We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Ivernia Hotel(Skegness)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Carlton B&B(Skegness)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Kildare Hotel(Skegness)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Links Hotel(Skegness)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Eastleigh(Skegness)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (634)
Filter reviews
634 results
Traveler rating
212
217
118
47
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
212
217
118
47
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbuffet breakfastsingle roomsea viewcoach tripsunday carverysouth paradelovely hotelfamily roomone night staybar pricestown centrelovely roomgood nights sleepclock towerweekend breakmy partnersea front
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
484 - 489 of 634 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Wasn't too sure what to expect after reading other peoples reviews, but cannot complain at all. The room was more than adequate, clean and comfortable, with a really large bathroom. The breakfast was buffet style and of a high standard. The main restaurant offers excellent food at a really reasonable price. We were there for a family gathering and were really pleased with the whole experience. It was also our first time in Skegness and loved the town. It's a gem of a place and we will certainly be paying a return visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We booked a weekend in march for 60 pounds per night without breakfast. When checking in we were allocated room 103 which was the underground floor. We tried to connect to Internet with no avail. Enquired at reception and given a sheet with 3 logins, none worked. We were told to use the bar area to login but the signal was lax and I didn't want to use it here.

The room was fine but as stated before, the tv is at a slant, we had 2 singles pushed together and we had no hair dryer. They also don't offer any room service, which usually doesn't bother me but if u wanted something in the comfort of your room, you can't. We could hear everything next door and walls were thin.

Overall not a great weekend for us as we wanted to use the iPad in the room to use sky movies and check emails. Reception weren't too discreet about issues and the hotel wasn't great for the price.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tinkerbelle85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

we had booked a caravan holiday but due to the weather being so cold we decided to stay at the royal hotel skegness on spec. we enjoyed our stay so much it was initially only for the weekend stayed and extra 4 nights. the staff we really friendly nothing was to much trouble for them. the meals were exellent plenty to eat. we also sampled the exellant indian resturant attached to the hotel well worth a visit. we enjoyed ourselfs so much have booked a week in july and another in sept really looking forward o our stay again

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank premierebill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the hotel on 24/03/13. We were in room 201 which is downstairs and round the back. we were not concerned with the view so this was not an issue. We entered the room and were greeted with flat screen tv on the wall. Unfortunately the bed was not facing the tv so to watch it was not easy without getting a crick in your neck. The bed was 2 singles pushed together, and unfortunately you could feel the join.The headboard on each bed was from the 70`s. There was only 1 bedside light so if 1 person wants to read they have to be on a particular side of the bed. There was also no hairdryer in the room which is pretty standard these days. Finally there was an air conditioning unit outside our room which was on all night. The breakfast was a buffet style.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve110269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

we opted to stay her for one night as we had to return to the area to view potetial houses to buy and we had to bring our elderly dog with us .. this was not a problem and i rang to make sure so initially .. we were charged £5 for our elderly dog to stay in the room .. as we are both disabled we asked for a ground floor room which was given without any problems .. it was a bit of a hike to it and although on the ground floor it still had 2 steps to get us up to the landing .. so a bit of a walk but ok and u could take in the view of all the various planes/RAF/history of the hotel over the years on yr walk to our room.
The room was basic and unfortunately we only had one bedside table and lamp however the bed was huge and had been put together with 2 very large 3/4beds
tray with ample tea/coffee/milk etc which u went to the bar to replemish without any probs (which we did).
Room was clean and tidy with our own bathroom but was certainly not a disabled room with the shower over the bath (which we didnt use just for one nite stay but would have asked for a more suitable room if we had been staying more than one night)
room was very quite area which overlooked the side garden and as we were the 2nd from last room on the corridor we didnt have any noise outside our rooms of folk going back to theirs at night
Attached to this hotel is a marvously indian restaurant which we have been to on numerous occassions for meals when we have visited skegness and this does not faulter in their presentation and value for money indian meals (they now do a steak nite i think twice a week which u can also have as an alternative to the indian .. but have the indian meals i think we have eaten most of the menu between ourselves and friends and have never had to send a meal back
Breakfast at the hotel was inc . this was a serve yourself breakfast which was ample fruit juice , prunes, grapefruit segments etc ,cereals porridge (to order) then helpyourself to bacon saus (lincolnshire of cos) hash browns proper mushrooms beans tomatoes scramble eggs (poached fried or boiled made to order) and as much toast and jam/marmalade as u can eat again u make it yourself and plenty of hot tea or coffee brought to your table by the staff
cakes, pancakes and other breakfast items also available
all the food was hot were appropriate
we stayed a saturday night and the hotel was not full and for our room it was £52 plus £5 for out dog
well worth it

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carol&Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews