and home cooked food using only local produce If its a 1night break or 1week break A warm welcome always awaits our guests where your holiday is our business. We now also have a dedicated facebook page. Back by popular demand the Kildare will be open for Christmas 2016 please get in contact for more info ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kildare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kildare Hotel Skegness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing