We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Vine Hotel
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Skegness
Certificate of Excellence
Skegness
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“lunch”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Have visited The Vine Hotel before for lunch. Friends took me today for a birthday treat - how disappointing. We had curry as on our last two visits this has been excellent. Not on this occasion, much smaller portions, curry was served in a small metal frying pan type dish and rice in separate small dish only half full. Food tasted OK but portion was so small and the price had increased enormously £9.95 today and a couple of months ago was £6.95. Also my friend had a loyalty card which gave a discount but when she came to pay was told this was no longer valid. No sign to say cards were not to be used any more so felt somewhat embarrassed that they paid a lot more for smaller portions. If it had not been a birthday treat I would certainly have complained but did not want to make them feel uncomfortable. Needless to say will not be going again, plenty more places in Skegness.
When my friend questioned the waitress, whom she knew, she was told new owners had taken over.

Also do not get a workman to change light bulbs to low energy ones whilst customers are eating lunch, this job should be done when the bar is closed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    176
    59
    11
    21
See reviews for
139
188
13
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Pleasant enough for the cost. Bit noisy as I had a room above the bar, but it soon quietened down after the bar closed. Staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Avoid a room above the bar if you want peace and quiet and an early night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Checked in and went for a drink in the bar where hoards of workmen stood at the bar drinking and swearing. Sat through in the lounge afterwards which was much nicer. Dirty carpets leading to rooms but room clean enough.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank troutman999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Booked via the Best Western website for one night for hubby, myself and his guidedog. Made it clear on the remarks page that hubby is registered blind and is a qualified guidedog owner. The receptionist was fine until we wanted to go to the restaurant for our dinner as the bar was very busy and other dogs were there off the lead (this would distract my husbands dog). She was friendly but insisted that PETS were not allowed in the restaurant! Explained guidedog etc etc but she was not having it. It was resolved after a call to the manager and she did apologise and we were given complementary drinks at the meal in the restaurant (which was empty!). But we were still not happy with hotel itself. Room was very old fashioned and shabby, the carpet was bitty and the bed was hard as nails! The pillows we think were made of concrete, my one gravel! Although nicely presented and a lovely waitress from Poland was falling over herself trying to be nice the food was not great with just about thawed prawns basically dumped on the plate with very little rose-marie sauce. The steak was tough, the chips were nice. The breakfast was good though. Won't stay there again and have now been put off Best Western hotels.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mawkinite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,312 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

I've stayed at the Vine a few times on my occasional visits to Skegness and I have always found it very pleasant. Decor is a bit 'olde worlde' but that's not meant as a negative as it's an old building. The staff are friendly and welcoming, the bedroom and bed was comfortable and the free internet access is a bonus. The bar always has a welcoming atmosphere and a real fire. Breakfast is nice (with the exception of the deep fried mushrooms) and cooked to order. The room was also good value for what I paid too.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mikeo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a 2 night break at the Vine Hotel and can thoroughly recommend this hotel. The staff were exceptional, couldn't do enough for us and the food was fantastic. We were spoilt for choice regarding the food as there was something for everyone, ie, cheap and cheerful for the budget conscious (2 meals for £10.00) to the blackboard specials which were exceptional and were a little more expensive, and also, their extensive every day menu. The breakfasts consisted of top quality local ingredients and it showed. The best breakfast we have ever eaten without doubt! If you enjoy old world charm and roaring log fires, then this is for you. The only down side is the decor which was a little dated, but the rooms were spacious with very comfortable beds and a very large, modern bathroom. Couldn't ask for more! One more tip - only take clothes with elastic waistbands as the portions are enormous!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

This is not your 'every room the same' hotel and may seem a bit dated because of the corridors. We've just spent a very enjoyable weekend here and it was good not to be charged a single supplement for our daughter's room. The staff are splendid without being overpowering, the rooms are very clean and it's a delight to sit in the bar by the log fire. There was plenty of choice on the menu and the food was good and the portions substantial. The breakfast was magnificent and the lady in charge of service was so organised everything went like a well-oiled machine.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarasmum77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skegness hotels
0.1 mi away
The Links Hotel
The Links Hotel
#6 of 26 in Skegness
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 26 in Skegness
249 reviews
1.7 mi away
North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
1.0 mi away
The Eastleigh
The Eastleigh
#3 of 26 in Skegness
458 reviews
1.1 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#5 of 26 in Skegness
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Vine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Vine Hotel

Property: Best Western Vine Hotel
Address: Vine Road, Skegness PE25 3DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Skegness
#10 Romantic Hotel in Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Vine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built & established as a Hotel in the 1770's, BEST WESTERN The Vine Hotel boasts beautiful surroundings in a quiet location. Ideal for a Seaside Holiday, but away from the lively seafront. Under New Ownership in 2012, The Vine Hotel has undergone major refurbishment. All 25 en-suite bedrooms have been upgraded and are individually designed with different grades of room available. All Rooms offer free Wi-Fi, Freeview TV, Tea & Coffee Making, Hairdryer. Wi-Fi is available in all areas of the Hotel. The newly refurbished Gingerlily Restaurant offers a varied Menu using fresh local produce, this is complimented by an extensive Wine List. The Tennyson Bar & Oak Bar offer Bar Meals served daily along with Traditional Local Ales being served. Only a 20 minute walk from the lively Grand Parade and Skegness Pier or less than 3 miles to Gibraltar Point Nature Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Vine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Skegness
Skegness Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing