We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfiest Bed Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Skegness
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Basic room with bathroom, tea making facilities. Bed was so comfortable. really cheap. I arrived early (12 ish) and room wasn't available to enter, but they provided me with my key as I wasn't returning til late.
Excellent Value for money

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mikeyp102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William H, General Manager at North Shore Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Thank you for your comments,and
am delighted you had an enjoyable stay.
Hoping you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (546)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 546 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014

We had 2 night here, as a break to visit a relative. We aren't golfers, but never the less, enjoyed both the hotel, and the golfing community!. We ate in the bar, and commented on how great the food was. Good food, well cooked, at a good price. We had a late breakfast in the bar on day one, and an early breakfast in the restaurant on day two. Both were excellent. The bar staff, and the restaurant staff were friendly, and nothing was too much trouble. The room was clean, bright and comfortable. The bathroom with walk in shower was also spotless. Near enough to enjoy Skegness, far enough away from the 'late night' noise, (if like us we didn't want).We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jacqueleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William H, General Manager at North Shore Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, and have
passed your comments onto the Team.
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed here half a dozen times on golf weeks, back in 2001 the hotel was buzzing and the golf course tough but fair. Both have gone down hill since. My room this time was like a cell....a noisy cell due to the generator outside my window which rendered sleep difficult and impossible if I opened the window. The weather was glorious so I stewed in discomfort because reception said nothing could be done, I checked out a day early.
The course has had a few alterations over the years, some good some not, but this year the greens had several types of growth which made them play very strangely, OK for a knock a bout but not for a serious game.
Couldn't really fault the food, one iffy starter but good mains and sweets. Bar snacks are good value but the drinks extortionate.
Best Western are in the process of upgrading the place, in some areas they've gone backwards, they need to brighten it up and put A/C units in the rooms......quiet ones please!

Room Tip: Complain if you shower is useless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William H, General Manager at North Shore Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

I was sorry to see we were unable to meet
your expectations relative to your room.
It is always our policy to offer an alternative,
but at this time, was unable to do so for you.
All Best Western Hotels are privately owned,
so will always differ in style and decor.
We have only received praise for the condition
of the course over the past year. The PGA are
hosting a golfing event here in August, and are
very pleased with the way the course is playing.
I hope you will return and give an opportunity
to wow you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Called here for lunch. Lovely surroundings and welcoming polite and helpful staff. Clean and bright split level bar area with great views over the golf course. We sat in the attached conservatory but there is also an outdoor seating area. Lunch for two with coffee very reasonable at £16 and the food was delicious. Large car park and relaxed atmosphere. Will certainly visit again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank POPLARFARM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William H, General Manager at North Shore Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Many thanks for your review, and was delighted
to see you had an enjoyable lunch.
Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The hotel is set in nice grounds in a quiet area of Skegness.
My room was alright, but what let it down was the cleanliness of the bathroom; it did not appear that that it had been cleaned since the previous occupants. There were various hairs round the bathroom including in the bath, which I removed myself. I informed the man at the front desk that the room wasn’t very clean and he said that he would send someone up to clean it but it looked exactly the same when I returned.
On a positive note the breakfasts were nice and I liked the fact that there was a choice of cooked breakfasts. The breakfast assistants Eliot and Jo were very hard-working and did an excellent job, especially when there was a group of diners being rude and obnoxious towards Eliot one morning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DerbyshireLorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William H, General Manager at North Shore Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Thank you for your response, and can only apologise for the issues you had
during your recent stay with us. I can assure you the matter has been dealt
with with the Team member concerned.
I am also pleased to see you were otherwise looked after.
Hope you will return to us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Fabulous Sunday lunch! Could not fault one thing. Comfortable and welcoming bar area before the meal, plus enjoyed watching the golfers obviously having a good time -friendly staff - fantastic service ! 10 in our party enjoyed the afternoon and we would all recommend a visit.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank MOsulliva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William H, General Manager at North Shore Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, and will
certainly pass your comments onto the
Team.
I look forward to welcoming you back to
North Shore soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I've stopped hear a few times. In the last few years on golf trips and I have to say it is top notch, very friendly place staff and and the golf members are great, the course this year is a proper good challenge, tough, but fair, food is fantastic Resteraunt and bar snacks,BUT this years trip was spoilt by AMY the rude and over powering bar supervisor ( as she told us ) rude to staff and customers alike. Hope she's gone by next year, good work north shore be back soon

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattyboy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William H, General Manager at North Shore Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thank you for your review, and am pleased you enjoyed your stay.
I was disappointed to see you had a bad experience with one of
my staff. I will certainly look into this and immediately address
the situation.
Look forward to seeing you on your return next time.
Thank you for your continued support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skegness hotels
1.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#11 of 25 in Skegness
283 reviews
1.6 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
1.7 mi away
Best Western Vine Hotel
Best Western Vine Hotel
#6 of 25 in Skegness
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#9 of 25 in Skegness
614 reviews
0.6 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#3 of 25 in Skegness
485 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#7 of 25 in Skegness
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Shore Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Shore Hotel and Golf Club

Address: North Shore Road, Skegness PE25 1DN, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN North Shore Hotel and Golf Club)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Skegness
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Skegness
#8 Romantic Hotel in Skegness
Price Range: $57 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — North Shore Hotel and Golf Club 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on our own James Braid designed 18 hole golf course and next to the beach many of our rooms offer unrivaled views for Skegness. From breakfast in our oak paneled restaurant, lunch in the Braid Bar, a choice of 3 course TDH evening dining or extensive bar menu to the quick nightcap before bed we aim to make your stay with us as enjoyable and relaxing as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your North Shore Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Shore Hotel Course

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing