We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a bargain price”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Skegness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Had to visit a relative in Skeg at short notice so needed somewhere to stay ,so after a quick look on laterooms came up with this hotel , bed and breakfast for my wife and I for £38.00 , that will do we thought and booked it . When we pulled up we were impressed to say the least and when we ventured inside we were begining to thing we were in the wrong place , equally impressive in the reception area , so we checked in and headed to our room which was also nice , clean warm and well appointed , the bed was massive and very comfortable and we had a good , quite nights sleep . Breakfast was serve yourself buffet style with tea or coffee brought to your table upon request , and was very nice and you could have had as much as you wanted . We would deffo return here and cannot fault what we got for the money .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (614)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

441 - 447 of 614 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

Spent a few days here to explore Lincolnshire. Hotel is well situated, warm and comfortable. Decent breakfast buffet and good choice for 3 course included evening meals. Room was clean and comfortable and public areas well maintained. Overall- very good.

Room Tip: Look for advertised deals of 3 or 4 days stay @ £99-£129 range
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

ive just had a stag weekend here with 12 mates all off us had a great time clean tidy good food and friendly staff .great bar area we had the cheapest rooms being on stag night but still good value for money well recommened the best ive been in Skegness.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adam nathan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My wife and myself recently had a five day holiday at this hotel.
We had gone on a coach holiday to Skegness because we couldn't get a flight to somewhere abroad. ( Very last minute ) Firstly,the coach and driver were great,the weather was fine,nice and sunny and warm,then we arrived at this lovely Victorian hotel.It was very welcoming.The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was on ground level and was a comfortable size.It was clean and tidy and very pleasant.We both thought that the food was very good and you could eat as much breakfast as you wanted.All in all we had a great holiday in an English seaside town in a very pleasant Hotel. I would recommend it!

Room Tip: Remember what good holidays you've had in the UK and if possible get a sea veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Had a Weekend break in the royal hotel in skegness, the hotel was fine clean and the staff were friendly. We had a sea view room , plenty big enough for two people. Good car park and just off the husle busle of the seafront , there is an indian resturant in house so we made full use of that which was ok, saved us searching for a resturant. Breakfast was ok but limited choice.would defo stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theBrynster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have been to the hotel 5 times now. It is a lovely hotel with good room furnishings. The food is exceptional. Were went on a special deal which was great value. Would go again although probably only on a special deal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Very impressed with this hotel. It is in a very quiet location about 10 mins stroll from town centre but a bit far for the very infirm. The rooms have the latest flat screen TVs with all the digital channels. Single room had enough space apart from the miniscule bathroom so you had to step into the room to dry yourself, but a very large bath towel was a bonus. My only gripe was that the hotel allows dogs which were no problem at all, but my room was left with a wet dog smell if shut up. As it was hot the window could be left open 24/7
The food was excellent and we found the portions were too large for us but it was all good. Very adequate buffet breakfast and staff were good in all areas.
There is a very large lounge area with heaps of seating which was really nice. Décor very ornate with lots of chandeliers etc. There are a few local shops near the front entrance and the back entrance leads into the cul-de-sac for a nice walk into town.
The entertainment was hit and miss. One singer was dreadful, one was passable and the one we had on a Thursday night was absolutely excellent and should be on TV!
Highly recommend and plenty of parking if you travel by car.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the entertainment would be quieter but it finishes about 10.30 anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Django4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skegness hotels
1.3 mi away
North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
0.4 mi away
Best Western Vine Hotel
Best Western Vine Hotel
#6 of 25 in Skegness
551 reviews
2 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#7 of 25 in Skegness
307 reviews
0.8 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#3 of 25 in Skegness
485 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#11 of 25 in Skegness
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: South Parade, Skegness PE25 3EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Skegness
Price Range: $65 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Renaissance Hotel is a lovingly restored elegant Victorian Hotel situated within it's own grounds in Skegness, Lincolnshire, with spectacular landscaped gardens and breathtaking sea views. A private family run hotel with caring and professional service from the moment you arrive, ensuring that you will visit Skegness and The Royal Renaissance Hotel time and time again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Skegness
Royal Hotel Skegness
Skegness Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing