We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Place to Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mayvene Hotel

Mayvene Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mayvene Hotel
Ranked #33 of 97 Skegness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Absolutely lovely B&B!

Very close to the seafront (literally a minutes walk) and the main shopping area.

Jason and Angie are perfect hosts and made us feel very very welcome.

Rooms were nicely decorated and very clean and breakfast was spot on!

Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and would recommend to anyone!

A lovely stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    11
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
20
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Very close to beach, welcoming couple, great breakfast, nice comfortable room, great for a short break, couple were very helpful with where to eat at a good price, the room was clean and modern, bathroom was small but not an issue for an overnight stay, there was not too much noise so it was easy to sleep

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deanoeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Just arrived home from a 4 night stay in the Mayvene. Loved it. Just what we needed, close to everything, very child-friendly. Jason and Angie very welcoming, nothing too much trouble, including 'special breakfast', which I will definitely have next time! Room great, at the front, but we had no problem with night noise from the very close attractions. Many thanks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frizzbizz61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I chose to stay in this bed and breakfast as it looked nice from the outside, paid for a family room for my nan son daughter and nephew. Paid the fee and went to the room. Room was ok and clean. On 2 occasions the owner saw us all leave so knew how many of us was staying. NO registration form was filled out when I paid to say how many ppl were staying and my details ect.
The next morning we walked into breakfast and the owner infront of other guests started arguing with me saying she didnt know I had a baby as well. If she had filled in the registration form she would have know this and was saying for insurance reasons but surely the reg form is needed for this. I said I will pay the extra 12 pounds for my baby when leaving.
On leaving again with other guests present she began shouting at me again infront of 2 young boys and my daughter. She was nasty and in the end just walked into another room. I paid the extra supplement and wanted to make sure she did not ruin the rest of my day with the children.
The male owner came out when I was at my car and said where was the key I said I had left this in reception and if his wife had not shaken me up and upset mei would have handed this to him but was in a hurry to leave. I emptied my handbag andpushchair infront of him on the street and he realised I did not bave this.
When I returned to my car there was a note saying I have charges for loosing the room key before I turned round she was there hands on her hip and stern faced. She had my 80 year old gran emptyher handbag and me go through all the bags in my boot. The key was not there I offered to give her my address and when I went to reception she had an arrivals form for me to fill in and sign which SHOULD have been signed and accepted when I paid. I refused and she startedshouting again by this time I had had enough of her abuse and asked her to call the police she refused and went outside to where other guests were and started calling me names and saying she was going to fill the whole I was digging for myself?? I got the police number from her husband and called this when i gothome.
I was so upset and frightened as she was so nasty and rude. I was left shaking and had a long drive home.
I would never stop in this hotel again and am asking ppl to share this via facebook. I am speaking with the police again tomorrow and contacting Lincolnshire council. as no one should have to be shouted at infront of others and my family like she did to me. I cannot put in words how nasty she was, happy to take my 87.50 though!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Nice tidy hotel from the outside, new owners and they were great angle and Jason very welcoming and friendly rooms very clean and tidy , full breakfast served on hot plates great. Also juice,cereal and toast and tea or coffee nothing was to much trouble ,will be using this hotel again ... Cheers

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Could not fault this hotel, and Angie and Jason the proprietress where so warm and welcoming. Nothing to much trouble. The rooms very clean and tidy, all en-suite too. The breakfast was excellent served on hot plates. Everything fresh and hot, came with fruit juice tea/ coffee, cereal and toast. Would use this hotel again .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

have just got home from a lovely weekend away, the owners of the hotel were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.The room was very clean and the food was excellent will definitely be staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skegness hotels
0.1 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#25 of 26 in Skegness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Eastleigh
The Eastleigh
#3 of 26 in Skegness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#7 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clarence House
Clarence House
#12 of 97 in Skegness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Sandgate
The Sandgate
#18 of 97 in Skegness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fountaindale Skegness
Fountaindale Skegness
#4 of 97 in Skegness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayvene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayvene Hotel

Property: Mayvene Hotel
Address: 45A Scarbrough Avenue, Skegness PE25 2TD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under New Management,10 Bedroom Bed and Breakfast.All Rooms En-Suite,with Free Wi-Fi connection. Just a 2 Minute Walk From All Attractions and Sandy Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Mayvene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing