We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Joyce and Ray provided perfect hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kildare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kildare Hotel
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Skegness
Certificate of Excellence
Dinnet, Aberdeenshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Joyce and Ray provided perfect hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2009

My wife and I own a caravan at Butlins and decided to come down from north east Scotland for my wife's 40th and mum's joint **th birthdays. As luck would have it, I had booked out the caravan already and so we set about choosing one of the hundreds of hotels and b + b's Skegness has to offer. Well, as a Police officer, first impressions have to be good, and checking out other hotel's guests comments compared to the one's on the Kildare's web site left us with an easy option for the place we wanted to stay. One phone call later, and I was talking to Joyce who gave me all the information we needed. Trust me, I deal with various people who talk a lot but don't deliver. What Joyce and I discussed was met on every level. Back to the point. I told my brother about our 850 mile round trip, and he decided to join us at the Kildare as well. He phoned Joyce, she juggled rooms, brothers family (3), us (5), mum and step dad, ten in all. We arrived over the weekend and were greeted by Joyce (Ray was knocking himself out in the kitchen by then!). The booking in was simple, efficient and straight forward. We were shown to our respective rooms. Very very nice indeed. If you need more than what is provided, you must be either very fussy or used to 4 star posh hotels (with extortionate prices to match). We chose from a good menu for the next day's breakfast and then went out for the evening. Our beds were very comortable which gave you a good start to the day without coming down with a sore back. The breakfast was cooked perfectly by Ray. Our youngest is six and her choices were enough to satisfy her. Each day we changed our breakfast simply because we could see what other guests were having and we wanted the same! yep, not disappointed. We even extended our stay for another day as everything was just as we would have done it even if we had run the hotel ourselves. Ray and Joyce are probably two of the nicest people we have had the pleasure to meet on our last seven years summer holidays to Skegness. If you want a good, honest family run comfortable hotel where the rooms are all you could wish for, the menu to be varied and very well cooked, served in a spotlessy clean restaurant, perfect hosts with a 'Can do' attitiude, then come to the Kildare Hotel in Skegness. Lastly, I went to a hotel in Devon years back and their advert read "Come as a guest, leave as a friend", that was not true of that establishment. Although we have our caravan at Butlins, we will, each time we come to visit Skegness, take the time to come and see Ray and Joyce, have dinner one night at the Kildare and remember a very memorable four day break with two very nice genuine people.

Mark, Liz, Sophie and Lexi Devon Robinson (and extended family)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkandLiz9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    17
    0
    3
    2
See reviews for
42
197
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LINCOLNSHIRE
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2009

The Kildare hotel is perhaps the cleanest and best hotel we have stayed at in Skegness.The food was excellent and the service was very good, we would recommend the Kildare hotel to any adults.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUE24-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bradford
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2009

hi ray and joyce.
your hotel was so clean and tidy, brekki was spot on and honesty bar was a great idea.
the room was lovely and the rest too and the garden at the back was a godsend for my girlfriend as she is a smoker.
possibly coming again may sometime.
regards mags and ants
ps thanx for letting mags have a go on your stair lift.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarky43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2009

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, very friendly, Quiet hotel didnt hear a noise at all. The rooms are spacious and clean, off road parking, fantastic breakfast in the morning, very fairly priced.

We have already booked to stop again in October.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyg81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke Bruerne, Northants
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2009

We were well looked after from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. Our room was lovely and warm and had everything we needed. The hotel is close to all amenities without being able to hear the noise when you want to sleep. The friendlyness of the owners (Joyce and Ray) and the lovely food is the best thing about the hotel and there is nothing you can't like.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wentworthtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2009

Superb hotel. Clean and friendly. Located in a quiet road very near the town centre.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mygreattrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skegness hotels
0.4 mi away
The Eastleigh
The Eastleigh
#3 of 26 in Skegness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Vine Hotel
BEST WESTERN Vine Hotel
#5 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#6 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#7 of 26 in Skegness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
1.2 mi away
North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kildare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kildare Hotel

Property: Kildare Hotel
Address: 80 Sandbeck Avenue, Skegness PE25 3JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Skegness
#3 Family Hotel in Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kildare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kildare is a 10 bedrooms hotel situated in a quiet part of Skegness yet only minutes away from the hustle and bustle of the resort. We are a 3 star hotel and also awarded a 3 star excellent for food hygiene. We put a lot of emphasis on service, cleanliness, hospitality and home cooked food using only local produce If its a 1night break or 1week break A warm welcome always awaits our guests where your holiday is our business. We now also have a dedicated facebook page. Back by popular demand the Kildare will be open for Christmas 2016 please get in contact for more info ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kildare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kildare Hotel Skegness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing