We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one night stay”
Review of The Home Star

The Home Star
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Home Star
Ranked #23 of 93 Skegness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“one night stay”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

the land lady who i`ve now found out is 'annie' was very friendly. she actually came out to us as we were looking to park the car, she advised us to stay out front rather than the car park around the back as it might be a tight squeeze. we were shown to our room, very clean, the whole b and b was very clean, beds were very comfortable, lovely modern bathroom, shower wasn`t too hot in the morning though. the room was cold, the heating came on but didn`t seem to stay on very long. we had a electric radiator but after being asked not to leave on if we went out as it runs cost up we were a bit sparse about using that. didn`t have breakfast but when hubby nipped down for more milk he said it looked very good.

Room Tip: good location, just off the clock tower, very quiet area and whole b and b seemed very quiet althoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alidawes65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    26
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
34
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here for 6 nights at beginning of July 2013. The owner Annie was very polite and helpful to the best she could.
Room was nice but small with rooms cleaned daily.
Breakfast was very nice with lots of options, We even got offered a sandwich that was not on the menu as i felt ill one day.
We would definitely recommend to people travelling light.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trowbridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Had 3 nights here. very good. lovely friendly owner Annie, nothing too much trouble for her, lovely lady..breakfast excellent and plenty of choice and plenty to eat. excellent nights sleep, nice and quiet and bed very comfortable. would recommend and would definitely stay again...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here for a night at the start of a one week east coast tour.
The rooms were clean nicely decorated but as with a lot of B&Bs if you are travelling with a suitcase and a few bags there is not enough room to swing a cat.
Annie the host was good fun and made us feel very welcome there is a bar where you can have a drink and a chat before bed, important if you are part of a family group as we were.
The Breakfast was OK but not a lot of it, a lesson in the art of toast making would be beneficial as the toast was soggy and needed to be put in a toast rack.
I would recommend this B&B to anyone who is travelling light.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CliffHighWycombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My wife and i went for a short break and found this hotel, Extremely friendly and accomodating owners. Plainly decorated room but very comfortable, excellent onsuite. Nice breakfast. 5 mins to the beach, excellent steakhouse close by. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan_S12186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for one night after visiting Skegness for the day. Great location, 5 minutes walk from the sea front. Staff are very friendly, we asked for an extra hour before we had to check out which they were more than happy with. Great value, big room and big bathroom, would definately stay here again. Great hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, West Midlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Mate and I decided to have a weekend in Skeggy! Found this hotel on a booking site as it was cheap decided to take a punt on it. Got there about an hour and half before the allocated check in time but Annie was more than welcome for us to check in straight away which was excellent as we could then get straight out and hit the pubs and bars!! We didn't try the food so can't comment on that. Location is perfect as it is only a five minute walk from the town centre! The room was fine, no problems although a little dated but for the price there was zero complaints and seen as we barely spent any l time in there I could have no complaints! All in all it was an excellent weekend and would stay here again. Best bars we went to have to be the stumble inn, Yates bar and the waterhole! Great night in all!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skegness hotels
0.5 mi away
The Aldor Guest House
The Aldor Guest House
#5 of 93 in Skegness
93 reviews
0.9 mi away
Southwold Hotel
Southwold Hotel
#21 of 93 in Skegness
101 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sandgate
The Sandgate
#22 of 93 in Skegness
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Sunningdale
The Sunningdale
#24 of 93 in Skegness
100 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Skegness
Grosvenor Hotel Skegness
#27 of 93 in Skegness
149 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Balmoral Guest House
The Balmoral Guest House
#8 of 93 in Skegness
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Home Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Home Star

Property: The Home Star
Address: 14 Firbeck Avenue, Skegness PE25 3JY, England (Formerly Merton Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Home Star 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Home Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing