We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!!!!!!”
Review of The Monsell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Monsell Hotel
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for a two night break. From start to finish we had a lovely experience. Arrived two hours early to be greeted by Tony who is really helpful. We were allowed to check in 2 hours early and following a quick tutorial on the key system we where escorted to our room and took advantage of half price room upgrade to the spacious master suite. The hotel is sited in a brilliant location in centre of town but isn't effected by lots of traffic and is quiet at night. The reviews you read are a good reflection of the experience you will have. Hands down the best hotel bed / room we've stayed in. We would recommend the hotel without a doubt and will certainly stay again.

Thanks for the lovely time!!!!!!

Kraig and Rachel

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappiBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMonsell, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Hi Kraig and Rachel we do really appreciate your lovely review and look forward to you visiting us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
There are newer reviews for The Monsell Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 217 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

Tony & Alison are very welcoming, telling us where to go and the best taxis to use!
The hotel is at a great centeral location, we stayed in the superior room which was value for money it was stunning!!!!! WE WOULD RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO EVERYONE!
Its an adults only so no children are running about, but also its a 24hr hotel so not restricted at night when to come back!!!

Mr Brown

Room Tip: We stayed in room 11, it was a front road room, but no traffic noise was heard!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Browny271190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyandAly E, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Hi thank you for your lovely review and recommending us to everyone.

We enjoyed meeting you both and are very pleased you loved your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Aly and Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We booked through the website . The room was big modern and very tidy , we were also greeted with a free bottle of wine ! It was also located in the heart of skegness !Could not ask for more for the price we had a great stay thank you

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacknlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyandAly E, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Hi Thank you for your wonderful review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Monsell. We hope you enjoyed your bottle of wine and will use your voucher to come back and see us again soon. Aly and Tony.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Very clean and welcoming hotel, owners very friendly, room was nice and cosy, very enjoyable and would definately not hesitate in reccomending to anyone.

Off-road parking also available, very modern and extremelly welcoming.

Room Tip: Nice cozy room for one is Room 12
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark_pb_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyandAly E, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review Mark, it was a pleasure having you stay at the Monsell and we would welcome you back anytime in the future. Hoping to see you soon. Aly and Tony.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I never booked in advice I landed up at 8.30pm they were very welcome-ing room is very nice bath room looks good chocolates on the pillow very nice touch Nice big rooms I was room 14 tony and Alison were very welcome

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bigcomfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyandAly E, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Monsell and hope you will visit us again in the future. If you phone us before booking you can pick which ever room is available that you like. Best wishes Tony and Aly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Under new management Tony&Alison were very friendly hosts. Their hotel was very clean secure and comfortable.
Hotel only re opened 2 week's a go making a very good job of it so far.
Would return without question All the very best for the future. Mick&Lorna.

Room Tip: East facing rooms are sunnier.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mickeybalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyandAly E, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Hi we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Monsell and we hope you will come and visit us again soon. We have been doing more decorating over winter and we are looking forward to our first full new season. We are now offering a full English Breakfast as well as the continental choice. We are also having some new windows over the next couple of weeks which will make the Hotel even more cosy and secure. Alison and Tony.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed at the Monsell last week at very short notice and what a very pleasant experience it was. Alison and Tony, the Owners where still getting the property ready after its refurbishment but still took the time to talk and attend to our neeeds. We had room 11, surperb room very larger. We have stayed in other hotels in Skeg and without a doubt The Monsell has the largest rooms. Breakfast was excellent, much more than we could eat and they prepared at the time we requested. Definately 5 star accommodation and service.Very clean and the owners very friendly and helpfull. We have already booked to go back again.

Room Tip: We think all superior rooms are massive
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sally l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyandAly E, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Hi we are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you enjoyed the free bottle of wine along with the discounts given. Also thank you for the lovely card you sent us after your stay it was most appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again in March and June 2013. Best wishes Alison and Tony.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skegness hotels
0.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#11 of 25 in Skegness
265 reviews
1.8 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
0.4 mi away
The Eastleigh
The Eastleigh
#3 of 25 in Skegness
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Merrydale
Merrydale
#21 of 25 in Skegness
129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#24 of 25 in Skegness
135 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#5 of 25 in Skegness
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Monsell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Monsell Hotel

Address: 2 Firbeck Avenue, Skegness PE25 3JY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Skegness
Price Range: $46 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Monsell Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We extend a warm welcome to all our guests staying at the Monsell Hotel. We are an hotel offering a friendly service in a quiet residential area of Skegness. We are situated within a 5 minute walk from the beach, promenade, shops and many local attractions. Skegness coach and train stations are only a ten minute walk away. All our bedrooms are fully en-suite with free Wi-fi and flat screen TV. Our bedrooms are newly decorated and furnished and have been designed with your comfort in mind. Free tea and coffee facilities are available in all rooms. We have a large separate dining room and offer an option of a full English breakfast. The Monsell has a key fob door entry system and a large car park. We also have a large comfortable lounge with TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your The Monsell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing