We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would recommend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
County Hotel
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Skegness
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Would recommend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stayed here for a weekend with my grandson. Could not fault the staff or the service. I arrived early and was given a parking permit, so went and did some sightseeing! (was told on leaving I could leave the car parked all day if I wanted to). The room was large enough, very clean and a very comfortable bed. Was good to have both a bath and shower over, the only toiletries were 2 small bars of soap. I found the hotel to be very clean, the room could do with being redecorated - but nothing too serious. The only thing I was not keen on was the full English, which was not great quality or quantity, however on the 2nd morning I opted for scrambled eggs and toast which was much better. My grandson absolutely loved it, especially being able to look out of the window and see the sea and the occasional ship, he thinks I can take him back every weekend. Overall it was a lovely weekend away, I would definitely return if I was ever to return to Skegness.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank izzy96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your weekend at our Hotel.

I am so pleased to know you and your grandson enjoyed your stay and delighted you would recommend us to others.

We are aware we have a few rooms which are due for redecoration and following your comments we will look at addressing the décor in that particular room. We will also pass on your comments to the General Manager regarding breakfast as this is most unusual.

I am delighted that the hospitality shown by our team was well received and we welcome an opportunity to accommodate you and your grandson on a future weekend away.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    138
    38
    7
    18
See reviews for
84
161
27
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birchip Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

Visiting UK from Australia we had recommended to us The County Hotel, what a super place. Clean,tidy and very large rooms, good internet in the bar,excellent food nothing too much trouble to the staff,excellent views from room,great car parking what more can i say most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dieselfish43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for your review following your stay at our Hotel.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and trust we contributed towards a memorable trip of the UK.

The Hotel boasts some charming original art deco features with some generously proportioned rooms and I am very pleased our team looked after you well.

Many thanks for taking the time to post and share your experience of our property and perhaps we will welcome you back next time you are on your travels.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Our first visit this year, every thing perfect, transformed dinning room, great pictures and prints really improves the over all look. Ross always gives a great welcome and the staff treat you like old friends. The rooms have new bed linen and covers plus big white fluffy towels(look out lenny henry) If you want good food and nice clean room look no farther the county is the place.

Room Tip: ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babycham13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Many thanks for sharing your experience of The County Hotel.

Ross will be very happy to know the improvements that have been made are well received. You are always assured of a warm welcome and personal attention by our experienced and dedicated team and truly delighted you consider us a ‘favourite’

Thank you again for your kind review and we hope to see you in the very near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Had a four day Mystery Tour with Sunrise Direct that took us to Skegness and this very comfortable hotel . Food was excellent , room clean , well equipped and with a very comfy bed :) The staff made us feel really welcome and I felt like a returning guest rather than a stranger . Will make every effort to return under my own steam for another stay .

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at our Hotel.

I am delighted you enjoyed the hospitality shown at The County by Ross and his team.

Ross the General Manager will be very pleased to know you would consider returning in the future and please do contact the Hotel direct to ensure you don’t miss out on any special offers.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our Hotel and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Level Contributor
344 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

Stayed here whilst working in the area.
I emailed the hotel to enquire about an early breakfast & facilities/rates, & received a really pleasant reply from Ross - the Manager.
Stayed there for a week on a really good rate & everything was good; rooms appeared rather dated but everything worked well & was spotless.
We stayed on a D,B&B basis & Ross was up each morning to serve us our early breakfast; dinner was very traditional & always very tasty & well served by... Ross.
Wi-fi in my room was a bit patchy, but Ross had already told me it wasn't guaranteed so I got what I expected.
Free car parking was a real bonus as was the proximity of the hotel to everything else in Skegness.
Without Ross the hotel would still be okay, but he really goes out of his way to make sure everyone is happy, which has made me rate the hotel as Excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonny-Northerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for your review following your stay at The County Hotel, Skegness.

It’s good to hear you had an enjoyable stay and found your accommodation comfortable. Ross and his team are dedicated to offering good levels of hospitality and I am delighted you were well looked after.

Many thanks for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

When we arrived the guy behind reception Ross told us we had a family room, which was a double bed and 2 singles,huge bathroom ,towels, kettle n tea/coffee ,tv and a hairdryer. The room had a sea view and lots of radiators , lights and heater. Very impressed with everything especially for the price! 20pppn!!
He gave us free breakfast for both mornings we were there too as "a thankyou for using booking . Com" !! Was really nice!!! :)
Such friendly staff offered us everything for breakfast and couldnt do enough for us in general.
Even looked after our luggage on our last day so we could enjoy skegness properly :) brilliant! And we will be returning!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at The County Hotel, Skegness.

I am delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay and the hospitality shown by Ross and his team of staff at the Hotel.

Pleased you felt you received good value for money and would always suggest for future bookings that you consider contacting the Hotel direct to check for any special offers.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience and we will ensure the team keep up the good work! Look forward to seeing you next time.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed over night at this hotel and found the manager Ross and his staff to be welcoming and friendly. Hotel was good value for money and spotlessly clean. Ross went out of his way to ensure that every thing was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mitch523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at our Hotel.

I am very pleased you had a nice stay and that you were well looked after by Ross and his team.

Thank you again for sharing your experience of your stay at The County and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skegness hotels
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Vine Hotel
BEST WESTERN Vine Hotel
#3 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.6 mi away
North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
1.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#10 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Eastleigh
The Eastleigh
#2 of 26 in Skegness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kildare Hotel
Kildare Hotel
#1 of 26 in Skegness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Hotel

Property: County Hotel
Address: North Parade, Skegness PE25 2UB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — County Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing