We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldnt want to stay for more than one night...”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Skegness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We booked The Royal having heard a lot about it over the years from family who live locally, so nturally when we needed to visit for a night this was the first hotel we thought of. We made booking a few days before our arrival and on making the boking we were told that they had a coach party arriving that day so they were working out which rooms would be allocated to the party and they would call us back to continue our booking. After a couple of hours this had not happened so we called back, the staff were appologetic and made the booking, we were not given a choice of rooms and were told that our room would be on the lower ground floor, There was no mention of the lower ground floor on the website except in the room prices.
Unfortunately between making the booking and arriving at the hotel i was restricted to using crutches, We assumed that the room would be easily accessible on crutches (only a few steps to negotiate) as the website had mentinned a lift and only 2 steps to access the ground floor rooms. On our arrival the receptionist booked us in and then as she directed us to our room informed us that the was a set of stairs to go down and she hoped i would be ok on the stairs. there was not suggestion of a room change and no appology, if i had known this i would have contacted them ahead and requested a different room but there had been no mention of stairs and we had only been informed of the room location rather than given an option, this left us thinking that this was one of the only rooms left.
Our room was down a whole flight of stairs but i managed as there was no other option, on getting to our room we were greeted with a smell of damp, the room itself was basic, the bed linen was clean and so were the towels provided. The furniture was mismatched and the draws on the bedside tables were all broken. the double bed was in fact two singles pushed together, the headboards were not attached and had been left leaning against the wall, may aswell have not been there!! I soon realised why they had been left there...to cover up the mould marks on the wall behind the bed and the spiders behind the bed.
The room was an ok size, it fited in the bed(s), two bedside tables, a chest of draws and a wardrobe, however there wasn't anywhere to put our case and bags and no chair which would have been greatly received having struggled down the stairs!!
The bathroom was small but had everything in it, again there were mould and marks on the celing where there had obviously been a leak. the shower leaked water onto the floor when in use but wasa strong shower.
The view from our room and bathroom was that of a wall and air conditioning unit, and every now and then staff would walk past or stand and chat outside, this was discovered whilst using the toilet, embarrassing! Due to the damp smell we had the window open during the time we spent in the room but this did not help as we often got the smell of the hotel drains coming in!! Needless to say we spent very little time in the room.
The reception and bar were fine, the money seems to have been invested in these rooms, the staff were good but were run off their feet...during our stay the receptionist was working the reception AND the bar on her own.
We had a meal in the Bollywood bar and grill, the meal was delicious and the staff were very attentive, the price was also reasonable but the furniture could do with some TLC or just some stain remover!
All in all, not an ideal night away but the hotel served it purpose, a bed for the night.
The hotel has so much potential, its a lovely building in an ideal location in Skegness, its just very dated and run down. I wont be returning in a rush!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sammy_P85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (601)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

528 - 534 of 601 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2011

A great location, with a good free car park. Double room, really was the size of a single and we were quite squashed in, this made it much less relaxing. But the view was nice and it was clean. Bathroom tiny, but clean, cheap toiletires in tiny sachets. Check out time on a Sunday was 10:30 am and this is poor. Even in London hotels check out is midday, and with most they will let you have til 1pm without charge. Oh no, not in Skeggy we were told we could have until 11am free, but would need to pay extra to check out at midday. When midday is the usual time in the rest of the nation for a check out, this seems a poor show and not relaxing for a weekend away - oh and we do expect hairdriers in each room please. The bar was not very well staffed either and we had to wait ages for a drink, on a Saturday night you expect a bit better.

Room Tip: take your own hairdrier and alarm clock if you son't want to pay for a later check out,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farfromhomeReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

The hotel itself is nice but we booked a family room for two adults, one child and cot space. The room was the size of a double room with a single bed placed in it. The cot space was at the end of the bed which meant the only means to get to the bathroom or to leave the room was to climb over the double bed. Very disappointing for the cost of this room. Not suitable for families

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrs88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

If you want a Bed and Breakfast that looks like a hotel with a curry restaurant and a big bar stay here. Good value for the family who want a Skeggy break......dont go there if you are a business traveller...staff are great, rooms are basic and you can meet most of Nottingham in the bar. Not much more to say..interesting RAF hstorical bits.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melmoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Have stayed at the hotel many many times over the past few years, and always enjoy coming back to it, but it is getting ready for some investment, the leather corner suite in the colonial bar has been ripped, the cushions have seen better days, tables are badly marked and stained, tables in the dinning room are showing alot of wear, it's lost it's sense of opulensce. Breakfast was good, always has been, and staff will always fetch anything that's not on the buffet, we ate out at night at Steak and Stuff, prob the best meal inSkegness if you want to get away from the hotel. The staff are always what makes this hotel, they really are great. The bedrooms vary depending on where you are situated, i tend to upgrade and have a double for sole use. The rooms over looking the sea are nice esp if you've got a balcony. Yes you do get noise during the night, and there are functions, weddings etc that can cause you a poor nights sleep, but all in all it's still a good place to stay in Skegvegas!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldbag58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

The hotel was nice, great location, rooms very clean and the breakfast was really nice but we didnt sleep very well. We were woken on several occasions by noisy people coming in from their night on the town. The rooms are a good size but due to the age of the building are very hollow so the noise travels easily. Hearing people shouting at 2am obviously drunk is not what we needed with a 14 month old little boy. Also a lack of good thick pillows was a factor in the poor nights sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Burtie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

The location is good - far enough out of the centre to avoid the craziness but within easy walking distance to the centre. The location is peaceful, set near gardens with a sea view in the distance. The lobby and hotel decor is stylish but in an old style, not dated though!

The staff on reception are organised and efficient, informing us of all essential information.

Our room was spacious with an individual style compared to other hotels.

There are two restaurants; one with Indian cuisine and the other with English. We dined in the English cuisine restaurant and we were very surprised by the high quality of the food. The menu choices were creative and the food was presented imaginatively. It was delicious. We were very happy with all aspects and know we would have struggled to find any other restaurant of a similar quality in the town centre.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Skegness wanting to escape the tackiness for a while!

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JackLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skegness hotels
0.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#11 of 25 in Skegness
271 reviews
2.0 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
0.4 mi away
Best Western Vine Hotel
Best Western Vine Hotel
#7 of 25 in Skegness
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#4 of 25 in Skegness
474 reviews
1.3 mi away
North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
0.3 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#5 of 25 in Skegness
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: South Parade, Skegness PE25 3EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Skegness
Price Range: $69 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Renaissance Hotel is a lovingly restored elegant Victorian Hotel situated within it's own grounds in Skegness, Lincolnshire, with spectacular landscaped gardens and breathtaking sea views. A private family run hotel with caring and professional service from the moment you arrive, ensuring that you will visit Skegness and The Royal Renaissance Hotel time and time again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Skegness
Royal Hotel Skegness
Skegness Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing