We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Northcote Heavy Horse Centre

Northcote Heavy Horse Centre
Ranked #23 of 38 things to do in Skegness
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Northcote Heavy Horse Centre is a Registered Charity caring for horses and ponies of all sizes through various difficult backgrounds. The Centre is also a visitors attraction and one of the only truly 'hands on' centres in the country! The Centre also holds various larger themed events in order to raise much-needed funds, the most popular and well known events are their Medieval Tournaments! Find out more information on their website or Facebook page.
Tywyn
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“wonderful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We went to Northcote while on holiday in Mablethorpe.
We had a fantasic couple of hours only wished that we had not arranged to go somewhere else after.
The owner had to go off to collect a donation so we did not get the full talk that you would normally get but we had the undivided attention of the volunteer that was there. He fetch Boson up for us to groom, then Stevie, my sister went down the field to fetch him so she was delighted.
Bronson was a delight to groom, though being a grey he was very dirty after rolling in the mud.
We had a great time and would recommend the place to all as they cater for all ages.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jmorrisTywyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    7
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middle England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We did not know what to expect at this Centre, we thought we would be there for about an hour, but we stayed nearly all day. It is open on a Wednesday and it starts with being introduced to the horses, some huge, some small. There were all ages there, pensioners and small children. We all loved it, you could groom the horses and help to handle them. All the work is done on a voluntary basis and the helpers are all so dedicated, and it is run by donations only. There is no charge for this day out, you just make a donation of what you can afford. One of the horses is hitched up to what looks like to huge cart with seats and it takes you for a trip around the country lanes.
This is not a posh place, but there is a shop, a tea room where sandwiches are made to order and yes rather old toilets. If we return to Skegness we would definitely return as we were humbled by the dedication of the volunteers.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank HamletMiddleEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Northcote heavy horse centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

My daughter to me and the grandchildren to the centre and the boys a really good time, the groomed and rode the horses.
The centre is run by volunteers so if you go please leave a donation so they can keep up the good work

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank chubbleybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hands on Horsie Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We visited the centre on the 12th of September and had a great few hours there.
The day started at 11am and finished at 3pm ish.
The work that is done at the centre is magnificent and they need all the help that they can get to keep these beautiful animals.
We got to meet and groom all the horses and then watch them been ridden. Due to horse illness not everything in the programme could be done but Terena and the team changed it so that we could see the horses in action.
We took our young baby and they were really accomodating. We will defintley be returning on our next visit to Skegness.
The centre do not charge admission but ask for donations to pay for the upkeep of the horses and the centre.
We also sponsored the largest horse Steve who is a gentle giant.
I would definatley reccommend this for a day out with the family but be careful of the opening days as for a number of months they are only open limited day. There is a small cafe with a limited choice of food and drinks.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank swfc1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“a place not to miss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

even if you are not a horse person i think that you would enjoy spending time here, it is free to get into but please leave a nice contribution at the end of your visit as they rely on donations to run the place .
you will be told all about the individual horses and be given a chance to help groom them and boy are they big when you get right up to them! bring a pick nick and spend the whole day if you please.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northcote Heavy Horse Centre also viewed

 
Skegness, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Northcote Heavy Horse Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing