We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Vine Hotel
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Skegness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2014

A really nice hotel in a quiet area of Skegness the room was on the top floor and had everything you could need for a nice break the breakfast was good and the staff from the management to the cleaners were very helpful and polite we will be back next time we are in the town

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magnaLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternv, Manager at Best Western Vine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thank you for your comments, it is always a pleasure to receive them and they are greatly appreciated. The comments have been passed onto the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Vine in the very near future


Kind Regards
Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (558)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 558 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

This place is a real find, tucked away at the quieter end of Skegness and within walking distance of the town centre.

The hotel has been around since the 1700s and is one of the oldest buildings in Skegness. Our room was on the top floor which was accessed via a narrow staircase, but that is only to be expected in a building of this age. Access to the first floor is better, although those with mobility problems may still have issues.

The room itself was a good size and equipped with all of the usual things you would expect of a hotel in this price range.

Breakfast is served in the main restaurant and consists of a continental buffet and a choice of hot dishes. The full English breakfast is amazing and we have not hesitation in recommending it.

Evening dining is available either in the restaurant or in the bar, the menu is the same in both rooms and consists of pub standards that are perfectly cooked and well presented.

The decor throughout the hotel is a little eclectic and I feel that they may have been better sticking to decor in keeping with the age of the building, but I appreciated that this is very much personal taste.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank archai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternv, Manager at Best Western Vine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thank you for your comments, they are always greatly appreciated, we value your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Vine in the very near future



Kind Regards
Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We live in the area so we have always supported the vine over the years through thick and thin. Since being taken over the new owners have updated this hotel to the 21st century, all the rooms have been refurbished to a high standard. When ever we have family and friends over they always stay at the vine and they always rave about the hearty breakfast. Sunday lunch is value for money but if you use the dining room it is advisable to book and go early because there can be large family parties which prove to be a bit demanding for the amount of staff there is. Staff are all very friendly and helpful. Though I would like to keep it as our secret I have to say out of all the hotels in Skegness you have to stay here. Our daughter stayed in Room 23 which is a suite and she loved it. but you can always just call for a pint or a snack after your beach walk.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice as they gave us a tour to see the refurbishments
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sugaraunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternv, Manager at Best Western Vine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments, they have been passed onto the team and they are always greatly appreciated. It is always a pleasure to have such positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you at The Vine in the very near future



Kind Regards

Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Regular visitors over the years, we had a lovely stay. The refurbishment of the hotel has brought it up to the 21st century. Sunday lunch was excellent - great food at a great price. Super Sunday deal a great bargain. All staff were very polite and helpful. All in all, well done The Vine!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peaches43firbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternv, Manager at Best Western Vine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thank you for your comments, these have been passed onto the staff and they are always appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Vine in the very near future


Kind Regards
Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Over the years my husband and I have stayed at most of the top hotels in Skegness, we usually stay 2 or 3 nights 4 or 5 times a year, We have stayed at the Vine on 4 occasions in the last 18 months, we were there on the day it came under new management and I can honestly say it has had improvements on each visit since. Our recent bookings were for my birthday 2 weeks ago and for Valentine's Day and the following day, The function room for Valentine's evening meal was gorgeous and we and our guests had a lovely meal and a great evening. We had the honeymoon suite room 23 it is a very warm quiet romantic bedroom with a separate lounge, and nicely decorated. Our favourite room though is room 1 as my husband struggles with stairs; it is a large room well-appointed and nice view over the front of the hotel. From the moment of arrival all the staff are most welcoming, the receptionist is always pleased to see you, the bar staff eager to please and the lady in the breakfast hall, (I think she is Polish, the staff do not have name badges and I have not asked her name), but she always has a warm welcome and a lovely smile for you each morning. The food is always nice with a choice of freshly cooked breakfast meals. The 2 bars are full of character and very comfortable with open fires and great bar meals. We have booked for the New Years package this year and look forward to visiting again soon. When we look for a hotel room in Skegness now we always ring the Vine first and if room 1 is available then we stay there.

Room Tip: Room 1 is a large room but you are over the entrance so noise when local customers leaving. Room 23...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternv, Manager at Best Western Vine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments, I am pleased that each time you visit you are constantly impressed with our Staff and Facilities. We endeavour to make each of our guests feel welcome and relaxed whilst with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Vine in the very near future.

Kind Regards
Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We recently used the function room as a venue for our baby's Christening. Prior to the day I liased with Jess to make the arrangements and she was fabulous. Very professional and catered to our budget. We decided to provide a Sunday dinner rather than buffet for our guests and it was delicious. The day went very smoothly and that was down to Jess and her team of excellent people who couldn't do any more to make us comfortable. They all went above and beyond what we expected. The venue was clean, stylish and neutrally decorated in a modern way.

We would without a doubt both recommend and use The Vine again for a venue. Thank you to all.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank Becky V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternv, Manager at Best Western Vine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

I am pleased you and your family had a wonderful day on what is a very special occasion. I have passed your comments onto to jess and the team and we appreciate such wonderful feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Vine in the very near future



Regards
Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I've stayed in Skegness many times for work over the last few years, and have stayed in a few different places, but the vine was the best by far. The room was lovely and plenty big enough with a very nice bathroom. The room looked like it had recently been decorated and was also very warm.

I have eaten at the vine before but didn't have time on this visit but the food is usually very good. I was slightly disapointed that breakfast didn't start till 7.30am as I had to be on my way before then so had to get breakfast elsewhere.

The staff were really friendly and happy to help

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternv, Manager at Best Western Vine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thank you for your comments, it is always a pleasure to receive them, they have been passed onto the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Vine in the very near future



Kind regards
Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skegness hotels
1.7 mi away
North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#11 of 25 in Skegness
292 reviews
2.1 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#9 of 25 in Skegness
620 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kildare Hotel
Kildare Hotel
#1 of 25 in Skegness
328 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#8 of 25 in Skegness
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Vine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Vine Hotel

Address: Vine Road, Skegness PE25 3DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Skegness
Price Range: $89 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Vine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built & established as a Hotel in the 1770's, BEST WESTERN The Vine Hotel boasts beautiful surroundings in a quiet location. Ideal for a Seaside Holiday, but away from the lively seafront. Under New Ownership in 2012, The Vine Hotel has undergone major refurbishment. All 25 en-suite bedrooms have been upgraded and are individually designed with different grades of room available. All Rooms offer free Wi-Fi, Freeview TV, Tea & Coffee Making, Hairdryer. Wi-Fi is available in all areas of the Hotel. The newly refurbished Gingerlily Restaurant offers a varied Menu using fresh local produce, this is complimented by an extensive Wine List. The Tennyson Bar & Oak Bar offer Bar Meals served daily along with Traditional Local Ales being served. Only a 20 minute walk from the lively Grand Parade and Skegness Pier or less than 3 miles to Gibraltar Point Nature Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Vine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Skegness
Skegness Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing