We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
Review of Ivydene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ivydene Hotel
Ranked #39 of 93 Skegness B&B and Inns
Rosewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed at the Ivydene for 4 nights, a very nice clean hotel situated in a quiet area but within easy walking distance of town centre attractions. Resident hosts Melina and Rob provided an excellent friendly service, either one was always on hand to offer help.Daily clean towels was an added bonus The breakfast choice was excellent and plentiful which set you up for most of the day. The bar was small but provided an excellent selection of spirits at very reasonable prices
Certainly worth staying at and yes we will return

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    16
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
36
32
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Ive stayed at the Ivydene twice now, a few years ago and recently for 1 night on our biking holiday and i definatly would stay there again. It is a lovely hotel with very friendly hosts. The rooms are very clean, i could smell fresh clean bedding as i walked in, the bed was comfortable, we had a really good nights sleep. Bathroom was clean with a spacious shower. It is in a good location close to everything. Breakfast was tasty and plenty of it and a good choice. It has a lovely little bar thats worth a visit. Would like to thank the hosts for letting us store our two cycles in the back yard. Great hotel :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy123321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at Ivydene for a week & throughout my stay found the room (room 5) to be very pleasant, clean & enjoyable, the only downside was that the shower didn't work brilliantly (very low water pressure, shower would suddenly run very hot or very cold without warning). The breakfasts were lovely & filling with a wide variety. I found Rob to be reasonably chatty & friendly but his wife Melina was often very short & unfriendly, it seemed she did not really want to talk to the guests at all! The reason for the poor rating of this review is that on the last day of my holiday an hour prior to having to collect my luggage my youngrst child had an accident & was taken to hospital (obviously I went with him & so communicating with the hotel was left to my mum & husband). My husband & youngest son were left with 10minutes to collect luggage & nowhere to stay-we also do not drive. My mum rang Ivydene & spoke to Melina, explaining the situation & asking if even a single room.was available for my husband & eldest son for one night. Melina said that no rooms were available & when told of my situation simply commented that she wondered why my luggage had not been collected. My husband then went to collect the luggage (3 large heavy cases) & took my eldest with him. At no point did Melina (to either my mum or husband) express any interest or concern for the welfare of my son or wether we had found alternative accomodation, although they did offer to drive my husband somewhere. I feel Melina was quite cold & unsympathetic with regards to what was an incredibly traumatic & stressful situation-a single bed/camp bed was surely available & some concern.for my family's wellbeing/manners would have bern appreciatrd. Otherwise a lovely hotel & breakfasts. The lady who offered us a hotel room.for this night in a different hotel was much friendlier & concerned,.allowing my entire family (4 people) to share her only vacant room (1 double bed) for a very low price.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mummy2350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

My wife and i have just spent 4 nights,5 days at the Ivydene,and we must say,we were very impressed. We booked room no.4. Our room,was clean,fresh,and bright.Alot of effort had gone into making our stay just right. The full english breakfast,was a quality,cooked meal.My wife had the continental breakfast,and it was excellent.The atmosphere in the hotel was very welcoming and friendly,and although it was full,we heard no noise at night.Rob and Melina obviously work
very hard,and it shows in the great service they provide.We are looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tadge O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south yorks
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

stayed for 2 nightseally frein in the family room 5 ,great price, excellent breakfast,clean modern room,really friendly hosts,would stay again without hesitation not your typical fusty b&b,a wonderful central close to seafront place to stay cannot mark it high enough

Room Tip: there is a room layout in the brochure,central to skegness but in a lovely quiet location
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank owls123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

i stayed at the ivydene for two nights on my own. neither rob or melina introduced themselves or made me feel welcome. melina never said good morning or have a nice day or even how did you sleep. my room was at the front of the hotel so didnt get any sleep traffic, and i could hear nxt doors tv at 1am in the morning. very nice breakfast and nice modern room. but a smile would of made my stay more pleasant I felt like they couldnt be bothered and were not happy people therefore maybe they are in the wrong job. i would,nt go back there or recomend them to anyone a very cold miserable atmosphere.

Room Tip: rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkegnessIvydene, Owner at Ivydene Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2011
We are glad you enjoyed your breakfast and that you found the room very modern.
Sorry you were disturbed in the night we don't know what you could hear as we only had 3 other people in the Hotel when you stayed, and there was nobody in the room next to you or below you for the two nights you stayed.
Light night time traffic noise we have no control over, but as you stayed on some of the hottest days of the year we assume you had the windows open.
Friendliness is a two way thing, we try and talk to all our guests. It is very difficult for Melina to speak in the mornings as she is in the kitchen cooking breakfast and does not come out until
most guests have gone out for the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Great hotel and service, Mel and Rob always had time for us and were able to satisfy my 2 boys. Infact we had tears when we said we had to leave.

Rooms are clean and plenty of tea and coffee in the room. Fresh towels everyday. it was great that we could change what we wanted for breakfast, by letting them know the night before.

Great location to the main town of Skegness and to the beach. We hope to come back next year.
Claire, Karl, Phillip and Andrew

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cdanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkegnessIvydene, Owner at Ivydene Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2011
Thank you for your lovely comments, we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skegness hotels
0.4 mi away
The Eastleigh
The Eastleigh
#2 of 26 in Skegness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.5 mi away
North Parade Hotel
North Parade Hotel
#17 of 26 in Skegness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#6 of 26 in Skegness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belle View
Belle View
#35 of 93 in Skegness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Serena Court Hotel
Serena Court Hotel
#1 of 93 in Skegness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivydene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivydene Hotel

Property: Ivydene Hotel
Address: 39-41 Drummond Road, Skegness PE25 3EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ivydene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family friendly hotel, close to the town centre and sea front attractions of Skegness. All our rooms have en-suite facilities, freeview TV, hairdryer, and tea making equipment. We have a cosy licensed bar with draft beers, TV Lounge and off-road car parking. We offer bed and breakfast or just room only. Our accommodation is fuly non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Ivydene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivydene Hotel Skegness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing