We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't really fault it!”
Review of The Home Star

The Home Star
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Home Star
Ranked #22 of 92 Skegness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Mate and I decided to have a weekend in Skeggy! Found this hotel on a booking site as it was cheap decided to take a punt on it. Got there about an hour and half before the allocated check in time but Annie was more than welcome for us to check in straight away which was excellent as we could then get straight out and hit the pubs and bars!! We didn't try the food so can't comment on that. Location is perfect as it is only a five minute walk from the town centre! The room was fine, no problems although a little dated but for the price there was zero complaints and seen as we barely spent any l time in there I could have no complaints! All in all it was an excellent weekend and would stay here again. Best bars we went to have to be the stumble inn, Yates bar and the waterhole! Great night in all!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 79 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

was very dissapointed by the hotel read the reveiws and was expecting this lovely hotel that had been recently refurbished, was very clean but still need to sort out the room that we were in, had stains on the ceiling and the bathroom could do with some tlc, we were also very dissapointed with the breakfast and the tea and coffee were not very nice the quality was very poor. on the plus very clean and near the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I stayed here while working in the area. Annie was very helpful on the phone, when I arrived I was taken to the room which was lovely and clean. The bathroom was spotless. There is a great patio area which you can sit out on. Made a lovely change from some of the places I have had to stay in. Was great value as I don't get much of an allowance for my accommodation. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobandmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Annie the owner was very welcoming even advising where to park my car as parking is a little tight.
Room was small but functional.
Bath room very small shower also was not very good, powerfull but not very hot.
Breakfast good
Very good location 5mins walk to sea front and town centre

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank trent1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

stayed a weekend here on a b/b and the room we had was spotless and very pleasant, the staff could not be more helpful although english was not there pesonal language so some things got lost in translation. the breakfast was good quality and typically english.

Room Tip: a good cheap base in skegness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoff030845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

just come back from a two night stay and i can't fault the place, we had the family room which was spotlessly clean, there was even a curtain you could draw across for some privacy if your children want to go to sleep before you. we had a kettle with tea etc supplied. there is parking for cars in front of the guest house but you can also park out of the way at the back. the breakfast was good with good quality sauages and bacon. the other good thing about breakfast is you make your own tea and coffee and toast which i prefered as you choose when and how you like it. the place is run by a young chinese couple the male couldn,t speak english but annie can't do enough for you very polite and helpful. the guest house is situated in a quiet location but not far to walk into the resort

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank choccyLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

on arrival we received the warmest of welcomes from our hostess Annie who went to great lengths to make our stay happy and comfy Annie is worth her weight in gold nothing was to much trouble our room was nice and warm for our arrival the room was spotlessly clean as was the rest of the hotel food was good and homely will be more than happy to return it was more like staying with friends. wishing Annie and her family every happiness and success for the future bob and marji

Room Tip: all rooms are spotless and cosy and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bob h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skegness hotels
0.7 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#3 of 25 in Skegness
479 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#11 of 25 in Skegness
277 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coasters Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Karema
Karema
#19 of 92 in Skegness
94 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Aldor Guest House
The Aldor Guest House
#5 of 92 in Skegness
116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Serena Court Hotel
Serena Court Hotel
#1 of 92 in Skegness
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Home Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Home Star

Address: 14 Firbeck Avenue, Skegness PE25 3JY, England (Formerly Merton Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Skegness
Price Range: $50 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Home Star 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Home Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing