We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Skegness
lincoln
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Was a pleasant and comfortable stay good value staf all very pleasent and helpful just a short 1 night stay willcertainly stay there if we go too the embassey theatre again we called into the bar and had a nightcap befoe we retired for the evening and bar staff were very freindly even though it was late

Room Tip: Room 206 on the ground floor very quite just a 1night stay but was good value and pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LincolnPenguinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    183
    104
    39
    35
See reviews for
127
241
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

I really don't understand how anyone can write a bad review about the Royal.
We were there from the 4th to 7th October we took 47 people from all over the country which we do twice a year and each time we have been the staff are excellent and so friendly the rooms are spotless the food is totally fantastic and we all have a great time.
The hotel is so good that we have booked for both 2014 and 2015.
We have never been in a place where the staff make you feel like part of the family the way the staff at the Royal do.
Well done to you all . your the best!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Would not recommend this hotel not worth the money! breakfast is a buffet but hardly anything there. When we went in to our room from checking in the toilet was broken didn't flush and the hair dryer doesn't work and to borrow one from reception it's £5. Also my girlfriend cut her hand open on the glass table as it had a chipped end! In the room on the floor there was tablets from the person who was in the room the night before! The bed is not a double it's 2 singles pushed together very hard and uncomfortable. We payed £128 for 2 night poor value for money we had to eat out for breakfast both mornings. Definitely wouldn't stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chantellevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We checked in to the Royal because our B&B was pretty awful and we needed a good nights sleep. The hotel was dog friendly and the room was large and overlooked the gardens,We ate there two nights first night at The Viceroy which had an excellent limited menu which was excellent value for money,and a choice of six house wines at £12.50 per bottle. The second night we ate at the Bollywood restaurant which was good Indian food, and excellent value for money with the same six house wines. Both restaurants were just down the corridor from Reception. The whole experience was comfortable, clean, spacious ,good staff service, and excellent value for money. Would recomend it to anyone.

Room Tip: A room at the back overlooking garden and sea is probably the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 61John6261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Had to visit a relative in Skeg at short notice so needed somewhere to stay ,so after a quick look on laterooms came up with this hotel , bed and breakfast for my wife and I for £38.00 , that will do we thought and booked it . When we pulled up we were impressed to say the least and when we ventured inside we were begining to thing we were in the wrong place , equally impressive in the reception area , so we checked in and headed to our room which was also nice , clean warm and well appointed , the bed was massive and very comfortable and we had a good , quite nights sleep . Breakfast was serve yourself buffet style with tea or coffee brought to your table upon request , and was very nice and you could have had as much as you wanted . We would deffo return here and cannot fault what we got for the money .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester UK
Level Contributor
357 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Spent a few days here to explore Lincolnshire. Hotel is well situated, warm and comfortable. Decent breakfast buffet and good choice for 3 course included evening meals. Room was clean and comfortable and public areas well maintained. Overall- very good.

Room Tip: Look for advertised deals of 3 or 4 days stay @ £99-£129 range
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

ive just had a stag weekend here with 12 mates all off us had a great time clean tidy good food and friendly staff .great bar area we had the cheapest rooms being on stag night but still good value for money well recommened the best ive been in Skegness.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adam nathan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skegness hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Vine Hotel
BEST WESTERN Vine Hotel
#3 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.8 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#6 of 26 in Skegness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
2.0 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
0.3 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#7 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: South Parade, Skegness PE25 3EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Renaissance Hotel is a lovingly restored elegant Victorian Hotel situated within it's own grounds in Skegness, Lincolnshire, with spectacular landscaped gardens and breathtaking sea views. A private family run hotel with caring and professional service from the moment you arrive, ensuring that you will visit Skegness and The Royal Renaissance Hotel time and time again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Skegness
Royal Hotel Skegness
Skegness Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing