We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dovedale visited eventually (weather permitted)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dovedale Guest House

The Dovedale Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dovedale Guest House
Ranked #77 of 97 Skegness B&B and Inns
Calne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Dovedale visited eventually (weather permitted)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We eventually got there (some 2 weeks late because of the weather) and it was worth the wait. We were warmly greeted by Debbie, the landlady, who assisted us with our bags and directed me to a safe and secure parking space. We were shown to our room and on the way shown the dining room and asked if the preferences we advised were still current (wife's a veggie).

The room was cosy and just what we wanted. Tea and coffee making facilities and a nice telly. After unpacking Debbie gave us a concise resume of what was available this time of year, together with details about breakfast time and about returning of an evening.

We were not disturbed and came and went without any fuss. We were greeted with a nice mug of coffee upon one return ( the weather had been bitter and we were chilled to the bone).

A great time was had and would like to say that Debbie and her family made us more than welcome in their abode.

We will be returning in the not too distant future. Thanks.
ps Only one complaint. Next door's wind-chimes. Their preverbreal tingling was a pain in the ears.

Room Tip: All are good so people said to us but at the back beware of the Windchimes. Across the road the resi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTylees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    5
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
11
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

good,clean and friendly b&b .breakfast was yummy full English.and 6 cereals to choose from,and toast,owner is friendly and likes a bit of banter.5min from town and beach.was told couldnt garantee parking but we found a space no . loved it will stay again

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Just spent 2nights at the Dovedale with my husband and grandaughter and was welcomed at the door by Debbie the landlady ( a lovely Yorkshire lass ) the Dovedale was like home from home, we were made to feel very welcome and nothing was to much. Room was lovely n breakfast was very good. Thank you Debbie for making our stay most enjoyable. We will definitely be back. From Donna, Colin, Emmi xx

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorks
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

just spent 7 nts at the dovedale wih my partner and her 2 grandchildren age 6 and 11. we had a great week.the hotel is spotless the breakfast was lovely and debbie and her husband mel are great hosts..we used the bar almost every nte and debbie made a great effort with the kids.we will book there again.loved it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonywestyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

The landlady made us feel welcome frome the off.We had a good laugh wiv a lot of banter.this certainly is a good place to stay If you have agood sence of humour.You can come and go as you please with your keys.everywere was clean and smelt fresh.bed was comfy bathroom was clean with towels.Town is just a 10 min walk away.It does say no parking but there is plenty on the streets....Now for the best bit THE BREAKFAST!
Lovely lovely food,6-7 cerial to chhose from,mmmm nice cooked breakfast, and toast.filled us up till tea time.DEFINATLY DEFINATLY WILL GO BACK!

Room Tip: we had room 5 brill for 2 and a good space and nice shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

we stoped at the dovedale for 1 night it was brillant the rooms are very comfy very clean melvyn and debbie where fantasic the breakfasts are brillant i would recommend this guest house to any one

Room Tip: beds are very comfy and very good food
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nigel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

Perfect 4 wat we were looking 4 1 night stay close 2 were we needed 2 be very cheap price yes the room was small but we only slept in it anyway so didn't matter breakfast was perfect quick and well presented and very tasty staff were lovely very talkative without bein annoying I hate fussy over priced hotels wiv lots of rules n regs n the dovedale wasn't any of them so if ur like me n don't like formal fussy no atmosphere hotels dovedale is an absolute bargain ;)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikkibt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skegness hotels
4.5 mi away
The Anchor Hotel & Bars
The Anchor Hotel & Bars
#3 of 3 in Ingoldmells
3.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coasters Hotel & Apartments
3.5 mi away
Travellers Rest Motel, Ingoldmells
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
1.0 mi away
Southwold Hotel
Southwold Hotel
#17 of 97 in Skegness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Aldor Guest House
The Aldor Guest House
#9 of 97 in Skegness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dovedale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dovedale Guest House

Property: The Dovedale Guest House
Address: 118 Drummond Road, Skegness PE25 3EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Skegness
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dovedale Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run hotel with most of our rooms ensuit. We also offer a full English breakfast and toast and serial.We are close to all amenities with the Seacroft golf course a stones throw away from us. We are also very close to Gibralter point nature reserve.We are a 10 minute walk from nature land centre ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing