We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of The Gunby Inn - CLOSED

The Gunby Inn
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Skegness
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Some of these reviews make me wonder, there are some rela moaners today, and they need to take a step back before leaving rubbish about a local business.
I have run pubs for 15 years, and some days are not perfect, we all have bad days, so allow for it, all you mr a mrs perfects, who never have an off day, stay at home and be miserable, I hope your not there when I am, I will tell you to your face.
This pub is second to none in every way.
Party of four, sat down and ordered a drink, half an hour later shown to table, given menu and ordered.
Starter was brilliant, main course I wanted another it was that good, then the sweet, was perfect.
Young lady waiting on the table was so so nice.
Lady on the bar was lovely, the owner Wayne was a perfect gent.
The pub is immaculate, if you went in it before these guys took it you would know how cold and hospitalised it fealt.
If you cannot say anything nice do not say any thing at all.
People work hard these days and put a lot of money into these places, to have someone moan about is annoying to read.
If your not happy have a word with the owner, and sort it out.
If this does not work, then leave a review, that's fair.
At least when I go back, the place will not be full of you negative clowns, and I can enjoy my food in piece.
Thank you for turning an unpleasant pub into a real eatery.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Happy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    8
    3
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gosport
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch - Best in Lincolnshire!”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Absolutely delighted with their Sunday lunch carvery. Not the usual plastic tasting meat with shop bought Yorkshires. So much choice of veg there's just not enough room on a plate to sample all of it. The lamb is so tender and delicious no wonder you have to book a table in advance. The whole place is tasteful, relaxing and well run. Fabulous Creme Brulee too. Well done Wayne and Paul, it's worth a trip everytime I visit from Portsmouth. Just remember to book first to avoid disappointment

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CurlyGirlieGosport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolute rubbish”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Went for early bird evening menu. If you want to eat food out of a packet you would be better getting it from a supermarket yourself and cocking it. Certainly a lot cheaper than here. A complete rip off.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Misha5687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“The best bar meals in Skegness, bar none!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Went to the Gunby Inn on the recommendation of friends and had the best meal we'd eaten out in weeks. Lovely bar and sunroom, nicely decorated and furnished. Staff are attentive and friendly, without hanging over your shoulder.
Great selection of meals, from early-bird low-cost through the regular menu and on to specials. The mixed grill is excellent and terrific value for money. We've tried just about everything they offer over our numerous visits and never been disappointed.
We've now been back several times with friends and relatives and the standard remains high. We're always satisfied with the food and service, and the price is reasonable.
Highly recommended if you're staying in Skegness!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meowf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“meals”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

fantastic place to eat paul and wayne r fantastic couldn't do enough for you the food is absolutely great would recommend it to any body

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chrissy390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gunby Inn also viewed

Burgh le Marsh, Skegness
Burgh le Marsh, Skegness
 
Burgh le Marsh, Skegness
Burgh le Marsh, Skegness
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing