We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“exceptional service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Skegness
Mansfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“exceptional service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Having come to Skegness to visit family, we chose this hotel as we have all been golfers and like the environment. We were greeted by friendly reception staff who were very efficient and helpful. Tony behind the bar was a cheerful gentleman who advised on drinks well. As a fussy eater, I have often experienced problems in hotel restaurants, certainly not the case at North Shore. Colin, the chef came to the table and offered many alternatives to the set menu and delivered a fabulous meal for my wife, daughter and myself, he even took the time to check that everything was to our complete satisfaction.'. Susanne was attentive throughout service and a lovely , helpful member of staff. Thank you also goes to Bill for his welcoming persona.

Room Tip: Room 106 is lovely and looks out over the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsrobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William H, General Manager at North Shore Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Many thanks for your response following your
stay at the Hotel.
I have passed your remarks onto the Team, and
look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    158
    77
    30
    19
See reviews for
106
181
17
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed at this hotel on the 15th March 2014 and had a very enjoyable stay. The room was a nice size for my wife, son and I and the beds were very comfortable. We had a really nice view of the golf course from our room as well. The bathroom was modern and a good size for a short stay and everything was spotlessly clean.

The hotel is in a very good location next to a quiet beach and just on the outside of the main area of Skegness towards Ingoldmells and there was plenty of free parking on site when we stayed here. We only stayed one night but had a very comfortable nights sleep and found the hotel to be very good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William H, General Manager at North Shore Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for your comments, from which
I am pleased to see you had an enjoyable
stay.
Looking forward to seeing you on your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

We chose the North Shore for my father's 88th birthday because he had been stationed in Skegness for training when he joined the navy in 1943 and because the golf course was one my son had never played. The customer service was second to none - from our welcome at reception, to the bar staff, who appeared to thrive on the demands of several large golfing parties, the restaurant staff, equally comfortable with providing a faultless service despite there being at least four tables of 8 or more eating within 15 minutes of each other and serving a selection of perfectly cooked meals produced by what can only be a very tight team in the kitchen. The head chef took the time to come out and go round each table to ask if were enjoying our dinners which was very much appreciated by all of the diners.

The bedrooms havehad plenty of thought put into them with excellent lighting for those of us needing to apply make up with not so perfect eye sight! and beds that were better than some five star hotels we've stayed in and were one's you really didn't want to get out of. The cleanliness was 5* through out the hotel, well done housekeeping!

Breakfast the next morning lived up to everyone's expectations, with the only the cereal and juice being buffet service and all hot dishes cooked to order. Perfectly cooked poached eggs and mushrooms that had a flavour all of their own was the 'piece de resitance'.

Thank you to all the staff for your kindness and good humour and for making our stay so enjoyable. We cannot wait for another excuse to come and see you all again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spickers53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William H, General Manager at North Shore Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for your review, and have passed on
your comments to the Team.
I look forward to welcoming you back in due
course.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Have visited this venue on several occasions and although I had some reservations when it went into the ownership of Best Western. If anything the hotel is even better than it was and there have been some good refurbishment especially of the rooms. What was nice to see was the number of staff that have been there for some time. I always think it is a good sign that the place is under good management when it is well run by pleasant and efficient staff throughout. I was part of a group of 48 on a 3 night 4 day golfing break. It was well organised by the professional and we were lucky with good weather all week. The food and service in the restaurant were faultless and the staff in there deserve special mention for their friendly and efficient manner in dealing with so many so well especially for the evening meals. We will be returning again next year so I think it speaks for itself.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fletch91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William H, General Manager at North Shore Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
It was apleaseure to have you at North Shore
and thak you for your comments.
Look ing forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Management and staff excellent we had a connection with the Hotel for many months, manager Bill and staff always helped with minor problems which were sorted straight away ... March 15th 2014 We had our wedding ceremony and Naming ceremony for our son followed by the evening reception all our guest were very impressed with the soundings and food the view from the Bridal Suite was beautiful a mix of Golf course and sea views Thank you

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louise c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William H, General Manager at North Shore Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
It was a delight to be part of your special day.
The sun managed to shine, and I am pleased
you and your guests enjoyed the time at North Shore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed here on 14 March for just one night. We found the overall experience very good. The welcome was very warm and we found all the staff very polite and obliging. Because it was a late booking and the hotel was quite full, they put us in the small annexe building - this was deceiving as when we got into the room it was very large! The room was very comfortable especially the bed which was enormous! We had a meal in the bar in the evening and the food was excellent, as was breakfast. All in all although we only stayed for one night we had a thoroughly enjoyable time and would not hesitate to stay there again, and hope to do so in the very near future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barosfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William H, General Manager at North Shore Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for your review, and am delighted you had
an enjoyable stay with us.
I look forward to welcoming you back to North Shore
when you are next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skegness hotels
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Vine Hotel
BEST WESTERN Vine Hotel
#6 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
1.7 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#5 of 26 in Skegness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#7 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#10 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Shore Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Shore Hotel and Golf Club

Property: North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
Address: North Shore Road, Skegness PE25 1DN, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN North Shore Hotel and Golf Club)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Skegness
#9 Romantic Hotel in Skegness
#12 Family Hotel in Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — North Shore Hotel and Golf Club 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on our own James Braid designed 18 hole golf course and next to the beach many of our rooms offer unrivaled views for Skegness. From breakfast in our oak paneled restaurant, lunch in the Braid Bar, a choice of 3 course TDH evening dining or extensive bar menu to the quick nightcap before bed we aim to make your stay with us as enjoyable and relaxing as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your North Shore Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Shore Hotel Course

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing