We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor”

Poplar Farm Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 260 Restaurants in Skegness
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Family run business, freshly home cooked food from locally sourced business. We are hidden gem waiting to be found.
Reviewed October 29, 2018 via mobile

Me, my husband & son don’t eat out very often so when we do we like to try & find nice places that are worth our money. The poplar farm sounded & looked so much better on the website to our actual experience. The couple that run the place were absolutely lovely but there food wasn’t. We went there for the Sunday lunch I booked a table at 2.45pm not knowing they shut at 3pm it wasn’t mentioned when I phoned to book. We asked for 2 rib of beef dinners & 1 chicken dinner but what we actually got was very thin fatty slices of microwave beef. At this point I wanted to get up & leave we were given potatoes & vegetables to share & gravy which were ok but the Yorkshire pudding was small & cold. We were all still so hungry after we ate it that we ordered a pudding & my husband & son were given extra either guilt or the fact like the lady said it would only be thrown away, I was offered a coffee that I think they charged me for. Drinks my husband couldn’t fault the beer & our son had a coke whilst I just had water. But the worst part was the bill they charged us, it was not worth the money at all & for a family that don’t have much money & have save to eat out we feel absolutely robbed. Even more so as when we returned to the pub near where we were staying to find they were doing a full carvary for less money & actual roast beef absolutely guttering. We are Sorry for the review you were Nice people but shame about the food & prices it was a lot of money to us & the only thing that was worth any money was your hospitality but that should cost nothing. Will definitely not be going back. A very disappointed family from Nottingham

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Curious65267631582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poplar Farm L, Owner at Poplar Farm Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2018

Apologies you did not enjoy your visit with us, we are not for everyone. You mentioned you looked at our website before you came, all prices and times are stated on there, and says we close at 3pm.
Our meats are defiantly not microwaved and we pride our selves on being one of the nicest restaurants in our area. I do find your comments hard to except as we had a busy restaurant that day (and every Sunday) and we do not have feedback like this.
We can not be compared to a carvery as they provide a totally different service and quality to what we offer. We did not charge you for your coffee, it is included in the price. The cheesecake was far from a guilt plee, just being nice as it was the last piece and you was a lovely family.
I believe your feedback is clearly a reflection on us not being what you are normally use to, and we do not hide our price, so you should have know in advance roughly how much your bill would have been.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 86 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2018

Hi all,

we have just returned from our second stay at poplar farm .My wife and i recently purchased a second-hand 4 berth caravan and we went to see family up in Skegness,lincs as we are based in Surrey. When we first arrived, the first thing we noticed is the amount of space. Even with limited pitches there is still a lot of space for everybody. We booked for 5 nights and then booked another 2 as we were not ready to leave. It was too nice.
The owners of the site are Kevin and Debbie and they are the nicest, kindest people. Being very new to caravanning, we needed to know a lot of things. Kevin and Debbie helped us no end. Absolutely brilliant! Both full of information and they made us and our 15 month old boy very welcome indeed.
On our second stay ( 4 nights ) we were due to have our son baptised at St. Matthews church in Skegness. Kevin and Debbie did a meal for all of our family and it was delicious! They cater for all occasions but this was their first Christening party. A good time was had by all and we all left with full bellies! lol

We will definitely be returning to Poplar Farm as it really is so chilled out.

We were going to leave a review about the restaurant as that is what they advertise for mainly but, the campsite is so good we felt we had to spread the news on what a great site it is. Ideal location for all amenities and we saw a ton of wildlife everyday. Great for all those nature lovers!

So, please pay a visit to Poplar Farm and you will not be disappointed. We hope our review helps you.

Mark, Natalie and Barney Sims xxx

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank simsy1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2018

First time visit. Welcome was super and attention all evening could not have been better. Spotlessly clean this restaurant is set in a country lane with lovely select caravan site at the rear. Food was hot and delicious. Gluten free menu was as extensive as the ordinary menu. Cannot believe we did not know this charming restaurant was here. Would I recommend? Absolutely. Will I return? Without doubt. Thank you.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Papillon71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poplar Farm L, Owner at Poplar Farm Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2018

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We pride our selves in our Gluten Free menu. Being a small family run restaurant, we try and make all our customers feel welcome and at home.
Hope to see you again. Regards Kevin & Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2018 via mobile

Ate here last night. Due to the weather, they had received a number of cancellations and we were the only diners!
Lovely welcome by the owner and his wife. Drinks at the bar, order taken and then taken to our table.
Good menu with more than enough choices to suit all tastes. We had garlic mushrooms as a starter, lamb shank and vegetables and then homemade berry cheesecake and a trio of ice cream for desserts.
All food is cooked to order and very fresh.
For our food and 2 bottles of wine, the bill came to just over £70 - really good value for money and have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant to you.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank StellaDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poplar Farm L, Owner at Poplar Farm Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for our restaurant. We are so pleased you enjoyed your evening and was happy with everything. Hopefully next time you visit the sun will be shinning.
Many Thanks Kevin & Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I came to poplar farm for yet another lovely meal and great hosts. We had our granddaughter with us and we all enjoyed our food and our night out thanks again Debbie and Kevin

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank shirleyjo49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poplar Farm L, Owner at Poplar Farm Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2018

Glad you all enjoyed your evening, especially your granddaughter. Thank you for your lovely review. Hope to see you again soon.
Kevin & Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poplar Farm Restaurant also viewed

Ingoldmells, Skegness
Burgh le Marsh, Skegness
 
Skegness, Lincolnshire
Skegness, Lincolnshire
 
Ingoldmells, Skegness
Burgh le Marsh, Skegness
 

Been to Poplar Farm Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing